We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must do if you are in Czech Republic”
Review of Chateau Hostacov

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chateau Hostacov
Ranked #1 of 1 Hostacov B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 September 2012

I enjoyed Prague, but being in a small village in the Czech countryside was a different world altogether. If you are going to the Czech Republic, do yourself a favour and stay here. The chateau is AMAZING. The traditional furniture and fittings really make you feel like you have stepped back in time, but all the modern creature comforts are still there. Vojta, Megan and their staff are friendly and helpful. Within 20 minutes of the chateau is Kutna Hora (beautiful town with amazing churches, including the bone church) and a host of other small villages and castles to see. Or just chill out in the courtyard or library with a book.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stuchy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2012

You must try this lovely Chateau - think not of a baroque palace, more of a hunting lodge. We had a huge suite whilst we felt that the whole lodge was ours to wander in. The setting is almost fairytale - really in the midst of a forest. A wonderful part of our trip.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mawdesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

I discovered this place on website two years ago, during one of my business travel to Czech. As it is hidden among trees, villages, fields, it is not easy to get there. But if you find... you feel suddenly how you are moving to the past. At least one hundred years. Of course, these are computers and electricity and even WiFi, but atmosphere is real unforgettable. Royal size. Everything is very large, sometimes you need use both hands to open doors. Rooms are 4 m height.
After two years I returned there. Again during business trip and for one night only. But it gives me more relax than two full days in spa somewhere else. Seconds, minutes, even hours, run slower than usual during a day. But remember – don’t arrive there too late. It is not hotel for sleeping only.
You should be there three hours before sunset. Immediately after check in, make last cals and switch off your mobile and laptop. Look at your room, leave your luggage there and go to the park around. To see little lake with littlest island, where you’ll get by old small bridge (don’t afraid when you’ll see it, I am exceed 110kg... bridge survived). Later go to opposite side to see (from high wall view) bigger lake. One Czech beer is suggested there. And when sun is going red and hide into horizon, you can go to the restaurant. Don’t expect large choose. Even if only one proposal is available, you don’t need more, just take it. If you are lucky, it will be duck on Czech style, but everything else is delicious too... There are large choose of worldwide vines, but if you are there, take only Czech vine – Vinnice Kutna Hora. You’ll find inside additional taste of this region. Don’t eat too fast, try to recognise difference between this dishes and everything, you ate before this day and previous also. If you have additionally some nice person with you sitting on opposite, then you have all you need (I had).
Next day you should start again on small walk around before breakfast. After breakfast and morning coffee, you should spend at least 10 minutes in library. Even not to read one of old book stored there. Just to feel atmosphere of wooden room with a lot of books, maps and table with chess.
When you are leaving – don’t forget to put this place in your map. It helps you to find it again. As I was there after two years and I plan to be again in coming months...

Wojciech

Room Tip: Take each. Even if you need visit them many times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wojciech G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We went there for a weekend I was absolutely not expecting anything like this. The staff is very friendly and tolerant, rooms are tastefully decorated with gorgeous antique furniture. We have tried Africa room, Verona room and the white suite room. All of them make you feel like living in your own Chateau. The best thing about this place is the food. The cook should be paid in gold.
After our first visit in spring, we wanted to try it again in summer... which was not a good idea. The hotel was filled with some kind of people who won a huge discount or something ... and it took the atmosphere a bit down, the staff did not pay too much attention to us, the discount people were rude, ... (that is why I give only four stars). Later, we were told that this discount lasts only till autumn, so hopefully it got better. This spring we are about to try it again ... because the first experience was really out of this world.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dauferius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Thanks to Vojta and Meagan for a fantastic few nights at their wonderful chateau. We found Chateau Hostacov online, and were looking forward to staying somewhere off the beaten track in the Czech countryside. We couldn't have found a better place. The Chateau is set on private grounds, surrounded by forest and an amazing view of the rolling hills at the back. We were checked in to our room which was set up with period furniture, giving the room an authentic chateau feeling. We were overlooking a central courtyard where we later played Croquet in the evening. The service was impeccable and very friendly. All of our questions about the surrounding area were answered in detail by the owners who also live on site. It was very helpful having English speaking staff who also had a high level of knowledge about things to do all around Czech.
I honestly couldn't fault Chateau Hostacov on anything. Our entire stay was perfect from start to finish. Can't wait to come back again and spend some more time!

Room Tip: Our courtyard view room was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 000pete1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Very nice surrounding and the service, amongst the woods and near Kutna Hora, for a special or relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LiliK0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2011

As part of a visit to our son who is living temporarily in Prague, we rented a car and drove off into Bavaria and Moravia for three days. My wife said: "Wouldn't it be fun if we could stay in a Czech castle?" We found Chateau Hostacov online and made a reservation for that same night. Hostacov is not a castle, exactly, but it's the next best thing. The other reviewers captured our sentiments quite nicely, so I will add here the absolutely welcome surprise of delicious, gourmet food. A magnificent cream of carrot soup (I don't even care much for carrots), and a stuffed chicken of the sort we did not find elsewhere in our travels. Breakfast was simple -- scrambled eggs and ham, but the eggs were cooked to perfection, creamy and delightful. Breakfast also is accompanied by a nice array of pastries, bread, cheeses, and fruits. All served in a 20-foot high ceiling dining room guarded by a full-scale model of a knight in shining armor.

We arrived only a couple of days after the inn opened for the season, and so we had the place all to ourselves! We wandered the halls and slept comfortably, again, under that 20-foot ceiling.

Wotja and his family obviously have made a long-term commitment to make the Chateau a destination. The place will be full in the summer as it was last season, so don't chance a last-minute reservation as we did!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tommyg2230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Chateau Hostacov? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Hostacov

Address: Hostacov 59, Hostacov 58282, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Central Bohemian Region > Hostacov
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hostacov
Price Range: £60 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Chateau Hostacov 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau Hostacov is a renaissance chateau hidden away in the centre of the Czech Republic. We offer accommodation in original rooms with period furniture in a very relaxed atmosphere. We are nestled away in our own park which guarantees you peace, quiet and serenity. Meanwhile the fairytale Zleby castle is only 5km away, and UNESCO heritage listed Kutna Hora is 15 min away by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HRS and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chateau Hostacov reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing