We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great customer service”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Ottawa
Reviewed 29 July 2014

First time staying here. Good location, looked taken care of for the most part. Our room did have a very strong odor when we would open the door, too overwhelming like trying to cover up perhaps smoke smell or a pet smell. Could be fresher. What made the stay nice was the front desk clerk Nikki. She was very helpful when asking for a place to eat. My daughter and I ended up at Biachcci's pizza in downtown Ottawa. Probably one of the top 3 pizza's I have ever had. I would drive back just to go there! Thanks for the suggestion Nikki! Made our night! Great customer service is key!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank mangotango_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

If you are a family, this place is for you. Pool, breakfast, great child policy, etc.

I am not a family. I travel alone for business. I use the room to sleep. Not to blast the TV or other loud activities. During the week it is not so bad but on the weekends, it can be loud.

Otherwise, the hotel is clean, fairly well run and overly expensive, for what it is. For a long time this hotel was the only game in town but now it isn't. There are better.

Room Tip: Higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Pietro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Enea S,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the noise levels prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stopped here for a night on our way home from a trip to Iowa and didn't expect to enjoy it as much as we did. The facility is a bit dated, but the important things were all excellent! The staff was friendly and the bed was VERY comfortable, there was a mini fridge to store our beverages and leftover dessert from dinner. We had a nice long soak in the hot tub by the pool. Best of all, the air conditioning stayed on ALL NIGHT like I programmed it to, didn't turn on and off all the time like in many hotels. There is also a fun sports bar across the street where we had friendly service and a few cocktails while we watched an outdoor volleyball tournament in their sand pit!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nitroliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Good accomodations with a lovely breakfast.Has a nice pool and hot tub.Wash room is single with sink outside.Staff was very helpfful and friendly.Television was in breakfast lobby .Asked for restaurant directions and they gave us a 10% coupon too.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marykins33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This Holiday Inn Express is a lovely place to stay in the quaint city of Ottawa IL. This was our last night on the road after 13 days. The room was spacious and quite. The bed was perfect and very comfortable. The breakfast buffet was better than most hotels offer with very good coffee! You must take a tour of Ottawa as the town is so charming. My husband and I will be returning to explore the area. All in all, very good value for a nights stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed here in April 2014. The room was a little cramped but that was due to the 2 queen size beds. There was a pool and hot tub, which my family took advantage of. The staff was very friendly - and helpful when we discovered my daughter had not packed a toothbrush or toothpaste. Breakfast was good - bacon, eggs, pastries, cereal. Near a Farm and Fleet (which we had to go to because daughter forgot her jacket). Next to a gas station too. Very convenient.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ilovetotravel100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

I'm in town often for business and I always stay here. It's close to the interstate, shopping, and businesses. Great rates for all. Breakfast is always hot, with plenty of things to choose from. Cookies and candies are a nice touch also-cookies during the evening and candies all day. I've gotten to know the staff over the years and they are friendly and quite helpful. They have recommended a number of places to eat nearby. They have a nice restaurant across the street-just a minute walk. This restaurant serve excellent tavern food at good prices.
Rooms are nice too at the hotel-always clean. Pool is refreshing as well. You can't go wrong by staying here.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank patrick b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ottawa
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Ottawa Starved Rock Area
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ottawa Starved Rock Area
15 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Peru
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Peru Starved Rock State Park
13.7 mi away
Days Inn Oglesby/ Starved Rock
15.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Peru
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 120 W Stevenson Rd, Ottawa, IL 61350-9693 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Ottawa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Ottawa
Price Range: £53 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Comfort Inn located in the heart of Ottawa, Illinois. Our hotel's property is minutes from the Fox River, Illinois River and Starved Rock State Park.If you're looking for hotels in Ottawa, Illinois surrounded by attractions like the Appellate Court Building, search no further. Outdoor enthusiasts spend their days exploring Starved Rock State Park, while daredevils venture to Skydive Chicago. History buffs love touring downtown Ottawa's architecture, as well as Washington Square where the Lincoln-Douglas debates were held in 1858.Did you know we're a great destination for business travelers? Our hotel's not only near Starved Rock State Park, it's also near Clover Technology Group, Exelon, GE, Petsmart Distribution Center, Kohl's Distribution Center, Pilkington and Tyson Fresh Meats. The 24-hour business center with fax and copy services makes it easy to prepare for your meeting in the 720-sq-ft event facility.Whether business or pleasure brings you to Ottawa, Illinois, our hotel's free high-speed Internet access keeps you connected. Every morning enjoy a hot cup of 100% Arabica coffee from the complimentary, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar. The fitness center allows you to keep up your workout routine, and afterward, unwind in the indoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Ottawa Hotel Ottawa
Holiday Inn Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing