We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Chicago Palatine
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Palatine
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here recently on an overnight trip for business. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and accommodations were everything one could expect for this type of hotel. I have to make a special mention of Claudia at the front desk. I was whining about how I left my phone charger at home. She went out of her way to check the lost and found box to see if there was one I could use temporarily. No luck. But within an hour she called my room to ask if I still needed a charger. She had tracked one down for me somehow and allowed me to borrow it for an hour. How great is that?! She saved the day for me. I told my colleague about it the next day and he added that he had noticed how pleasant she was when we checked in. What a great asset someone like that is for a hotel. Oh, and they even have free beer during happy hour in the lobby! What else could you ask for?

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank Domn8r59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2013

Had to stay here when my flight at O'Hare was cancelled (everything closer was booked). Besides the $40 cab ride (and you only got that if you called and got a cab - not from the line, that cost the poor girl checking in ahead of me $72), there is nothing around if you don't have a car. However, my biggest issue was that the room - and especially the bed - were not clean. Avoid if at all possible.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank helsimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIE-PAL-MGT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chicago Palatine, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

To helsimon,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your comments about your stay. I understand how frustrating it can be when your flight is cancelled and you have to take a long cab ride to a hotel sometimes late into the evening. I am sorry to hear about your room status at check in; we will look into our procedures and make sure the rooms are not put clean into our system until they were checked. I would love the opportunity to discuss with you further, if you wish please contact me at the hotel. (847) 934-4900

Thank you

Jim Anderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights to attend a music festival in town. The staff was very nice and helpful. The rooms were clean and decent sized. Our room did not have a fridge or microwave. The water pressure in the shower was rather weak. They served the standard breakfast of eggs, pancakes, muffins, cereal, etc. Parking was ample. The hotel is located within a short driving distance to many restaurants.

The pool is actually part of a fitness center that is adjoined to the hotel. In order to get to it, you had to go to the second floor, go through a couple of doors into the fitness area, where they directed you to go down stairs and through the locker room to get to the pool. Not the most convenient access but it was an indoor pool and rather large.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kay2003cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights and was pleasantly surprised with the service and the property. Now I know it's only a holiday inn express, but they run it like a five star hotel. The staff are extremely friendly and go out of there way to be helpful. The hotel has a nice lobby that you enter in, front desk check in was organized, quick and overall the staff was very welcoming. Rooms are very clean, comfortable and nice size. Hotel is well maintained. On Tuesday and Wednesday nights they have a mangers reception which offers guests free wine, beer or soft drinks, and lots of different food options. One of the nights there was pizza, sliders, sausages in a bun, nachos and salsa, cheese and meat tray, veggies and dip, bowl of mixed nuts, wow it could of been a dinner. Overall if you need to be in this area, this hotel will not disappoint you.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wondermomToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

It is a pleasure to write a review of this HI Express. I travel constantly and have options of where to stay but when I am in this area I will always stay here.
My rooms have always been spotless, comfortable and spacious.
I have to say the best part is that the staff have always been professional, helpful and courteous (I would like to acknowledge them all by name but I’m not that good with names. I would like to acknowledge Claudia (always pleasant, helpful, and with a warm smile) and Alisha (she even e-mailed me once to let me know that the hotel was close to being booked and if I was to be in town that week – which I was planning on – that I should get me reservation in, thank you!).
Summary: Most Highly Recommended!!
PS:
Can’t forget the Tues/Wed Manager Receptions are always a treat (they actually get me to leave work at a reasonable time so I don’t miss it too often)

thanks again
don

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank don h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 3 days in September. The rooms are big but hardly any amenities in the room. No electric, kettle, refrigerator, microwaves etc. Breakfast is ok but one has to eat on disposable plates with plastic crockeries. The biggest problem is that there is no food available in the hotel nor is there a restaturant nearby. However, the receptionist can order food from a chinese restaurant. When you land up at the hotel after a long journey the last thing one wants to do is to wait for food to arrive so I went to sleep hungry.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheilasarkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chicago Palatine, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear Sheilasarkar,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit at our hotel and for providing us with your valuable feedback. I'm sorry you were not satisfied with the room amenities. Your comments are being shared with the hotel management and appropriate action will be taken.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

A member of our family participated in an event in one of the hotels ballrooms. So, we went along to do some sightseeing.

This hotel is very nice. It is located just west of the Route 53 Expressway, in the NW suburbs, The rooms were very well laid out and the bed very comfy. Check in was a breeze and the lady at the desk was super helpful. I have never stayed in a hotel this quiet. I know that there was lots of foot traffic outside our door but we nary heard a peep! The TV kept pixelating and losing signal, every 3-5 minutes. A bit frustating!

The breakfast was a bit hit or miss as the first morning was wonderful and apparently they changed it up a bit the next morning and the options were not as good. But, hey, it ois a free breakfast, right? The attendent worked like crazy to keep everything going and she was very accomodating.

The Hotel does not have its own pool but the attached "World Gym" does. Guests are free to use the Gym but the oddest of things - they close at 9 PM on Saturday! What?!

All in all, we had a great stay and the hotel has little to do to be world class!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doodle1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIE-PAL-MGT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chicago Palatine, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

To Doodle1011,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Palatine and taking the time to write your review. I am happy to see you felt the hotel overall was nice, quiet, comfortable, and your interactions with the staff was pleasant. I will check with our maintenance staff to see about the cable signal, as we have new LED HD flat screen sets in all rooms with HD programming. As you mentioned, we are located directly off route 53 and our hotel is near Woodfield, Arlington Park, and Deer Park. Our complimentary daily hot breakfast should always be well stocked with multiple options including eggs, bacon, sausage, pancakes, biscuits with gravy, warm signature cinnamon rolls as well as fruit, yogurt, and cereal.

Thank you.
Jim Anderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palatine
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chicago NW - Arlington Heights
Holiday Inn Express Chicago NW -...
#4 of 10 in Arlington Heights
80 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chicago Deer Park
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Rolling Meadows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Red Carpet Inn
Red Carpet Inn
#2 of 3 in Palatine
26 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Arlington Heights/North
Courtyard Chicago Arlington Heig...
#7 of 10 in Arlington Heights
138 reviews
0.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Arlington Heights
Days Inn & Suites Arlington Heig...
#3 of 10 in Arlington Heights
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Chicago Palatine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Chicago Palatine

Address: 1550 E Dundee Rd, Palatine, IL 60074-8311
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Palatine
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Palatine
Price Range: £65 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Chicago Palatine 2.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You won't believe your eyes! The hotel has just completed a multi-million dollar renovation. Book your room now to see the new luxurious look of the Holiday Inn Express-Palatine/Arlington Heights. With completely renovated rooms and bathrooms, you'll be Staying Smart. The Holiday Inn Express is conveniently located one block west of Rt. 53, 15 miles from O'Hare Airport, and only 30 minutes from downtown Chicago. The hotel is also close to many local attractions and businesses such as Woodfield Mall, Long Grove Historic Shopping District, Medieval Times Dinner & Tournament, Motorola, Siemens, and Home Depot. Play Smart while Staying Smart with complimentary use of the adjacent World Gym Fitness Center. This 65,000 square foot fitness facility offers an indoor pool, sauna, basketball court, racquetball courts, 200 pieces of cardio and weight training equipment, aerobics studio and much more! Excellent customer service is why this hotel has consistently been rated as Chicagoland's #1 Holiday Inn Express. All rooms are now wired with complimentary high-speed access and new beds, with the meeting rooms, lobby and breakfast areas all offering complimentary high-speed wireless access! Lastly, don't forget we also feature a complimentary hot breakfast and free local shuttle service within 5 miles, subject to availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Chicago Palatine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chicago Palatine Hotel Palatine
Holiday Inn Palatine
Palatine Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Palatine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing