We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AH! What a location - What hosts!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Yellow Sidecar B & B
Ranked #1 of 1 Cap Le Moine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“AH! What a location - What hosts!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

From PEI we ferried across the Northumberland channel to Nova Scotia and eventually went around the renowned Cabot Trail. We repent that we spent only one night in Cabot Trail. We wil for sure go back to this part of Atlantic Canada and also stay with our host in Yellow Sidecar B&B. I do not have enough grasp on the English language that I can describe the sombre beauty of the accommodation which is right on the trail facing the ocean. The hosts Roger and Brenda are such a friendly and helpful couple. It could be that the beauty of the place was enhanced by the charm of our hosts. They cooked very hot breakfast to our liking – pancake with wild blue berries and free-run eggs. I do not know if they do with others but they offered us a second helping even after the sumptuous first serving.
Roger is an extremely talented person . An expert photographer ( be sure to ask him to share his digital albums containing photographs of the ocean in front of their premises) and also reserve some time to hear him describing the quiet wilderness that he has witnessed. Wished we had kept at least another two days with them.
The accommodation is only 25 minutes drive from Cheticamp and about 45 minutes from the Skyline trail. Do take an aimless walk along the coastline where their dog was almost bitten by a seal in one particular winter. I am mentioning these to describe the closeness of the property from the water.
The accommodation I think has three very well maintained rooms. The only drawback to some is that the washroom which is very clean and dry is shared. But this inconvenience was not felt by us due to other qualities of the accommodation and the charms of the hosts. And all these come at a very affordable cost. I strongly recommend YELLOW SIDE CAR B&B.

Room Tip: Request for the room with attached half-bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DipuandApuinToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
44
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here just for one night while touring Cape Breton, but we wished we had stayed longer as it felt homey! Brenda and Roger were welcoming hosts. They taught us a lot about the area. Our room was cozy, clean, and comfortable. Breakfast in the morning was delicious. It was nice to sit out on the front porch with an ocean view, sipping coffee, and watching the hummingbirds.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here while touring Cape Breton. We arrived just in time to watch a beautiful sunset over the ocean (right from the front porch). We were greeted immediately by Roger. He and his wife Brenda have a gentle and welcoming demeanor that sets them apart from other B&B owners. Our room was cozy and comfortable and both the room and bathroom were immaculate. Breakfast was delicious and Brenda did a beautiful job preparing the table with fresh flowers and pretty dishware. We were truly sad to leave.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bean2375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, NC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed here for two nights. Very convenient to Margaree harbour and Cheticamp, and an easy drive to the west side of Cape Breton Highlands. Roger and Brenda are great hosts and do an excellent job providing for their guests. And the location is amazing.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bangsezmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed there with our 2 year old son. The hosts are the sweetest and most caring people we have met on our travels in Canada so far. Staying with them was just so relaxing (they were very patient about our toddler)! The rooms are on a small side and you will have to share a bathroom. But everything is impeccably clean. Breakfast is rich and tasty, and then you can enjoy a tea on a porch with a view of the ocean (provided that it is not windy...). We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adamanta_PL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

When I think of all the lovely aspects of our ten days in Nova Scotia, The Yellow Sidecar comes to mind right away. TSY overlooks the magnificent Gulf of St. Lawrence, literally across the street from its front porch. The visit was all the more fun because of the delightful conversations we shared with Brenda, Roger and another guest--at previous B&B's, the conversation was always polite but impersonal. Our hosts, Brenda and Roger, seemed like old friends as soon as we met them. My daughter and I stayed in a beautifully decorated room. We haven't shared a bathroom before, but it was fine. Roger and Brenda fed us fantastic homemade scones fruit salad parfaits and pancakes--it really felt as if we were guests, not just customers. Even their dog is hospitable. We're eager to return to Cape Breton, and of course we'll stay at The Yellow Sidecar.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Purplexed2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Wonderful!
The location, hospitality,and comforts were superb. Brenda and Roger welcomed us into their home. We were served excellent breakfasts to start the day, given local knowledge of places to explore, and welcomed into cozy rooms after a long day. Not to mention the views were stunning
We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spokelip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cap Le Moine
31.1 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
632 reviews
12.4 mi away
Cornerstone Motel
Cornerstone Motel
#1 of 7 in Cheticamp
192 reviews
4.3 mi away
Duck Cove Inn
Duck Cove Inn
#1 of 1 in Margaree Harbour
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.5 mi away
Cabot Shores Wilderness Resort
2.5 mi away
Pilot Whale Bed & Breakfast
6.6 mi away
Salmon Pool Inn
Salmon Pool Inn
#1 of 5 in Margaree Harbour
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yellow Sidecar B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yellow Sidecar B & B

Property: The Yellow Sidecar B & B
Address: 11718 Cabot Trail | Nova Scotia, Cap Le Moine, Nova Scotia B0E 1L0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Cap Le Moine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cap Le Moine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Yellow Sidecar B & B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Bed and Breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Yellow Sidecar B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing