We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh my...not what we expected!”
Review of Essence Suites

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Orland Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Essence Suites
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Orland Park
Level Contributor
145 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Oh my...not what we expected!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Where to begin:
1). Essence Suites was our contingency plan, because Champagne Lodge was booked for the days requested.
2). We liked the idea of a couples only hotel, as we were visiting on a romantic getaway.
3). The website is VERY MISLEADING.
4). This is not a boutique. It is a motel that offers a variety of adult novelty, marital aids, and assorted flavored lubricants for anyone that so desires.
5). The room square footage is manageable. We had a Jacuzzi tub and steam room/shower.
6). The platform bed was encased in hideous foul-smelling shag carpet. The epitomy of tacky circa 1970's.
7). Each room has a love swing, which would have been fine, if properly sanitized and cleaned. Take a chance with that? No thank you!
8). The walls are paper thin. Good luck with that.
9). Our room was located next to a 24 hour McDonald's.
10). Private, romantic, and secluded. This place is NOT!!! NEVER AGAIN!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank VBliz77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEssenceSuites, Manager at Essence Suites, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Hello!

We are glad you reached out to us about any concerns you had or experienced here at Essence, as we seek to make our customers' stay as pleasant as possible. We noticed that you stayed in October of 2013 but are just now writing a review. That was quite some time ago and we are proud to say we have been making many great improvements here at Essence.

First, all of our rooms have been or are being updated with brand new carpet and furnishings! We have updated any outdated appliances. We also have a new cleaning crew that are experts in their field and thoroghly clean each room everyday. We have made many changes on our website since October 2013 and have new photos that show these renovations. Also, we are located in the heart of Orland Square so lovers can have an exciting night out and come back to a peaceful stay at Essence.

We would love if you visit us again. We have made many great improvements since October 2013. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    13
    5
    9
    25
See reviews for
1
80
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Fiance & I stayed 6/19/14 room 121 absolutely an awful way to spend our anniversary. Bathroom was dirty, robes/slippers were worn out & need to be repleaced. The hot tub was filthy I cleaned it twice myself determined to relax. Room floor was dirty items left under the bed from previous guest. Swing in bathroom was appalling; torn fabric, dirty appearance, not romantic in any since. We stayed over night & checked in after a long day. Had we not have been tired we would have checked out immediately. At 6am the following morning we were awakened by loud rap music that countinued (despite my calls to the front desk) untill 7am when we decided enough was enough & checked out. Front desk was no help, offered us nothing for our terrible stay I have a feeling they toss the comment cards before management see's them. I will never stay here again! I advise anyone thinking of staying here to reconsider, from now on the W, aura, or even the super 8 will do.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank pveity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEssenceSuites, Manager at Essence Suites, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Hello,

We are sorry you had this experience with Essence. We can assure you that we take pride in our suites and they are thoroughly cleaned every day. We also pride ourselves on being extremely accomodating. If you had called about any specific problems that night, we would have loved to address them right away. However, we did not know you were having issues at the time. Also, we take our customer comment cards very seriously and reach out if a customer has a question, comment, or concern.

As we have already reached out and discussed the situation with you on the phone, we do believe any misunderstandings have been settled but if you would like to discuss anything further, please reach out to us: (708) 403-3300. We are happy to help! -ES
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Orland Park hotels

Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Wife and I reserved a room for the night after our wedding night. Room 126. Discounted rate and membership fee cost $140 for the Essence Suite and, for what we got, it was a reasonable rate. The TV cable was not working in our room, and the Whirlpool tub had an issue with the jets, but it was overall acceptable. The bed was very comfortable and the room set up was the perfect space (not too big and not too small). The steam shower was amazing! Weren't getting much carry over noise from the other rooms despite knowing they were occupied. Overall, very satisfied!

Room Tip: Rooms in the back offer more privacy. One side faces a McDonalds, the other side is another restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LWBW6814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEssenceSuites, Manager at Essence Suites, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Hello!

We are so glad you had a great experience at Essence Suites. We appreciate you staying with us and hope you come back soon. Have a great day!

The Essence Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Speechless, E-Norm-ous and complete..rip...off!!! Wow:((((( Filthy, scared to sleep in the bed, wanted to leave immediately. Could not bring ourselves to eat in the disgusting, creepy room. Nearly impossible to hold back our vomit!!!!! YUCK!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank frank k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEssenceSuites, Manager at Essence Suites, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Hi Frank,

We are very sorry to hear about this experience. Our rooms are thoroughly cleaned in order to ensure a comfortable setting for our guests. We also try to accomodate our guests in every way.
If we knew of your complaints the night of your stay we would have accomodated you as best we could. Our management will be in touch soon. We apologize for any inconvenience. Please give us a call at 708.403.3300 if you would like to discuss this further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Prepare for loud music. You can hear loud rap from other rooms. Place is outdated. Looks like rooms are from the 80s. Save your money. Not what website rooms look like. Should of went to sybarus. Membership fee is ridiculous. Just wanted to stay for one night.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank princess856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEssenceSuites, Manager at Essence Suites, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Hello,

We are sorry to hear about your stay at Essence. The staff at Essence cares greatly about all of our guests. We were not aware of your noise complaint until now. If guests were blaring their music a bit too loud we definitely would have asked them to quiet down out of respect to other guests. Also, please know that all of our rooms are being updated, most of them already have. The pictures on our website are pictures taken at our hotel and in our suites. They are the same rooms with the same furnishings inside. We also try to make the membership very clear before you arrive so there is no confusion. We are sorry for any inconvenience. Please give us a call at 708.403.3300 if you would like to discuss this further.

Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

My husband and I stayed here for our 5th wedding anniversary. It was a three hour drive away from our home and costed us over $300!! But we wanted to do something special. I'll keep the story short...

first we walk in and notice a live wire coming out from under our bed...?? yes, the bed next to the hot tub....we called the front desk and had someone cap it. They offered a cardboard pizza, but since we had just eaten out, we declined. Next, we get into the hot tub and it spews out all sorts of black & white chunks out of the jets...nasty! Then, at about 1am, our "neighbors" decided to blast their music super loud...we figured, hey this is a spot for people to have fun...so we left it alone....and the music went off around 2am...then it goes back on again full blast at 3am...we call the front desk and they send someone out to the door, but no one is answering. We call the desk again, only to find out that the people had gone out for the night and left the music on! If it wasn't 3:30 in the morning, we would've left and gone to a hotel somewhere. Understandably, the hotel owners can't always control what people do, but most business owners try their best to make good on a horrible stay. The only thing we were offered, after several weeks of trying to actually get ahold of the owner/manager who "forgot" to call us back, is a $50 refund on the "membership", (which we would have never used, since this was a one time thing), and a free night....since it was a bad experience to begin with, and 3 hours away, it is not likely we will come back...it wasn't really that clean either...should've suspected that...duh!

Room Tip: Avoid this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amber B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEssenceSuites, Manager at Essence Suites, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Hi Amber,

We regret to hear you had an unpleasant experience. We realize that you ran into annoyances but we did our best to accomodate you, very quickly and in any way we could, throughout the night. I can guarantee you we thoroughly clean every suite every day. Not sure what you meant by "not really that clean" when we have professionals come in every day. When it came to the unusually loud noise, it is impossible to control what other people do, but we worked hard to clear the noise as soon as possible. As you stated, businesses try to make good after a poor stay. We also offered you a compensation of $350, which is more than you paid for the room. Even though we were obviously not to blame for the loud noise. This is because we value you as a customer. We are sorry that you do not see that as a value and apologize for any inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steger, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2014

cheap linen and pillows on the bed, the toilet seat broken, the floor was very cold, the chocolate strawberries were hard and frozen, the refrigerator was unstable / rookie. This was suppose the be a valentine / birthday getaway but it turned into a night mare but we made the best out of it in spike of all the inconvenience.

Room Tip: for the money we spend for the room it wasn't worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank franklin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEssenceSuites, Manager at Essence Suites, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Hi Franklin,

We dislike that you think of your stay here as a big mistake. We are currently updating the rooms and would have loved to move you to another room if it was availablae and you were unsatisfied with your accommodations. We try to accommodate our customers as much as we can. With the weather the way it is outside, floors tend to be cold in general. We refrigerate our strawberries so they can stay as fresh as possible for our customers, but we do not freeze them. Also, I'm not sure what you mean by an unstable or rookie refrigerator. Our appliances are in working condition and our refrigerators are able to keep a certain amount of food (i.e. restaurant leftovers, snacks, cakes, chocolate) cool for our customers. We appreciate your business and apologize for any inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orland Park
9.2 mi away
Champagne Lodge and Luxury Suites
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites Orland Park
Homewood Suites Orland Park
#1 of 3 in Orland Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Orland Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Tinley Park
4.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago/Tinley Park
4.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tinley Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essence Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essence Suites

Property: Essence Suites
Address: 14455 S La Grange Rd, Orland Park, IL 60462-2505
Region: United States > Illinois > Orland Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Orland Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Essence Suites...Your premier Chicagoland location for both romance and relaxation. We offer a variety of intimate suites designed to provide a passionate environment for you and your special someone. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Essence Suites Orland Park
Essence Hotel Orland Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing