We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely place with warm, friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Agio Italian Bistro

Agio Italian Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Agio Italian Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 147 Restaurants in Palatine
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hindale
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A lovely place with warm, friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Seldom in this neck of the woods so it is always great to get back here. Especially love coming here on a Sunday night when the place is much quieter. The place is just lovely and a great place for a wonderful meal. I do think they skimp on the amount of wine given in a glass considering the price. Food is great and the service on a non Friday or Saturday is fantastic. My friend and I both has pasta dishes this time--simply fantastic!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MJHinsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    28
    12
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Decent”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

Food was good, but a tad pricey. Staff was fine. Stingy as usual for Italian restaurants with the wine by the glass. Had basic Ravioli which was very good, wife had a seafood special which was OK at best, tough to find any seafood in the dish.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank kfore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrington, Illinois
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, a tad pricey, but excellent overall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

Visited at 6 pm on Friday, June 28. First time there. Courteous greeter. Seated promptly. Wait staff handled drink order efficiently. Friends arrived a few minutes after we did. Table for 4. White tablecloth, black cloth dinner napkins good idea...no white lint. Attractive restaurant, good ambiance, relatively easy to converse in light of full house around us. Our courses: Caprese salad, perfect, aged/reduction balsamic nice. My Eggplant Parmesian very tasty, perfect portion, my wife had Rigatoni Bolognese, excellent. If I recall correctly, the eggplant parm was $20, the pasta was $17, so a little high, but not way out of line considering the likely overhead on a nice looking place. Service was good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Dinner with Friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

When visiting in Palatine, I had dinner at Agio. We were there on a Thursday night and they had half price bottles of wine which we took advantage of by ordering two bottles, one white and one red. There were four of us and each enjoyed appetizers and entrees, with everyone exclaiming how wonderful their food was. It was an all around great evening.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CathyKJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
205 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Our new favorite!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

When this restaurant was recommended to us by a neighbor, we were slightly skeptical. When we heard rave reviews from everyone who's eaten there, though, we decided we had to try it ourselves. In the past six months my husband and I have dined here approximately 8 times, either by ourselves or in a group, and we've been more than satisfied each time. It is now on our list of places where we take out-of-town guests, as we know they will enjoy it as much as we do. The outside dining is lovely this time of year and the service is just as good as inside. Every server we've encountered has been helpful, professional, and with a great sense of humor - the latest one even showed our son (in his 20s) how to properly pour a weissbier! The salmon and pork chop are both favorites but the pasta is also outstanding. If you like a spicy dish, try their version of shrimp diavolo. Their marsala dishes are well-seasoned and their ravioli is tender but substantial. We like their wine list very much, and they are reasonably priced. For appetizers, the mussels are great - with your choice of white wine or a tomato-based broth - and the salads are fresh and very good. We will be back often!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Teresita_Herndon_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Agio Italian Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Agio Italian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing