We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what you'd expect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Chicago Palatine
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Palatine
Reviewed 30 September 2012

I was here visiting an event hosted at the hotel. The hotel has all that you'd expect and even access to a gym and pool. But what I really needed arriving late in the evening was something to eat and this turned out to be problematic. The lady at the front desk wasn't very helpful.

The rooms are clean and up to Holiday Inn Standards.

The breakfast is rather low key. On a busy day the breakfast facilities can be a bit crowded and you may have to wait a bit. You won't be spoilt for choice, but you won't starve either.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VisaCollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2012

I spent one night here at the beginning of the week. The location is good but very close to the highway. The lobby is very nice and modern, but the rooms could use and update. It's unusual to have an old tube TV in a hotel these days. The staff was very nice and having a full gym attached is a big plus. I would stay here again the next time I'm in town.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

If there was a "below average" rating, I would feel more comfortable (because they provided great customer service) BUT the HI Express in Palatine is older and attached to a VERY old World Gym (it was disgusting - dark, all the equipment looked dangerous, and those working out looked a bit scary). The lobby is fine, nothing bad or good and the comment about the "best breakfast" probably comes from a HI frequent traveler because Hampton Inn is clearly a front runner in that department. They don't have a pool (although an old, indoor pool is located in that disgusting gym next door). The window in our room was tiny, I felt like I was in a closet.
The room was older, old-school TV, remote didn't work well nor the pay per view (we were told we ordered a movie but we didn't - remote was stuck).
When I asked about lunch locations within walking distance, the desk seemed out of touch but VERY friendly.
The driver (Tom) was extremely helpful with finding a dinner location (they take you to nearby restaurants).
On Tuesdays and Wednesdays they have a "Manager's Reception" where drinks are served.
We had stayed here due to Hampton Inn being sold out (and we couldn't extend the reservation) so it would not be our first choice and I definately would not stay here again (sorry).

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PalmBeacher06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIE-PAL-MGT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chicago Palatine, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.
We strive to offer an excellent product and great service to all our guests, and it appears that we did not meet your expectations. I would like to personally discuss your stay, in order to gain better insight on how we can make improvements in the future.
Hotel General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

The lobby area looked up to date, the rooms were another story. They need to be updated BADLY. We had booked 2 rooms and one of the rooms had a mattress that smelled of urine, my guests with me did not tell me of this until we had checked out and were leaving town, they did not want me to be upset because I booked the hotel for them. The TV channel selection was not even average at best, I guess that most guests don't watch the food channel or have kids that would want to watch cartoons (was shown on the channel guide in room), because neither of these channels was available. We had our pet with us and they were very accomodating in that respect, but their 50 dollar fee considering the condition of the rest of the room was a little over the top. Our hotel the night before was a new staybridge suite that did not charge us the fee of 30 dollars that was on their website. I would pay it either way because it is their policy and I am glad for the opportunity to bring my pet with me. The Breakfast was great and the attendant was great and the choices were great, I thanked her very well $$. The internet was spotty at best. The pool in the health club was freezing, and kind of dirty. unless you rented a suite you did not get a microwave and fridge, but you do get a room with a couch that faces the opposite viewing direction of the outdated television. I almost forgot the beds which were almost as hard as the floor.

Room Tip: choose a room in the newer holiday inn express that is just a few miles up the same road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ourbigdogs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We've stayed here before because, unfortunately, there is a poor selection of hotels in Palatine, and it's my hometown so I usually visit annually. Because of the delicious breakfast, this is our top choice in Palatine, but compared to other hotels in general, it lacks a mini fridge, a microwave, and the wireless Internet is spotty, at best. The indoor pool Is pleasant, but as its located in a gym, I expected a clock, particularly with a second hand, but another thing we didn't find. Also, we had several problems with a clogged toilet, 3 times in as many days. I'm thinking I may try a nearby city next time...the staff was nice!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Feliz202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 4 days for a softball tournament nearby . Room was on the smaller side, but adjoining gym and pool made up for that ! Hot breakfast was one of the best I have had at a Holiday Inn property . Housekeeping was excellent and quiet while cleaning in the nearby rooms in am . Decor was clean and modern and I loved the arm chair in the room- fell asleep in it twice ! Arlington Park is 3 minutes away also . Tons of dining within 2 miles as well . Highly recommend this property :)

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank reemard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

I cannot say enough about how disappointed I was with my one night stay at the Holiday Inn Express - Palatine. There was a group partying all night, and I mean all night, until 6AM!!!!, directly across the hall from my room and down the hall from my room. Yelling and door slamming all night. I contacted the front desk several times only to be told,at 5am, "what would you like me to do?, I can't control the alcohol consumption of others" Seriously?? I have never been treated so poorly by any hotel staff in my life. I travel frequently for business and will never return to this hotel for any reason. I plan on communicating my dissatisfaction to the corporate office on Monday morning. Beware all, this hotel does not care about travelers over 21! Do yourself and big favor and seek accommodations elsewhere!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank MinnaandJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 June 2012

We would like to thank you for your comments and let you know that we take them very seriously. We have launched an investigation into the circumstances that you presented in your review, and would like to speak to you directly regarding your experience at our hotel. Please feel free to contact the hotel General Manger at your earliest convenience.
It is our goal to provide excellent service for every guest, with every stay. We are disappointed that we did not meet your expectation and welcome the opportunity to speak to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palatine
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Arlington Heights/North
Courtyard Chicago Arlington Heig...
#5 of 10 in Arlington Heights
135 reviews
7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Schaumburg
0.6 mi away
Red Carpet Inn
Red Carpet Inn
#2 of 3 in Palatine
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Arlington Heights
Days Inn & Suites Arlington Heig...
#3 of 10 in Arlington Heights
378 reviews
1.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Buffalo Grove
7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chicago - Schaumburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Chicago Palatine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Chicago Palatine

Address: 1550 E Dundee Rd, Palatine, IL 60074-8311
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Palatine
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Palatine
Price Range: £67 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Chicago Palatine 2.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You won't believe your eyes! The hotel has just completed a multi-million dollar renovation. Book your room now to see the new luxurious look of the Holiday Inn Express-Palatine/Arlington Heights. With completely renovated rooms and bathrooms, you'll be Staying Smart. The Holiday Inn Express is conveniently located one block west of Rt. 53, 15 miles from O'Hare Airport, and only 30 minutes from downtown Chicago. The hotel is also close to many local attractions and businesses such as Woodfield Mall, Long Grove Historic Shopping District, Medieval Times Dinner & Tournament, Motorola, Siemens, and Home Depot. Play Smart while Staying Smart with complimentary use of the adjacent World Gym Fitness Center. This 65,000 square foot fitness facility offers an indoor pool, sauna, basketball court, racquetball courts, 200 pieces of cardio and weight training equipment, aerobics studio and much more! Excellent customer service is why this hotel has consistently been rated as Chicagoland's #1 Holiday Inn Express. All rooms are now wired with complimentary high-speed access and new beds, with the meeting rooms, lobby and breakfast areas all offering complimentary high-speed wireless access! Lastly, don't forget we also feature a complimentary hot breakfast and free local shuttle service within 5 miles, subject to availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Chicago Palatine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chicago Palatine Hotel Palatine
Holiday Inn Palatine
Palatine Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Palatine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing