We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont Stay Here! AWFUL”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Ottawa
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We had recently stayed in a different Holiday Inn Express that we were very happy with. We had printed a coupon from online for this Holiday Inn Express. The coupon could not be used because they had rediculous fine print about you had to book online and I refuse to list credit card info online. When we went there to check it out a few weeks before our say we noticed that the lobby smelled like smoke and the front desk people were extremely rude and unhelpful and we found out the recently the pool roof collapsed into the pool and the pool wouldnt be available during our stay. We immediately left and drove around until we found the Fairfield Inn and Suites. Bottom Line: Dont stay at Holiday Inn Express in Ottawa defintely stay at Fairfield Inn & Suites! Check out my review about the Fairfield Inn and Suites!

Room Tip: Don't Stay Here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ArualJane22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2012

Dear ArualJane22,

Thank you for your feedback. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our best to provide not just good value, but clean and friendly accommodations. We regret you were not satisfied with the services you recieved from our hotel and staff. I understand the inconvenience this caused you. Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel.

We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N.
Case Manager
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2012

PROPERTY: I stayed at this property for 2 nights in room 318 a double queen room. This property is starting to show it’s age and could use some freshening up as it’s not on par with other (newer) HEI’s.

The hotel had a pool which was “Out of Order”. Based on other reviews, it seems to be a common theme.

DINING: The breakfast was nothing special. A few cereal choices, hot biscuits and gravy and prefab eggs. The pancake maker was out of order. There is a Cracker Barrel across the parking lot, go there.

ROOM: The room was clean and the décor was uninspiring. The room felt smaller than usual and lacked a micro/fridge combo found in similar properties. A coffee maker is provided. The room had light road noise from street traffic. The furniture was in good condition and had a 32” flat screen TV.

The bathroom was small with tub/shower combo. I had NO HOT WATER twice during my stay when showering at 6:30-7:00 am. The sink area is small and made of cultured marble.

BEDDING: The bed was very good with a nice white comforter but cheap pillows.

WORK AREA: The table is the size of a Chicklet and almost unusable for work. The chair is not adjustable and not suited for laptop work. There is only ½ of an electrical outlet provided nearby (the other one is used for a light) for powering electronics. Poor-mediocre lighting throughout room.

The staff was friendly and accommodating.

PROS: price? “surface clean” (deep down, not so much)

CONS: Pool out of order, no micro/fridge, dated atmosphere, nothing special.

RATING: I expected better. Overall I would give the property a 75/100 and 75/100 for value. I would consider staying here again, but would definitely look at other properties nearby. I heard similar disappointing stories about the Hampton Inn next door as our large group was divided between the two properties. Try the Fairfield Inn.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YepBeenThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

Dear YepBeenThere,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you had a positive experience with our friendly staff. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry our pool has been closed for renovations since late January 2012. We are hoping the renovations will be complete and the pool back open soon. We're sorry you were not fully satisfied with the hotel furnishings. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

I have stayed here many times for business. Very consistent and clean. Pool is closed for repairs right now, not sure for how long,

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ramblingsalesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

I prebooked on line to save a whooping $10, do not prebook as when they have your money you will never get it back
I went up for Eagle Watch weekend at Straved Rock, when I checked in at the Holidy Inn
was told both the pool and hot tub where out of service since thursday.
No telephone call before hand to inform me of this fact and the woman at the service alomost did not inform us of this fact

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Schaumburg800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

The people were so friendly. The room was clean and the pool a welcome diversion.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janeway62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Very clean and quiet. Had a great night's sleep which is the important part. Morning staff was pleasant and accommodating. Breakfast was fine, nothing special expected and it was adequate for free. The only down side is that it just seemed a little on the high-side considering what & where it is.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elPelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Everything about our stay at this hotel was good. Our group reserved a total of eight rooms, and no one complained about any aspect of it. Staff was friendly and made it easy to reserve the block of rooms. I'm not sure how old the hotel is, but it is on the new side; nothing was worn, and the rooms were spotless. I liked that the sink is separate from the toilet/shower. It makes it easier for two people to get ready at the same time.

The complimentary hot breakfast buffet was plentiful and good. I especially liked the biscuits and gravy. The gravy actually had bits of sausage in it. They also had a pancake maker as opposed to the ubiquitous waffle maker.

Although we didn't use the indoor pool, it looked nice from what we could see.

Room Tip: We didn't have a refrigerator or microwave in our room, but others in our party did. If you req...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Connie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ottawa
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Ottawa Starved Rock Area
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ottawa Starved Rock Area
15.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Peru Starved Rock State Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Peru
15.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Peru
13.9 mi away
Best Western Oglesby Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 120 W Stevenson Rd, Ottawa, IL 61350-9693 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Ottawa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Ottawa
Price Range: £65 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Comfort Inn located in the heart of Ottawa, Illinois. Our hotel's property is minutes from the Fox River, Illinois River and Starved Rock State Park.If you're looking for hotels in Ottawa, Illinois surrounded by attractions like the Appellate Court Building, search no further. Outdoor enthusiasts spend their days exploring Starved Rock State Park, while daredevils venture to Skydive Chicago. History buffs love touring downtown Ottawa's architecture, as well as Washington Square where the Lincoln-Douglas debates were held in 1858.Did you know we're a great destination for business travelers? Our hotel's not only near Starved Rock State Park, it's also near Clover Technology Group, Exelon, GE, Petsmart Distribution Center, Kohl's Distribution Center, Pilkington and Tyson Fresh Meats. The 24-hour business center with fax and copy services makes it easy to prepare for your meeting in the 720-sq-ft event facility.Whether business or pleasure brings you to Ottawa, Illinois, our hotel's free high-speed Internet access keeps you connected. Every morning enjoy a hot cup of 100% Arabica coffee from the complimentary, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar. The fitness center allows you to keep up your workout routine, and afterward, unwind in the indoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Ottawa Hotel Ottawa
Holiday Inn Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing