We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friends reunion”
Review of Patchwork Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oregon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Patchwork Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Oregon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2013

3 college friends have found an annual reunion destination. The Patchwork Inn deserves every star it receives in reviews. It is charming, spotlessly clean, comfortable and the garden in the back is very private. The hosts, Stephanie and Bill, bring much more than front-desk friendly. We received a building tour upon arrival so we knew where all the amenities were. Our room was large enough for stretching out and relaxing but our favorite spot was the garden. Breakfast did not let us down. It was beautifully presented and lip smacking good. Can't wait for next year and to see the garden grow.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JunHerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2013

I admit to being a sucker for staying in old, historic buildings, but have often been burned by lumpy beds, rooms without adequate heat or air-conditioning, and bathrooms from the 19th century or earlier. When first looked into the Patchwork Inn, I wondered if this would be one of those places. However, after seeing the reviews, I felt comfortable that it would not fall into the category of a bad B&B experience. It turned out the place is as good (or better) than advertised and we had a great stay.

From the warm welcome from Bill and Steph on arrival, the very nicely appointed room with a modern bath with plenty of hot water, the plate of cookies on the nightstand for a bed-time snack, a comfortable bed, coffee, soft drinks and popcorn at our fingertips, a DVD library, etc., the place was a gem and all we could have asked for.

Because we were leaving very early in the morning, we were not able to partake of breakfast at the inn, but we were provided with a hearty to-go breakfast that got us through our outdoor morning activities.

If your travels take you to the Oregon area, this is the place to stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DGKalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We spent a night at the Inn to celebrate my husband's birthday. I highly recommend this B & B. The Oregon area is very quaint and accessible on foot from the Inn. It is also a nice alternative to "roughing" it in a cabin at the White Pines State Park, yet close enough to fully enjoy the park.

Our room was quiet and comfortable, while maintaining the historic theme using antiques. We stayed in Lincoln's room, with access to the upstairs porch. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank t1andjoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Just a short distance from Chicago (less than 2 hrs drive), we found Oregon and the charming Patchwork Inn. A beautifully restored and well-maintained B&B. This was hands down the cleanest inn I have ever stayed in. Breakfast was superb. The innkeepers were friendly, pleasant, and very accommodating without being intrusive. Within a stone's throw of the Patchwork is the Rock River and Lowden State Park - which has Loredo Taft's awesome Eternal Indian statue and former artists' retreat. Also nearby are White Pines State Forest and Castle Rock State Park. We stayed in the Lincoln room, very nicely appointed and spacious. We also appreciated the green initiatives the innkeepers have incorporated in running their business. An ideal stay for anyone looking for a quiet escape that is both restful but near to attractions. History buffs, nature enthusiasts, bird watchers, antiquers, couples, the lone traveler, and Abe himself, would all enjoy the Patchwork Inn.

Room Tip: Rooms 4 and 5 (the Lincoln room) are street facing but noise is not an issue at all. Oregon is quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJBChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Am a big fan of quaint and high quality accommodations. Patchwork inn was a delight. We wanted a little getaway but really were in town for our son's wrestling sectional tournament. Bill and Steph are phenomenal innkeepers. The inn and rooms and common areas are beautifully maintained. The breakfast was delicious. We hope to return in summer or fall to explore the beautiful Rock River valley area and the nearby state parks. Highly recommend this historical inn!!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank agemmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Nice old historic building with old word charm and modern updates. The owners and food were superb. If you have to travel to Oregon for work or other reason, choose this place over a hotel or motel. Safe and secure. My ratings are based on a bed and breakfast setting in an old historic building. The building is well maintained but old, that is not a negative comment, just to give a point of reference. I would stay again in a New York Second!!!!

Nice 2nd story porch. Location was given an average rating, it is across the street from the police department and close to downtown, with some older buildings nearby, so it is not a picturesque setting overlooking a park or river. Nothing the owners can do about the location. But it is walking distance to downtown Oregon, grocery stores and downtown shopping

Room Tip: My room faced the street and there were no noise issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

possibly the cleanest place i have ever stayed. small but nicely laid out room with comfortable queen bed, great water pressure with plenty of hot water. simple but very tasty breakfest. very frendly, charming owners on duty.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mix9142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oregon
1.4 mi away
Paddle Wheel Inn
Paddle Wheel Inn
#1 of 1 in Oregon
117 reviews
15.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Dixon
Comfort Inn Dixon
#1 of 3 in Dixon
149 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pinehill Inn
Pinehill Inn
#2 of 3 in Oregon
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Chateau Lodge
Chateau Lodge
#3 of 3 in Oregon
62 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Patchwork Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patchwork Inn

Address: 122 N 3rd St, Oregon, IL 61061-1411
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Oregon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Oregon
Price Range: £38 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Patchwork Inn prides itself in offering guests clean comfortable rooms and delicious breakfasts. Guest rooms feature restored and functional antiques and are decorated to reflect the late 1800's to early 1900's. Each guest room has its own private bathroom, flat screen LCD/DVD TV and individual climate controls. The Inn has WiFi throughout. Patchwork Inn uses only bamboo and organic cotton linens and towels. The paper products and cleaning supplies are eco friendly. The patio furniture and tablecloths in the dining room are made from recycled plastic bottles proving you can have casual elegance and be environmentally conscious. Patchwork Inn is a smoke free facility. Reservations are required, same day reservations accepted until 3PM. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing