We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food & staff”
Review of Woody's Steakhouse

Woody's Steakhouse
Ranked #29 of 92 Restaurants in Ottawa
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
151 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great food & staff”
Reviewed 11 December 2012

We have never had a bad meal or service at this restaurant . It is always consistent . Our in laws are in their 80's and they enjoy it. Prices are very reasonable. Hard to find a good steak in our area,unless you want to cook yourself. Had had several items on menu. Go there. The staff are always friendly & not pushy or there when you need them.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mschris1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    22
    9
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“steak excllent”
Reviewed 20 November 2012

My husband ordered the steak and it was terrific. I on the other hand had chicken. The chicken had a thick coating on it and no flavor.Our waitresss was absolutely horrible. The table behind us came in later and had more people and they were served and gone just as we got our meal. We felt like the server was ignoring us. We were going to stay for dessert but didn't want to wait another 1/2 hr and be ignored. We went to other place for coffee and pie. We were t

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank critterlcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent service!”
Reviewed 13 October 2012

We were a bit nervous about trying Woody's after reading reviews, and some of them were spot on, where others were pretty far off. We ate there this evening at 7pm. We had reservations and were seated immediately. Our waiter, Joe, was exceptional. He asked if we wanted a drink from the bar, explained the specials, which were a deep fried pork chop with corn bread stuffing for $17 or twin 6oz lobster tails for $30. We ordered the mushroom cap appetizer, which was incredible, and each of us ordered the Empress 16oz prime rib. The daily vegetable was carrots, they were good, the double baked was $3.50 extra, which i thought unusual for their already high pricing. I had the spinich salad, he has a regular dinner salad. My fiancé ordered his prime rib medium and I ordered mine medium well. The service was exceptional, but the prime rib was horribly overlooked. I could not even cut thru mine and it was like a well over cooked roast. The previous reviews warned of their over cooking, I should have listened. To our waiter, who was new to Ottawa and this was his very first Saturday night, Joe, you did FANTASTIC and this resturant is lucky to have you. To Woody's, your chef needs a better knowledge of the appropriate temps and redness of meat cooking and your resturant will be amazing. Our bill was $75, which would have been well worth it if the meal was adequately prepared.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rmaxard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Do yourself a favor and don't go there”
Reviewed 13 October 2012

We went with another couple and spent around $90.00 on their high price drinks. We finally went into the dining room and I ordered a rib eye which was fatty and over cooked. I hate to send back food because when it comes back everyone else in your party is done eating. I feel when you are paying $26 for a steak it should be cooked right. The waitress took it back and when the new steak came out it was rare, I had ordered it medium rare. I had already said just take it off the bill. Next thing I know this woman who was suppose to be the owner came out and said we don't take food off the bill. I had never heard that before. Our bill for drinks and food was over $200.00. I cannot believe you would treat customers this way. I wish I had read the reviews before we went there. The worse publicity you can get is word of mouth. I plan one telling everyone I know so they don't have this same experience. On the plus side there is a family style restaurant in Ottawa called Sun Field and the food is great, prices very reasonable and wonderful service.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Vicki1246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elk Grove Village IL
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Average at best; over priced”
Reviewed 9 October 2012

There were three of us for dinner. The waitperson had a hard time (impossible really) telling us the difference between the different cuts of meat. Steaks were reported good but nothing to write home about. I had scallions on top of pasta. Scallions very good but I couldn't get the pasta down at all; unusual taste. The bill was close to $100 which I thought was high for what we got. Won't be back again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank signots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Woody's Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Woody's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing