We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wick House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wick House
Ranked #1 of 3 Stogumber B&B and Inns
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

A warm and friendly welcome,complete with home made cakes,awaits you at this well appointed B&b . Sheila and Philip are a lovely couple that are eager to make your stay as relaxed and enjoyable as possible.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
31
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ostend, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed at the B&B mid of June 2014 for 3 nights and were very pleased of this charming place.
We recommended the Wick House with his perfect owners, Sheila and Philip, and the beautiful area of Somerset.
Suzette and Marc Belgium

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzette V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Sheila and Phillip were wonderful hosts, friendly, kind, and full of information. We were welcomed on arrival with delicious home made cake and tea and fresh coffee, served in the comfy lounge. Although it was the end of May, the weather was cool and a lovely fire was burning away. The accommodation was full of character, with quality furnishings and every home comfort. Tea, coffee, hot chocolate, biscuits and sweets on the hospitality tray, nice complimentary toiletries in the bathroom. We were in room one overlooking the garden and it was spacious, with a sofa by the window so you could sit and enjoy a view of the pretty garden. The bed was huge and very comfortable, and the bathroom had bath and over the bath shower which was excellent. There were lots of fluffy towels. Needless to say everything was spotlessly clean. Breakfast the next day was delicious. Huge helpings of quality ingredients beautifully cooked.

The village was beautiful and had a thriving pub serving good food and local ales. After a busy day exploring and walking it was nice to have a short walk to a good pub. It was so nice we ate there the second night as well. Well done Philip and Sheila. You have a character bed and breakfast with all the home comforts. We couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Spent a fabulous weekend here with my family. The accommodation was first class, with a very well adapted room for a wheelchair depended guest. Very good breakfast. Sheila and Philip were wonderful hosts - nothing was too much trouble. All rounded off by being in a wonderful location.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPO56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

It is rare you find a B&B that exceed all expectations but this is truly one of them, we had a one night stay in this fantastic part of the world. We were greeted at the door by both Philip and Sheila and from that moment on we were treated to the warmest of welcomes. we were shown to our rooms and then welcomed downstairs to Tea/coffee and some cake , how good does it get. The rooms were warm,spacious and full with all amenities that you could require. The offerings for breakfast were fantastic and fresh. It is without doubt one of the best B&B experiences we have ever had and if you are in somerset or north Devon you simply MUST visit wick house.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Was walking the Coleridge Way last weekend and stayed in Stogumber (which is slightly off the route) with Sheila at Wick House. She'd even booked a meal in the local pub for us. What a friendly lady, and what a lovely traditional B&B. Quiet, spacious rooms, with parking for a number of vehicles, smack in the middle of a quaint village with a great pub just up the road. Of special note - Breakfast! You can pre order almost anything you could possible want - and as we on a walking holiday we did. Needless to say the food was superb. PS Please don't tell anyone else how good this place is...I want to make sure there are rooms available when I go back!

Room Tip: All seemed great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tadworth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

We stayed at Wick House in July. Our welcome was warm, with tea and cake. Our ground floor room was spacious, dual aspect, with a DVD player as well as free view TV. The washing facilities were a magnificent wetroom.
The breakfast, with multi-choice, was magnificent- the best ever enjoyed in many years of international travel.
Being set in beautiful rural Somerset, Wick House must be as good as it can be!

Room Tip: Ask for room 9 !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stogumber
4.9 mi away
Castle of Comfort Country House
3.0 mi away
Hartwood House
Hartwood House
#11 of 55 in Taunton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
4.0 mi away
Combe House Hotel
Combe House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Holford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Wood Advent Farm
Wood Advent Farm
#3 of 9 in Watchet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Notley Arms Inn
The Notley Arms Inn
#1 of 2 in Monksilver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
2.6 mi away
Catwell House
Catwell House
#4 of 55 in Taunton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wick House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wick House

Property: Wick House
Address: Brook Street, Stogumber TA4 3SZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Stogumber
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Stogumber
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Wick House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wick House is a charming old family house in a picturesque West Somerset village.Situated in an area of outstanding natural beauty, Stogumber nestles between the Quantock and Brendon Hills of Exmoor National Park. A warm welcome awaits you from hosts, Sheila and Philip. We offer a friendly atmosphere and a high standard of accommodation.Disabled accommodation with wheelchair access is available.Breakfasts and evening meals are cooked on the premises using the best local foods available. Try Wick House for a relaxing break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wick House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing