We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bay View Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Sentidos Beach Retreat(Praia da Barra)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barra Lodge(Inhambane Province)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa do Capitao(Inhambane Province)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Jeff's Palm Resort(Inhambane Province)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Bonito Bay(Inhambane Province)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
68 results
Traveller rating
35
29
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
29
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself cateringminute walkmosquito netgreat beachsharonbarraaccommodationmanagementlodgemozambiquefridgereefsanddiving
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 68 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Although we have been to Mozambique before, the accommodation at Bay View is a few notches up from our previous trips. Very comfortable (mozzie nets and aircon!), spacious living areas and right on the most fantastic beaches! The daily cleaning service afforded us more time to spend doing nothing. Chalets are well equipped to make self catering a pleasure. although there are many small eateries around. The Green Turtle that belongs to Bay View served amazing food, with a bit of a different twist. All this right on the beach. We will be back!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank gdevries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

What a wonderful resort. Eight days of bliss. Great chalet, great staff, great situation and excellent management. If a beach holiday is what one wants you couldn't find better. Really everything one could want and more. We will certainly be back for more of this perfection!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Bayview Lodge was the perfect accommodation for our fist holiday to Mozambique. Located in the Barra area, Bayview provided easy access to the beach, to water activities and to some lovely reasonably priced restaurants. Barra Reef Divers and Walk on Water (WOW) provided numerous water activities and they were located a few minutes walk from Bayview along the beach at a popular restaurant called Neptune's. The manager at Bayview was extremely helpful and always willing to answer our numerous questions. The accommodation was rustic and modern enough to suit our needs. You can buy fresh bread and produce from a lady that comes to the Lodge. Our room was equipped with aircon and a mosquito net but make sure you bring mosquito repellant. Kayaking through the mangroves is a must for the nature enthusiasts as well as a dhow trip to Porkos island. We also went snorkelling in a small reef and saw lots of seahorses! We went on an ocean safari and saw humpback whales and dolphins up close. So Bayview lodge was in the perfect location so that we could access these activities. My boyfriend and I had an amazing time at Bayview and will definitely go back one day!

Room Tip: The rooms are all very close to the beach and all have some kind of sea view.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dominique P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Our daughter was married nearby in Inhambane Province, and the bride and groom's families spent the week following the wedding at Bay View Lodge. The bride and groom had visited once before so they knew the property. What a terrific spot!

The location is excellent. It takes a bit of driving to get there, but it is worth every km. The property is right on the water, and all of the chalets are just a short walk from the beach. Recreational activities are plentiful on site or at the nearby resorts, but we just enjoyed the beach. The chalets are well situated so each has some privacy and many have water views. The chalets themselves are lovely -- well constructed, very comfortable, and nice outdoor space. We stayed in the large house, and there was ample room for all of us. The mosquito netting on the beds is both attractive and effective. The baths are reasonably spacious and adequate. We had one small plumbing problem, and the owner responded immediately. The chalets were very clean, and the housekeeping staff were helpful and pleasant.

From a self-catering standpoint, one needs to bring everything with you or plan to drive to Inhambane City to shop (45 min). Fresh fish, fruit, veggies, and bread are available almost daily from local residents who come to the property to sell. Their prices are higher than in town certainly but fair. Our chalet had two refrigerators and a large freezer. There was plenty of nice dishware, glassware, and cookware, but we could have used more (and sharper) knives for food preparation. A better can opener would have helped as well. Were I traveling by car, I would also have brought additional towels for the beach.

We had drinks twice and dessert once at the Green Turtle where the service was very pleasant. Under different circumstances (with fewer young children), we would definitely have enjoyed dinner there as well. The menu looked great.

One of our party had a tire problem on her SUV, and the owner fixed it for her right on site. The owners are friendly, very approachable, and eager to be helpful. This is an excellent property for couples, families, friends, and anyone wanting a relaxing vacation on the water. Even though we live 8000 miles away, I suspect we will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LudwellMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catharina W, Public Relations Manager at Bay View Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Thank you for the very positive review. Working on your comments re. a few kitchen items and hope you'll return soon to inspect the replacements :) Will also keep a few beach towels on hand for guests that fly-in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Bayview Lodge is the perfect place to stay in Barra. Much quieter and more relaxed than some of the nearby lodges with a great attention to detail. In the mornings the security guards bring the fishermen and villagers to your lodge selling fresh crayfish, prawns, calamari, bread and vegetables. Dianne and John are fantastic hosts (loaned us beach towels, recommended amazing day trips, etc) and made us feel very welcome. The Green Turtle next door was the best food in Barra (although slightly more expensive than anywhere else) and the Neptunes Beach Bar next to that is great to sit on hammocks sipping cold beers in the sun! Perfect for a relaxed holiday (especially out of season when you have the beach almost to yourself). Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews