We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tuakau Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tuakau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2014

First time for me travelling to New Zealand and had no idea what to expect and had left my accommodation booking until the last minute and settled for a single room. I really thought I would end up in a closet......to my utter surprise, Tuakau Hotel was absolutely sensational. Tasha was there to greet me and upgraded me to a normal room....Tasha was so friendly and kind, she greeted me and showed me to my room and explained everything to me which was a lovely surprise. From the décor to the service, everything was immaculate, I loved it. Everything was new and clean and fresh. I was travelling on my own and heading down to the restaurant seemed a bit daunting for me so I ordered room service and let me tell you, even the food was top notch. I highly recommend Tuakau Hotel.....5 Star hotel for me !!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RITA E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

130 - 136 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2014

A very good stay.
The whole hotel has been renovated. The room was well equipped and clean.
The staff were EXTREMELY pleasant and helpful.
The only negative points were...
-- The bedroom was small, without facilities for hanging or stacking clothes.
-- No breakfast is available for guests; late brunch only.
However, I would definitely stay here again; and thank you to all the staff for your attention.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAMES S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

In fairness I have to say that the terrible nights sleep we experianced seemed to be due to the location of our room at the front of the hotel. We were unable to sleep due to a live band right under our room and then by trains going by periodically during the night, we mentioned it on checkout, but the person at the desk was very blasé in response. Small but tidy rooms with a miniscule bathroom . Overpriced and even more so when you don't actually get to sleep.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexdnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TuakauHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Tuakau Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding needing earplugs when located in one of our rooms above the entertainment space. It is our normal practice to advise guests booking into one of these rooms when there is live entertainment scheduled whether they would prefer a room away from all the action and it is with regret that you were not offered a different room when you needed to retire early before the Saturday night entertainment finished at midnight. Many of our weekend visitors to Tuakau are in town for family gatherings and enjoy the ability to be able to return to the hotel and socialise on a Saturday with friends and family. We are sorry that your own circumstances meant you needed a quiet early night and that as a consequence of the band your noise sensitivity was heightened and further frustrated by the train traffic leading to a sleepless night. As a small country hotel we endeavour to show our guests a good time, and we would have been happy to relocate you to a quieter corner of the hotel. If you would give us a second chance upon your next visit to the area please book directly with us and we will happily accommodate you in a room more appropriate to your needs. Thanks again for taking the time to give us this feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

What a lovely gem in a very unexpected location. The hotel was stylishly renovated recently, keeping history alive.

The rooms ticked all the boxes. The staff at the hotel as well as in the restaurant deserve a 5* rating as well. Very professional & warm service. We did not try any other restaurant in town because the food was just so good - no need to go anywhere else!

We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a two room apartment with a kitchenette (which we didn't use except for coffee and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TuakauHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Tuakau Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

We delighted that you were pleasantly surprised and found our service to be 5* at the Tuakau Hotel. We aim to provide our guests with good old-fashioned hospitality. We are country folk with big hearts and broad smiles and we enjoy sharing our slice of paradise with our guests. Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to having you visit our lovely gem again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

Great hotel
Very surprising considering where it is. The rooms are clean new and large. The staff are very polite at the booking office, the bar staff are also very polite. You can even book you meals and drinks to your room. One of the best WiFi's I've used in a long time.
Basically I would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wernerbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TuakauHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Tuakau Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

We are glad that you found Terrific Tuakau very surprising. Our rural town is undergoing a metamorphisis as folk discover its close proximity to Auckland and want to move here for its affordable housing. The residential growth has been massive and continues to grow as new industry comes to the district and there are more jobs available. We are delighted to be able to provide a great hotel with polite service, good food, and wifi connectivity that made your stay with us enjoyable. Thank you for recommending the Tuakau Hotel to others and we look forward to your return again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We stayed the night before our friends daughters wedding as accommodation in Pukekohe was fully booked. Not knowing what to expect we dined on the way at Rangiriri Hotel which always does a great value meal, but upon arriving at Tuakau township we find quite a variety of meal options, including a restuarant at the Tuakau Hotel. Built in 1875 and recently fully refurbished in the appropriate era, this is truly a Grand Hotel. The parking facilities under camera surveilance, presentation of exterior very welcoming. The office was closed but had been advised to collect key to room from bar, the staff were fully informed and welcoming, excellent personalities, in a well equiped environment. Upstairs we went to our Hotel suite. Sensor lights in hallway, beautiful decorations of period wallpaper and wainscotting, our room door opened into a very top class boutique bedroom with ensuite. Totally not what we had expected from rural South Auckland. The only slight negative was the outside security lighting was too bright. The rooms need blackout window treatments. We will stay there again and highly recommend others to do so, and experience the whole dining and staying to enjoy all facilities.

Room Tip: You do have option of Motel like accommodation or Hotel accommodation. The Hotel was very quiet. D...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwidee, Guest Relations Manager at Tuakau Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

We are delighted that you found South Auckland a nice Surprise and it was more than you expected. Thank you too for highly recommending the Tuakau Hotel to other travellers for rest and refreshment and we look forward to your next stay with us. We really appreciate your feedback regarding the light seepage into your room at night. While we do use blackout window treatments in all our rooms, some may need to be revisited if light is still seeping through around the edges. We do have a couple of rooms which have challenged us in this regard. Thanks for letting us know that we need to continue to seek a satisfactory solution. It is important to us that our guests get a good night's rest. Thank you for taking the time to review the Tuakau Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We decided to stay at the Tuakau Hotel the night before my daughter's wedding because the salon we were using for hair and make up is right across the road (Ikon - fantastic salon). We had two rooms and we were impressed with the cleanliness of them both. The facilities in the room were great - we were very happy. We also dined in the restaurant and couldn't fault the service or the food. All in all a fantastic experience - just what we wanted the night before a very important and special day!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwidee, Guest Relations Manager at Tuakau Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2013

A wedding is such an important life event. We are delighted you found the Tuakau Hotel a great place to stay and that you had a fantastic experience. We are fortunate to have fabulous wedding support services in Tuakau including Anita's Flowerbiz and dress-maker CFS Customized - The Sewing Shop and agree that Ikon is a fantastic hair salon. The bride and her party looked beautiful and so very happy as they drove away in the stretch limo. Thank you for recommending the Tuakau Hotel as a great place to stay for the wedding party.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tuakau
21.2 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
0.8 mi away
Lavalla Estate
Lavalla Estate
#1 of 1 in Tuakau
17 reviews
5.1 mi away
Touchwood Motor Lodge
Touchwood Motor Lodge
#1 of 2 in Pukekohe
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Aveda Motor Lodge
Aveda Motor Lodge
#2 of 2 in Pukekohe
85 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Tuakau Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuakau Hotel

Address: 1 - 3 George Street | Tuakau, Tuakau 2121, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Tuakau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tuakau
Price Range: £68 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tuakau Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the warm ambience of our boutique country hotel 40 mins south of Auckland Airport at the Gateway to Waikato with 10 hotel rooms and 7 self-contained apartments. Each room is well appointed with a luxurious king-size bed, individual climate control, sound insulation, internet access, SKY TV, and complimentary refreshments, while the licensed restaurant, lounge and sports bars, TAB and gaming room, and conference facilities cater for all your entertainment needs. 7 Mins south of Pukekohe means convenient access to Pukekohe Race Track and Counties Manukau Rugby. Just 15 mins to the internationally acclaimed Hampton Downs MotorSport Race Track. Centrally located to provide easy access to both the wild West Coast beaches for surfing and the protected waters of the Hauraki Gulf for boating. Enjoy bush walking in the Hunua Ranges, a hot spa at Miranda, or the cycle trails on the Hauraki Plains, and experience local wines and produce in Elsie's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Tuakau Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing