We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, chef knows what he is doing”

Agio Italian Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Agio Italian Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 149 Restaurants in Palatine
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
chicago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food, chef knows what he is doing”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I have lived in northern Italy, and generally am reluctant to eat "Italian" food in the U.S. because it never seems to come close to the quality of the food one encounters in Italy.

Agio, however, was a complete surprise! The food, service, and atmosphere at Agio are excellent, with no exceptions. The chef here knows what he is doing and produced extraordinary food, even under the pressure of having every table in the dining room filled that night. It was impressive to see the quality of food that came out of that kitchen.

The owner and staff are welcoming and attentive. Complimenti!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarimariChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    31
    13
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palatine, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hoped for better service”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My friends and I had lunch at Agio Restaurant. We usually anjoy coming here. This time our service was terrible. We waited for half and hour before they brought us bread and water. The food was good but after this particular time I do not think I want to go back. With the prices they charge they should have better service,

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palatine, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always consistent for us!”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

My husband and I frequent this establishment and always dine at the bar. The owner, Joe, and his wife Mary and their kids are all wonderful. Going to the restaurant and sitting in the bar area in itself is worth the trip. It's very classic and very comforting.. wonderful after a long day at work! The overall atmosphere of the restaurant makes one feel like they are not in Palatine. They have an extensive cocktail list and decent beers on tap. The wine list is also very good. The list includes high end and every day wines. Additionally, they offer half price on the "every day" wine list on Thursdays. As for the food, the specials are they way to go! There is always an appetizer special, fish and meat specials and a risotto special. We usually go with the fish because the chef really prepares seafood quite well. On occasion we will split a pasta. We also enjoy the eggplant parm. Portions in my opinion are quite substantial. Desserts are good too. We love the lemon cake. If you are in the area, give it a try. During the summer months there is an enclosed patio which is very nice.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NW suburb Chicago Illinois
Level Contributor
144 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Hoped for more”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We were looking for a local restaurant to cater a holiday dinner. We tried lasagne at 3 nearby restaurants including Agio. We loved the Slice of Chicago menu which we understood that Agio was an offspring of the old Slice. We saw memorable items on the menu so we had high hopes. Neither of us found the lasagne to be outstanding. We also ordered shrimp diablo, which we LOVED from Slice, and found that to be mediocre too. Sad that it wasn't the same or even close to what we had hoped.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank MOMOsan_309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago, illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best New Years Choice”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Last minute change of plans for New Years ended up eating at this amazing restaurant. They had 3 seatings 4;30 , 6;30 and 9;00. We chose 6;30 because the snow was already pretty heavy and driving later would be too risky. We were greeted by Mary at the door and she seated us nest to the wine cellar which was really nice. We started off with appetizers of shrimp cocktail, risotto with short ribs and the bruschetta with goat cheese and beets. They were delicious. Next came a wonderful salad of mixed greens. There were several choices on the menu for entrees ranging from surf and turf , and three other choices which i cant remember because we all had surf and turf. The lobster was done perfectly, and the filet was a very nice size also done to perfection. We were not rushed in any way, and the waitress was wonderful. If you haven't been here yet you really should try it, as the food is always consistent and the place is cozy and very bistro feeling with the decor. They also have a nice bar, and in the summer outdoor seating with an option of outdoor/indoor for just so so weather. They also have a very nice selection of wines reasonably priced as well. I think you'll be back as regulars as we have been.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deb72157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Agio Italian Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Agio Italian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing