We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracious Luxury”
Review of Pinehill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pinehill Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Oregon B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 June 2012

My wife and I were joined by another couple when I went back to my high school to receive an award. Unfortunately, my home town of Sterling does not have much in the way of accommodations, so we began to look in the surrounding area for a comfortable, relaxing place to stay. We found the Pinehill Inn on Trip Advisor, and decided this was the place for us. Even though the reviews from Trip Advisor were outstanding, Chris and Ken, the innkeepers, exceeded our expectations. The rooms were spacious, the beds luxurious and the breakfasts suffered only in that there was so much good food that one could not possibly eat it all. There are many reasons to stay at the Pinehill including spacious grounds, beautiful flowers, deer visiting the property in the early morning hours and a location that is convenient to several state parks and historical sites. I can imagine that the Pinehill Inn is a wonderful getaway for people who want to escape the city and enjoy a quiet and beautiful weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RDBAz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2012

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Pinehill Inn in Oregon, IL. We stayed in the Rose Room-very comfy bed and quaint quiet surroundings. The kitchen was available 24 hours, so all types of breakfast food, and snacks were available around the clock. We visited White Pines State Park, Castle Rock State Park and Lowden. It's amazing that all this peace and tranquility is so close to home! The hosts were very accommodating and friendly. We had a great time.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have a whirlpool tub :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DonnaPNaperville_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

My new husband and I rented out the inn for our wedding. Everything exceeded our expectations. The inn was beautiful and the staff was very efficient. The owners Chris and Ken went above and beyond the call of duty. Chris contracted to make a very modest cake for the wedding but then went all out and presented us with a gorgeous lemon masterpiece. All of the food was beyond our expectations (eg, the roast beef, the beautiful salad with blackberries). They made everything beautiful, and all of our guests had a wonderful time. We wholeheartedly recommend Pinehill to lovers of B&Bs, particularly their Somerset room.

Room Tip: Try the Somerset Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heather600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Had a trip to Pinehill Inn for two nights which was great weekday getaway. Rooms were spacious with tv, refrigerator, with a vast array of updated dvd movies. Hosts were so accomodating, and there was a kitchen with all sorts of snacks, homemade mufins, as well as a refrigerator in the kitchen filled with pop, juice, water, milk,bread,bagels, yogurt,milk,etc. with coffee,tea, toaster,etc. around the clock. Went to 3 nearby State Parks. There is a sculpture exhibit in the downtown area, as well as a teepee set-ups in Oregon with some neighboring towns. Just a relaxing visit.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are upstairs4 or 5; possibly l more downstairs-wrap around porch on the first flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rose913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We stayed at this B&B for a weekend getaway without the kids. Oregon, Illinois is only about 1-1.5 hours from the western suburbs of Chicago and has many state parks nearby. Pinehill is a very nice older mansion, but has many modern updates and other details that I have never experienced at other B&Bs. The updates include a small refrigerator in all rooms and a private bathroom for all rooms as well as a computer set-up for guests to use. The owners think of many details which are very nice such as the snack and drink area which is open at all times to a big library of movies to watch in your room. There is a TV with VCR/DVD (in our case, 2 of them) in all of the rooms. This TV is very small, but not really why we went to a B&B in the first place. There is a large veranda and a nice screened porch which we used at night to relax with a bottle of wine. The owners are very nice and very flexible, they allow you to take your breakfast or snacks up to your room or eat it outdoors on the porch or veranda if you wish. We did think the full breakfast package was a little pricey, but you can also have a continental breakfast, which includes a lot of choices. Overall, a very nice, quiet place which pays a lot of attention to the details.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chicagodono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We loved the Pinehill Inn. The inn itself is beautiful as are the rooms. The amenities were the best. Each room had a refrigerator and a TV with VCR/DVD. There was a large supply of movies to choose from. There was also a well-stocked pantry that offered all sorts of snacks and drinks as well as home-made muffins. The breakfasts were excellent. And the hosts, Chris and Ken, were very friendly and fun to visit with. We would definitely go back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Pine Room, the smallest one but all that was available when we booked. It had every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JGK515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2011

(I stayed at this place four years ago, but the site format did not allow me to pick a date that far back.)
I became acquainted with this place because of a gift certificate I received. My husband was wheelchair-bound, and we had encountered a lot of inaccessibility at some places. I called them (phone number 815/732-2067, toll-free number 800/851-0131) and explained our situation. Ken and Chris were so accomodating! The building is easily accessible by wheelchair, the rooms each had historical significance, videos/dvds and tv were available, and the meals were delicious! We were not able to return because my husband's health declined and he passed away last year, but if I get another opportunity to visit this place I will!

Room Tip: Call several weeks ahead of time-contact info in w
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathielee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Pinehill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinehill Inn

Address: 400 MIX St, Oregon, IL 61061-1113
Region: United States > Illinois > Oregon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Oregon
Price Range: £96 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pinehill Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make your stay special at the Pinehill Inn. Rated the number 1 hotel in Illinois on the "Best in America" list, Pinehill offers both a full breakfast plan and a continental breakfast plan. Graceful, romantic, and elegant, the highly rated Pinehill Inn Bed and Breakfast beckons you with the feeling you are stepping back in time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pinehill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing