We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in quaint city.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Ottawa
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Ottawa
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in quaint city.”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This Holiday Inn Express is a lovely place to stay in the quaint city of Ottawa IL. This was our last night on the road after 13 days. The room was spacious and quite. The bed was perfect and very comfortable. The breakfast buffet was better than most hotels offer with very good coffee! You must take a tour of Ottawa as the town is so charming. My husband and I will be returning to explore the area. All in all, very good value for a nights stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    24
    19
    5
    8
See reviews for
24
23
10
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed here in April 2014. The room was a little cramped but that was due to the 2 queen size beds. There was a pool and hot tub, which my family took advantage of. The staff was very friendly - and helpful when we discovered my daughter had not packed a toothbrush or toothpaste. Breakfast was good - bacon, eggs, pastries, cereal. Near a Farm and Fleet (which we had to go to because daughter forgot her jacket). Next to a gas station too. Very convenient.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ilovetotravel100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalzell, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

I'm in town often for business and I always stay here. It's close to the interstate, shopping, and businesses. Great rates for all. Breakfast is always hot, with plenty of things to choose from. Cookies and candies are a nice touch also-cookies during the evening and candies all day. I've gotten to know the staff over the years and they are friendly and quite helpful. They have recommended a number of places to eat nearby. They have a nice restaurant across the street-just a minute walk. This restaurant serve excellent tavern food at good prices.
Rooms are nice too at the hotel-always clean. Pool is refreshing as well. You can't go wrong by staying here.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank patrick b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
124 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed here as we were visiting family. The hotel surprised me. It's actually quite nice and very clean. The room was spacious. Great channels on the tv, indoor pool was busy and looked like everyone was enjoying it. Close to the interstate, so very convenient. The front desk were super friendly. They have coffee all day in the foyer. We didn't eat breakfast in the morning so can't comment on that.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Checked into Inn due to blowing snow and darkness expecting the worse but was pleasantly surprised. Very clean room, very quiet, nice TV excellent breakfast. Very convent to Interstate, gas, Subway and local bar and grill.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Michigan
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

My wife and I needed a place to crash for the night on the way to see relatives for the holiday. This seemed like it would work; I had enough points for a free night, it was right off the interstate, and we generally like HIX hotels. I popped out my Android phone, fired up the app, and booked it right in the parking lot. Bonus: we got a hot tub suite. Sounds great, right?

My first indicator that they really don't know what they're doing is that my credit card was charged the full amount even though it was a reward night. The front desk clerk mumbled something about "Sorry, it should be just a $20 deposit" but it was for $154, and I am waiting for the transaction to be finished so I can dispute it.

Then, we filled the jacuzzi with hot water, looking to power down so we could finish the drive in the morning. The caulking around the top edge of the hot tub was peeling off, leaving huge holes throughout, which of course are not going to be clean. Then, I glanced over from the tub to see many black stains on the upper part of the inside of the toilet bowl. Ewww.

So...maintenance, housekeeping, and proper billing are all sub-par here.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms (the ones facing North) are away from the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nitw63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ottawa, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear nitw63,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the cleanliness of the accommodations and billing prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction. We would like to obtain some additional information about your stay and have sent you a private message.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I got a king room with whirlpool. Nice room, very clean. The whirlpool in the bathroom needs re-caulking. The tv guide that they have in the room needs to be copied so it's a little easier to read. The room came with a fridge and microwave which is always nice. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. I do have to complain about the side door. The side door at the end of the hotel is created to let hotel guests enter the hotel without going through the front desk. It has a keycard machine so that the guest can slide their card in so that only hotel guests can enter. The door was unlocked and did not latch when it did close. this being unlocked, you can enter whether you are a guest or not which did not make me feel safe. Between the wind and people coming in and out all night, the constant slamming of the door kept me up all night. The breakfast at the hotel was average. Pancakes were great, the biscuits were hard.

Room Tip: A room away from the side door will be less noisy. The door and people going up and down the stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tigercharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ottawa, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay. We work hard to ensure our hotel is well maintained and we try our hardest to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. Please accept our apology for any inconvenience these issues may have caused. We have taken note of the issues you experienced during your stay and will work to get thenm corrected. Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon

Sincerely,
Debra Carson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ottawa
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Ottawa Starved Rock Area
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ottawa Starved Rock Area
15.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Peru
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Days Inn Oglesby/ Starved Rock
10.1 mi away
Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort
15.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Peru
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Ottawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Ottawa

Property: Holiday Inn Express Ottawa
Address: 120 W Stevenson Rd, Ottawa, IL 61350-9693
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Ottawa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express® Ottawa hotel, located in the heart of Ottawa, Illinois. Our hotel's property is minutes from the Fox River, Illinois River and Starved Rock State Park.If you're looking for hotels in Ottawa, Illinois surrounded by attractions like the Appellate Court Building, search no further. Outdoor enthusiasts spend their days exploring Starved Rock State Park, while daredevils venture to Skydive Chicago. History buffs love touring downtown Ottawa's architecture, as well as Washington Square where the Lincoln-Douglas debates were held in 1858.Did you know we're a great destination for business travelers? Our hotel's not only near Starved Rock State Park, it's also near Clover Technology Group, Exelon, GE, Petsmart Distribution Center, Kohl's Distribution Center, Pilkington and Tyson Fresh Meats. The 24-hour business center with fax and copy services makes it easy to prepare for your meeting in the 720-sq-ft event facility.Whether business or pleasure brings you to Ottawa, Illinois, our hotel's free high-speed Internet access keeps you connected. Every morning enjoy a hot cup of 100% Arabica coffee from the complimentary, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar. The fitness center allows you to keep up your workout routine, and afterward, unwind in the indoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Ottawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Ottawa Hotel Ottawa
Holiday Inn Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing