We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super trip our 3rd time there, that says it all!”
Review of Bay View Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay View Lodge
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Super trip our 3rd time there, that says it all!”
Reviewed 22 October 2012

This was the third time we have stayed at Bay View Lodge, and we will be going agian next year. The location is superb right on the beach. The chalets are well equiped and serviced daily. The restaurant that has opened there on the beach is fabulos. Well run with the extra little touchs that make it stand out from the others. Furthermore the French couple running it are truly professional and the food amazing, highly recomend.

All in all from the booking stage, Catharina, is so fantastic and helpful an abouslute gem, to the people at the resort we are truly happy.

I am passing the word on and hope to bring more people there.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    27
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
24
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vaalwater, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Truely unspoilt paradise in a remote undeveloped part of the world - Cannot get any better than this!!!! Every aspect perfect - from location, to hospitality, to value for money. Nothing else in this area even comes close!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bushwacker069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luanda
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Everyting was superb the cottage the restaurant the laid back music and atmosphere the Caparinhas the food and all lovely staff, etc........ feel like booking a flight today!

Room Tip: Number 8 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerhard v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2012

What a wonderful place to spend your holiday or even your honeymoon! My wife and I stayed at another lodge not far from Bay View Lodge, and the service there was terrible. We decided to look for another place to spend our honeymoon. The Bay View Lodge management went the extra mile from the moment we walked in. A bottle of champagne and a card to congratulate us waited for us in our room when we got there. There is a beautiful white beach that doesn’t feel commercialised. Amazing restaurant with exceptionally well prepared and well-presented food!! We will most definitely go there again!! Recommended for everyone!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frandrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maputo
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Not only is the location and the self catering houses a delight. The restaurant tops it all, we loved the french cuisine mixed with mozambican and asian elements. We will come back, for sure!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jutta N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Bay View Lodge provided excellent service from booking to check out...accurate info about place and activities was provided upfront, the shuttle service from the airport was on time and efficient, check in was seamless and we relaxed into the beautiful surroundings immediately.

Our room was very comfortable and spacious, the best part is the airconditioned bedroom with mosquito net around the bed. We didn't have to wear shoes...we were so close to the beach! Right on our doorstep was the most fabulous beach restaurant/bar (The Green Turtle)...we had so many delicious meals and the atmosphere is very friendly.

If you want quiet beautiful beaches...with delicious food and cocktails...and accomodation that is comfortable and private...this is the place to stay!

Room Tip: Lodges 4 and 5 are closest to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Shepstone, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Bayview Lodge is a must for a holiday destination for families with loads to do. Beautiful beaches, well run resort with a wonderful family atmosphere. We loved every second of our holiday and will definitely be going back. Its our home away from home. Thank you John, Di and Sharron for all your help.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inhambane Province hotels
10.0 mi away
Casa do Capitao
Casa do Capitao
#10 of 17 in Inhambane Province
58 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palm Grove Lodge
Palm Grove Lodge
#6 of 19 in Inhambane
22 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barra Beach Club
Barra Beach Club
#2 of 19 in Inhambane
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Guiquindo Lodge
Guiquindo Lodge
#40 of 108 in Inhambane Province
9 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vista Do Mar
Vista Do Mar
#5 of 19 in Inhambane
34 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sentidos Beach Retreat
Sentidos Beach Retreat
#1 of 1 in Inhambane
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay View Lodge

Property: Bay View Lodge
Address: Barra Road | Praia da Barra, 1300, Mozambique
Phone Number:
Region: Mozambique > Inhambane Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 108 Speciality Lodging in Inhambane Province
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay View Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bay View Lodge is situated on Barra beach (Praia da Barra) on the northeastern tip of Inhambane peninsula with a long, sandy beach in front and an estuary behind. All units are within 50 m of the beach, offering self-catering or catered (full or half board) accommodation. The area is famous for snorkeling and scuba diving, and world famous for diving with whale sharks and manta rays. Inhambane town is one of the oldest trading centres on the east African coast, with one of the largest number of dhows (local fishing boats)occuring in the area. Guests can arrive over land - NO 4x4 vehicle needed - or can fly in to the lodge, with daily flights between Johannesburg, South Africa and Inhambane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bay View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing