We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn Ottawa Starved Rock Area
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2007

We spent a Saturday night at the Hampton Inn in Ottawa and were very pleased with the facility and service. The room was quite large and very nicely furnished - loved the fluffy comforter! The complimentary breakfast included eggs and biscuits and gravy in addition to the usual cereals, muffins, etc. Fresh fruit was available even late in the evening. Very nice place to stay!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gmadiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

380 - 386 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2007

After a horrible experience at the Comfort Inn Ottawa, IL we booked a room at the Hampton Inn Ottawa. We were able to check-in right away mid morning. When the desk clerk learned of our problems she graciously offered us to have breakfast at the Hampton Inn even though normal check-in would not have been until after 3 pm. We were provided a room immediately. A fridge was brought to our room within 15 minutes of checking in.

The room was lovely! Clean, attractive, functional and spacious. We booked an additional room for family the next night. The staff bent over backwards to make our stay enjoyable. When arriving at breakfast the next day (Christmas morning) the kitchen attendant offered to make additional fresh cinnamon rolls for us even though breakfast was only scheduled for another 10 minutes!

Christmas evening my family even held our gift exchange in their lobby! It was beautifully decorated and very comfortable.

There was no maid service Christmas day but we received anything we needed: trash bags, clean towels,kleenex, etc with a smile. By far this is the best Hampton Inn I have ever stayed in!

Stayed: December 2006
2  Thank DaisyErie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2006

Our group was in training in the area and had several rooms. The entire property reeked of cigarette smoke, even the non-smoking rooms. Several in our group tried to change rooms, but the hotel was booked.

Unfortunately, upon check-in, I found hair in my bed (the sheets had not been changed). While the front desk personnel was extremely helpful in meeting my request to change the sheets at 11:00pm at night, he also commented that this was the second time this week that they had this issue with housekeeping.

The hot-tub in the indoor pool area had a sign that said that they jets were broke, but that you were still welcome to use the hot-tub.

Also, the workout room had a bike and eliptical machine that did not have working electronics.

Breakfast was good....but this Hampton is not on par with the national Hampton image.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank coastal_confessions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2006

Typical Hampton Inn hotel, clean rooms, decent breakfast, free wireless - but the difference was a very friendly and responsive staff. Even though they couldn't meet all requests they handled everything very posititively. I will definately stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2006

My wife and I stayed at the Hampton Inn in Ottawa for one night. We had a king size bed and our stay was fine. It seems to be a new hotel and our room was clean and not dated. There is a nice small pool and whirlpool. We have relatives in the area and have also stayed at the Holiday Inn Express which is right next to it. I think the pool at the HIE is better but the continental breakfast at the Hampton is better since they have more selection and even meat, at least on the weekend. This hotel is right off I-80 and there are some fast food selections and a Cracker Barrel (not my favorite) within waking distance and some more food chices down in Ottawa a few miles away. If you are looking for a drink, Shakers which is across the street form the HIE, is a local bar with a lively singles scene if you like farm girls, some of which are quite hott. In looking on the interent travel sites, they indicated that the hotel is not pet friendly but when we arrived there were people staying there with their pets. I would check with the hotel directly before you stay just to check their policy if you are bringing a pet. I give the Hampton Inn 3 stars because it is what you would expect, average but it is not a nice resort or the 4 seasons but rather a good place to spend the night if you are going to be in the area or need a place to spend the night on your way thorugh Illinois on I-80.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mblack3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Ottawa, IL
12
Reviewed 29 June 2005

room clean, Pool clean, breakfast fantastic, desk clerks helpful, great evening away from home.

  • Stayed: December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Thank Tanise C. T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ottawa
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ottawa Starved Rock Area
10.1 mi away
Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort
15.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Peru
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center
15.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Peru
15 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Peru
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Ottawa Starved Rock Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Ottawa Starved Rock Area

Address: 4115 Holiday Ln, Ottawa, IL 61350-9547
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Ottawa
Price Range: £79 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Ottawa Starved Rock Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn Ottawa (Starved Rock Area). We feature 64 spacious guest rooms with King Beds or Double Queen beds,and King with Whirlpool. Accessible rooms and adjoining rooms are also available. Guest Rooms feature: Electronic key door locks, Work desk with chair & lamp in King rooms, FREE wireless high speed internet, 32" LCD TV's, Free Cable TV with HBO and ESPN. The Hampton Inn also features an indoor swimming pool & whirlpool and provides a Complimentary Hot Breakfast. Our meeting room can easily accommodate up to 30 people and many restaurants are within 5 miles. Visit Ottawa, and stay enjoy your stay at the Hampton Inn Ottawa (Starved Rock Area) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hampton Inn Ottawa Starved Rock Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Ottawa Hotel Ottawa
Ottawa Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing