We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real Scottish welcome”

Souter's Inn Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Kirkoswald
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A real Scottish welcome”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

A fantastic restaurant that cater for light bites, coffees, ice cream or a meal. The set menu is great value at £12 for 2 courses or £15 for 3 courses. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the setting is lovely the thatched roof is a work of art.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    281
    109
    22
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stopped here after coming off ferry in Cairnryan and wanted to get a bite to eat as we were on our way to Loch Lomond. It was 6.30 approx. and the minute we saw the exterior it really looked inviting.
We went in and it was very busy and we were met by a lovely lady, who asked us had we a reservation, we did not but she asked us to wait, but only for a short time as she gave us a table upstairs.,
From the beginning to the end the food and service was second to none, one could not find fault, the place was a gem, and also the place was spotless, plenty choice on Menu and also very reasonably priced for the standard of food given.
It was unfortunate that we were in a bit of a hurry, because if one had enough time to enjoy the décor and ambiance one could stay all evening. It was a pity on our way home that we were too early for breakfast, because again that would have been a real treat too.
Keep up the good work, the place is a credit to Management and staff...

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carrigman80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Like a Phoenix out of The Ashes”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Stopped here for a meal on our way down to the Cairnryan Ferry. The last time we saw this place it was a charred ruin! Like the phoenix from the ashes it has been refurbished to a very high standard and the food on offer matches the quality of the decor. We didn't have a lot of time as we were en route to the ferry but we are very glad we stopped to eat here. My wife had the lobster which was excellent and I had the chicken and bacon with leeks which was superb added to this the service was friendly and warm. All round a very pleasant experience. We would eat here again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank C J O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Return visit with our family”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I returned to the local area again, after a lovely holiday at Easter of this year, but this time with our daughter, son-in-law and 8week old granddaughter. We had another excellent meal, enjoyed by all. The staff are so helpful and offered us a choice of tables wherever we felt we would be comfy with the baby. Much appreciated. This very friendly family orientated restaurant gave a very welcome atmosphere to all present.
As a new grandparent, I know find myself now looking at the baby changing areas, which the Souder's Inn did not fail in. A beautiful good sized changing area in the ladies toilets. The only draw back was that it was upstairs, not always ideal if you are dining downstairs - but there wasn't a suitable/private feeding area there, but an appropriate height window ledge allowed my daughter sit and to feed her baby. She didn't want to sit up stairs the next time the baby needed to be fed and with the use of strategic placed cloths fed the baby in the restaurant to which we were delighted that no one complained, but then no one probably noticed either!
This is a small niggles in what is a fantastic restaurant which we will no doubt pay another visit soon - beautiful food, fantastically presented and very reasonably priced.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jane2063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Visited the restaurant about 430pm,it was busy but we got a table no problem.Plenty of choice from the menus, and reasonable at £12 for2 courses.Food arrived quickly and was tasty. Not a long wait between courses though.Staff were pleasant enough.Would revisit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MaggiJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Souter's Inn Restaurant also viewed

 
Turnberry, South Ayrshire
 
Girvan, South Ayrshire
Tarbolton, South Ayrshire
 

Been to Souter's Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing