We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an Amazing Experience!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ottawa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Marcia's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 3 Ottawa B&B and Inns
Chicago
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What an Amazing Experience!!!”
Reviewed 8 July 2012

This past June we had an itch to go for a little nature walk. We decided to do a little gallivanting up to "Starved Rock State Park" for the weekend and stay the night. We were pleasantly surprised to find Marcia’s B&B. She totally tickled the "CuriosGeorge" in me. When I heard the words, “Grain Silo with a swing inside”… I was like… “What? Are you serious?!?” This was just the thing to make our trip, to this region of Illinois, both amazing and memorable.

The “Grain Bin” was a seamless place for us to share a little bonding time and romance. As Marcia expressed, “The swing is there to help couples bond... One pushes & listens while the other one talks & shares their thoughts... while swinging...”.

The best way to describe this “Grain Bin” is to say that it felt like an ultimate tree house. Much creativity, thought, and love appears to have been invested toward building this B&B. From the swing in the living room, to the little reading/kissing nooks, and to the shower that was made out of a metallic water trough, everything was refreshingly unique.

Marcia’s peaceful & loving personality sprinkled our experience with that warm and fuzzy feeling that you can only call "Home". She advised us to check out “The Cheese Shop & Deli”. Wow! This was another hidden treasure of Ottowa. The store was as flavorful, as the food they served. I have to also thank Marcia for allowing us access to her back yard in the middle of the night. A large storm front was moving through that night. In the distance you could see large billowing clouds flashing brightly, as bolts of lightning dashed across them, like crackling fingers. We had a marvelous time watching the light show & talking, whilst lounging on her trampoline and taking a few minutes swinging side by side on the swing set.

The next morning we awoke to greet the horses and enjoy an amazing breakfast. We are already talking about returning back here in Jan/Feb. We are very interested in seeing the frozen waterfalls and the bald eagles that everyone talks about.

I have the illusion that “Starved Rock” is the main reason why anyone would want to spend the night up there. I would strongly suggest that you visit that park when there isn’t a drought. The waterfalls were just a trickle of their ideal self this year.

I would NOT suggest this B&B for a partner that is a bit of a perfectionist or high maintenance. The type of “Quality Experience” that this place offers, is not made for those of a superficial and materialistic nature.

Room Tip: Reserve the Grain Bin. Also…Don’t let the jaded & tainted comments by <Trippjc> “I cannot believe some of these reviews on how inaccurate they are”... sway you. Next time <Trippjc> should actually take the time to read the other comments first, before falsely claiming they are inaccurate. It’s unfortunate that he had a negative experience… and that he couldn’t tap the true beauty and quality of this B&B.

God Bless...

Room Tip: Room Tip: Reserve the Grain Bin. Also…Don’t let the jaded & tainted comments by <Trippj...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    1
    0
    2
    5
See reviews for
2
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Charles
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Overall, I think Tripadvisor gives some very good information but overall the reviews show this B&B as being good. This is a injustice to accurate reporting. Lets look at our recent stay & we have stayed at Over a 1,000 places.
-The lady is nice and genuine. She is friendly conversation and will make you feel comfortable. I think Mrs. Bates was considered a friendly lady.
-It looks like a country atmosphere. However, you will hear traffic all night long since you are on a highway and a short distance from I-80. As you get off I-80 you wll go pass the Adult-XXX for the start of your country atmosphere. You are almost walking distance to this place.
-On one of the other review (one that was accurate) says it seemed like a chicken coop. It was a chickent coop. My wife woke me up during the middle of the night and heard an animal chewing on something. She thought it was a rat or mouse.
-The place was dirty. Pathetic. Spring Valley has a hotel for 1/3 the price which is much cleaner. I sat down on the furniture and watched alot of dust circulate in the lights. There were various bugs on the floor. There were copwebs in the place. There was a very used soapbar in the shower.
-I went to take a shower (my wife refused) and I began to gag. Stench was coming through the drains. I am a little weak in this area but the drains were something else.
-We went to check out and people staying at the Silo were eating breakfast. I asked the lady what was near her feet. It was a rabbit hopping through the room and she was shocked to see it.
-Furnace lights up the sleeping room everytime the heat kicks on. Expect very little sleep with this and the varmits in the chicken coop.
-We looked at one other small room and it was better than this. The people staying in the silo did not seem to like the place.

If you are ok with what I wrote than you may like this place. There is much better in the area and this is overpriced for what you are getting.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the little house "chicken coop"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank trippjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ottawa hotels

Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

If you truly want a Illinois farm country experience, you need to stay at Marcia's. The rooms are cozy and unique. The artist in Marcia is represented in each of her rooms. Eclectic is the best description. Leave your 5 star hotel wishes behind, Marcia's is country comfortable, warm, and welcoming. A place you want to just "hang". Marcia, we WILL be back!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 126Holly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granville, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2011

We were given a stay at Marcia's as a Christmas/Anniversary gift, and it was the best gift we have ever received! We stayed in the Grain Bin, and it was absolutely amazing. All the woodwork is hand-made. It is cozy, and spacious all at the same time. We loved the farm setting, and the quaintness of the little things, like the horse trough bathtub. It really has a down home rural atmosphere, and is a great way to spend some quiet time with a loved one. Marcia's breakfasts are absolutely wonderful, and the genuine conversation is something you just don't get from people nowadays. It was a fantastic escape, and we plan on returning again in the future. Not for someone that is a neat freak...you have to remember you are on a farm. Mice, spiders, and dirt are the norm in places like this...and it adds to the charm of it. If you aren't a country person at heart, you aren't ready to appreciate this hidden gem that is Marcia's. Thank you so much for the memories Marcia!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mia1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2010

This bed and breakfast not only is located near the interesting history of Starved Rock, but Marcia herself is a true treasure of kindness, and amazing interesting stories of her personal experiences with the Native American tribal history in the region. She treated us like family, made delicious food, helped us find anything and everything we were interested in seeing. Truly, she made a place that seemed to be in the middle of nowhere and not have too much to offer seem quite the contrary, full of intriguing sites to explore! I have come back to Marcia's Bed and Breakfast numerous times, I enjoyed it so much. If you haven't seen the "roundhouse" you must, perfect for a family with kids or anyone with an interest in repurposing spaces or a creative eye for design, this house is surprisingly exquisite inside as you enter what appears to be a silo from the outside! I have stayed in both of her accommodations and felt at home, peaceful and delighted with both!

A must visit location if not for meeting Marcia, a charming, genuine, huge hearted and accommodating woman!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dricha2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2010

My husband took me up to Ottawa for some hiking for my birthday. He found this little bed and breakfast and the reviews were good so we gave it a try. It was DIRTY to say the least. We stayed in this cute little renovated silo. It is a great idea in theory, but it must be too much for her to keep up with. There were cobwebs everywhere, I had to clean the toilet before I used it, and there was literally a dirty sock and candy wrapper on the floor by the bed. I don't know when it had been cleaned last, but clearly not before we stayed and after the last people. It cost $110 to stay there, and I feel like we absolutely could have stayed at a budget motel and gotten a cleaner room. Additionally, the morning we left the plumbing started to stink...we could not wait to get out of there. It is such a cute idea in theory, but in practice I think she needs to hire someone or close down.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melgngm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago, illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2009

I made reservations to stay for nearly a week, sending a$50.00 deposit that was cashed I then canceled almost 2 months prior to my stay and never reserved my refund. BE WARE!!!

Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank marengo205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ottawa
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Ottawa Starved Rock Area
2.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ottawa Starved Rock Area
17.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn Peru Starved Rock State Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center
12.2 mi away
Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort
17.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Peru
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marcia's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marcia's Bed and Breakfast

Property: Marcia's Bed and Breakfast
Address: 3003 N. Illinois Rt. 71 And I-80, Ottawa, IL 61350
Region: United States > Illinois > Ottawa
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ottawa
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing