We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What is good enough for Caesar....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Posta Vecchia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Posta Vecchia Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Palo Laziale
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“What is good enough for Caesar....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

No need too to throw three coins into the fountain, this most charming hotel is all you wish. A beautiful well maintained property full of history of the days when Rome was a great force. The legions have been replaced by an equally efficient and professional team, ever willing to help, explain and guide.

Much has been said below and I fully concur with all the excellent reviews. Breakfast on the terrace a delight, dinner gives our local chef, Heston B, a good run for his money, the room prepared perfectly twice a day...

A couple of tales to add to the service. As I struggled on the terrace to understand my new phone (gosh Concorde must have been simpler) one of the young waiters offered to show me the magic of these modern day monsters....then there were the two pool attendants who took to their a row boat to double check if a distant swimmer was in trouble...little things which matter!!

It is easy to observe it such a peaceful environment...but a note of caution, this is a hotel free from the bustle of Rome. The beach is not perfect, but all else most certainly top notch!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pellicano_Hotels, Direttore at La Posta Vecchia Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2015
Dear Mr Paul,

Thank you for your nice feedback.
What a beautiful comparison between our Staff and roman legions! We have every day an hard battle to win, but a very pleasant one, satisfying our Guests’ needs.

You are right in saying that little things make the difference, something we pay attention to everyday, in order to assure a wonderful experience.

As far as the beach is concerned we are aware that is something we need to ameliorate and we are working on that. The weather didn’t help very much this season, but that is not an excuse.

The legions are ready to welcoming you again very soon.

Marco Filippi
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    29
    13
    10
    6
See reviews for
38
159
4
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flims, Switzerland
Level Contributor
204 reviews
200 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Very old historic place with a great garden and the location is directly at the sea. We stayed in the room "Vanvittelli" with seaview and with a very nice bathroom. This room is perfect for a good sleep. You can sleep with open window. Breakfast on the terrace is fantastic. This can be one of the highlights of your journey. The food is of good quality and the buffet is a great positive surprise. The museum in the ground floor are the ruins of an old roman villa. You are just into the ancient world. The area is famous for artichoke (in Italy "carciofo"). We went for dinner to a nearby farmers place. The name is "Casa dei Girasoli". Ask for direction, it's worth the little drive. There are great walking and jogging possibilities. After the gate, you have to go south and you will find great beaches with infrastructure. Don’t go to the nearby village Ladispoli, take the opposite direction. Staff is very professional and friendly. Overall, this hotel is an authentic place and landmark. The price is high, but worth the money.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hotbath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pellicano_Hotels, Direttore at La Posta Vecchia Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Guest,
it is a great pleasure for me and for all the staff’s member to read these nice and simple words you wrote about our property, La Posta Vecchia Hotel.
What I noticed from your description is your experience outside the property.
As you perfectly know, our property is located within a wide natural park called “Oasi di Palo Laziale” and, honestly, this is a great fortune because our Guests have the chance to enjoy the quiet, the privacy and relax completely themselves. Just outside the park there is a very nice village called Marina di San Nicola with simple but pleasant restaurants; in my opinion it is perfect for an aperitif or for a walk and an ice cream in summer time.. It is even more funny if you get there by bikes.
The surrounding honestly does not offer lot of services but it is perfect for those people who want to relax and enjoy the local food.
Many thanks for your description about our services and location: La Posta Vecchia is a museum where you can sleep in! We have 19 rooms and everyone one is different from each other in details, history and for this reason that we always suggest to check on internet, because the beds, the bathrooms, the view and the furniture are so particular and so unusual that it is always better to choose the most suitable room for your stay.
Thanks again for your time dedicated to La Posta Vecchia after your stay with us.
We really hope to welcome you again here,
Best regards.

Marco Filippi
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nassau Bahamas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here a few years ago, and it was on my bucket list to visit again. We arrived late in the day, and stayed for three days. If you want a honeymoon hotel, a quiet place to unwind, de- stress this is it. Beautiful inside, quiet luxury, and a top notch staff. I was not a fish eater, but the chef turned me into one. Michelin food and wine. Perfect for a quiet dinner for two, or a large group. Although children could probably be accomodated, I would not say this is a place for them. Three days was not enough time here. Now we have made this our next vacation spot. It is just too wonderful to visit only twice. We left La Posta Vecchia heading for a 21 day cruise. When we returned, we both agreed to skip the cruise and spend two weeks here next time, then maybe a week at Il Pelicano. The staff helped us with so many things, there is enough to write a travel guide. They seemed to know how to do and visit everything, even helping with stops we were to visit on our upcoming cruise. If you can, stay here just once in your life, and you won't regret it.

Room Tip: We stayed in an ocean view. I would not stay in the top floor rooms, as I have a knee problem, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jayne52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pellicano_Hotels, Direttore at La Posta Vecchia Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2015
Dear Jayne52,

First of all thank you for your new visit at La Posta Vecchia, and for having us on your bucket list!
I think that our Chef, Michelino Gioia, received the best compliment he could have, almost turning you in a fish eater.

I will be more than happy to welcoming you at our sister property Il Pellicano for your first stay there or maybe at La Posta Vecchia for the third time.

A special thanks from all the Staff for your kind words.
With regards

Marco Filippi
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater, New Jersey
Level Contributor
272 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

My wife and I recently had the pleasure of staying at The Hotel Il Pelicano in Porto Ercole, in Italy. On our last night of vacation we decided to drive down towards Rome and stay at their sister property La Posta Vecchia Hotel. Originally this was an outbuilding of a castle owned by the Orisni family of Rome in the 17th Century. In the 1960's it was purchased and totally renovated by J.P.Getty. Amazingly, during the renovations, the remains of an ancient Roman villa was discovered below the property. It is now a museum that is only open to hotel guests.
The hotel is beautiful and is filled with great furniture and art. The hotel itself fells like a museum.
Our room was very spacious and the windows opened up to a stunning view of the sea.
The staff was very accommodating, friendly and professional. The restaurant, Cesar, is gorgeous and expensive but our meal was delicious and worth it.
One of the best features of this property is it's location. It is close to the airport and offers a classy alternative to staying in a hotel in Rome. We were sorry we couldn't stay longer.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pellicano_Hotels, Direttore at La Posta Vecchia Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Mr and Mrs Lawrence,
it is our great pleasure to read these nice words you wrote about La Posta Vecchia Hotel and above all to read a magnifique and important resume of the history of this place.
History is synonymous of La Posta Vecchia, it's his soul and you can breathe it everywhere here. We are glad that you could appreciate and share this feeling on this important instrument that is internet.
We would like to underline the tradition of our property which was born as a place of hospitality thanks to the Orsini family and always has had this role since the XVII century until nowadays that is part of the prestigious affiliation “Leading Hotels of the Word”.
The Orsini wanted to build a wonderful place to host people travelling on Rome and today we are still maintaining this tradition; Our property is an hidden paradise to be discovered by all those people who are not only looking for a comfortable place close to Fiumicino Airport but also for an unforgettable experience of Luxury, hospitality, gourmet cuisine to feel themselves at home.
We really hope to have the chance to welcome you back again giving you the opportunity to spend a longer period with us!
Best regards.

Marco Filippi
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, South Carolina
Level Contributor
370 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Our intentions were modest enough, I thought. Travel agent, please help us find a place between Rome Fiumicino airport and the port of Civitavecchia. Any decent hotel should do the trick because we'll be tired from the long flight. WRONG! Our travel agent said that we really needed to see & stay at this special place called La Posta Vecchia, a palace that had been owned by J. Paul Getty. OK, sounds good.

Our jaws dropped most of time during our ever-so-brief stay of one night. We arrived mid-morning, and our rooms were ready and the friendly staff were waiting. We felt like we had arrived at the Italian coastal version of Downton Abbey! Seriously, from a service standpoint, it was flawless, extremely professional and courteous. We were given a tour of the palace and amenities, as well as a brief tour of the Roman ruins that are literally in the well-lit, uncramped basement.

The professional photos featured here are not a misrepresentation or exaggeration. No need for photoshop or airbrushing. It is the REAL thing. I could spend a few hours just photographing the palace and grounds.

Let's talk about food for a moment. We ate lunch, dinner & breakfast at La Posta Vecchia. How lucky are we? The food was perfect and exquisite. The sea bass was very good. The buffet spread at breakfast was over-the-top with not only breakfast staples but cakes and huge pieces of chocolate, as well as Prosecco for mimosa's or otherwise.

Our room overlooked the beautiful gardens and front grounds, I'm sure that sea view would have been nice as well. The way that things are situated, it's almost hard to tell if there are even any other guests. The hotel was almost full and we felt like we had the place to ourselves most of the time.

I enjoyed a pedicure which I scheduled spontaneously. I was the only person in the spa at the time. The spa products are from the Pharmacy of Santa Maria Novella in Florence, a legendary place with a luxurious skin care and fragrance product line. The bathroom toiletries are from Ortigia - Sicily, another luxury and indulgent product line with which I am now obsessed.

This is the type of resort that one should spend at LEAST 2-3 days just soaking in the ambiance and atmosphere. I feel fortunate that we were exposed to such a special location and property. We would definitely like to return with more time to spare.

Room Tip: All rooms have names, not numbers and they all look different. The Park Room was on a front corner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KelekeWahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pellicano_Hotels, Direttore at La Posta Vecchia Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2015
Dear KelekeWahine,
Thank you for your detailed description of your stay at La Posta Vecchia!
While reading your words the feeling was like going through everything you have exceperienced, we are lucky to have these feelings every day, and the risk is given them for granted.

We are quite in the middle of everything, Rome city centre, Fiumicino and Civitavecchia, that makes us a very good escape from caos.
Nice the comparison of our House with Downton Abbey, our Staff is always ready to welcome each Guest outside the entrance door because the pourpose is to let them feel home since the very beginning.

All the staff of The Cesar restaurant was happy to read your comments, actually we are the lucky ones to have these feedbacks.

If you became obsessed by Ortigia courtesy line you should come back and try our new one from Maria Candida Gentile, a famous maitre parfumeur, who created a special one just for La Posta Vecchia. I’m sure you will have another obsession.

We look forward to welcoming you again maybe in a nice sea view room this time.


Marco Filippi
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed here just one night; we were making a connection in Fiumicino airport and decided we would try this instead of spending the night at the airport Hilton. We were very glad we had done it. The setting of the sea and the gardens is peaceful and beautiful. The hotel site was excavated by archeologists, and the ancient artifacts found are on display. Some of them have been left in situ. The staff were helpful in many ways. We came away resolved to stay longer another time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jtp4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pellicano_Hotels, Direttore at La Posta Vecchia Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Sir,
we apology to be back to you only now but it is always a real pleasure to read such important words about our property.
As you have underlined, the location of La Posta Vecchia Hotel is probably unique in his category: A renaissance house built upon the ruins of a Roman Villa of the II century B.C., one the sea and just few minutes driving from the Eternal City, Rome.
At la Posta Vecchia Hotel our Guests have the chance to spend their time relaxing to enjoy the enchantment of the history, the cuisine and the luxury. A unique place where to spend a couple of day before driving (just half a hour) to the Airport to come back to reality.
Gardens, Sea, Museum and Restaurant; we like to resume all this in just three simple words: La Posta Vecchia!
Many thanks for your time spent to share your experience with the TripAdvisor Travelers, we only wait the pleasure to welcome you back


Marco Filippi
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

The scent of this place remains with us long after we have left. Gardens dripping with jasmine and oranges and the hotel with its wonderful signature perfume. The location is stunning as it drops into the ocean and the service just lovely. We stopped by for a short drink and nibble after landing, on advice from a friend who had stayed here for a while. With a young baby we didn't book to stay longer as we thought perhaps it wouldn't be suitable, but sorely wish we had stayed. Cannot wait to go back and would recommend highly to anyone visiting Rome.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gttlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pellicano_Hotels, Direttore at La Posta Vecchia Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Guest,

it is my personal satisfaction to read this feedback. Thanks to decided to share your opinion on TripAdvisor.
What I more appreciated of all your pleasant and honest words is the attention you paid to the scent we have; the scent studied by an Italian Maître Perfumer exclusively for La Posta Vecchia Hotel.
We are all well aware that “details make the difference”, above all in Luxury Hotels; well, also Guests make an important difference for us, I mean, for the staff working here.
You could have noticed the museum, the story of the house, the cuisine or even the location but you decided to focus on a very important detail … our branded Scent.
The smell is one of the five senses and a particular smell may remind you to good or bad memories.
I am really glad to heard that the smell of La Posta Vecchia reminded you to a very good memory of a pleasant stay in Italy, in particular at La Posta Vecchia.
Many thanks for the time you spent writing your experience with us and don't miss the opportunity to visit us once again. Best regards

Marco Filippi
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palo Laziale
Terme di Stigliano
#1 of 1 in Canale Monterano
3.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Monti
Villa Spalletti Trivelli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Alle Tamerici
#2 of 5 in Ladispoli
3.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Rose Garden Palace
Rose Garden Palace
#79 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posta Vecchia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posta Vecchia Hotel

Property: La Posta Vecchia Hotel
Address: Palo Laziale, 00055 Palo Laziale, Ladispoli, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Ladispoli > Palo Laziale
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Palo Laziale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — La Posta Vecchia Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LA POSTA VECCHIA Hotel is a member of The Leading Hotel of the World. It was once the residence of Jean Paul Getty whose collection of antique furniture, tapestries and century old objects remain part of what is now a 19 room luxury hotel complete with every comfort and amenity. This 17th century jewel is one of the most prestigious hotels in Italy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your La Posta Vecchia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posta Vecchia Ladispoli
Hotel La Posta Vecchia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing