We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pure Bliss - great chilled holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jeff's Palm Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Inhambane Province
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jeff's Palm Resort
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pure Bliss - great chilled holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Mates of mine have been going to Jeff's for years - really sorry it took me so long to go. Was so impressed even considered buying into a unit!! Friendly staff in a clean neat environment and a gold palm PADI rated dive school that made my wife and daughter's dive course huge fun. I am asthmatic so cannot dive but went snorkling at Coral Gardens and saw best fish ever. Mates saw Mantas at Manta reef. Barmen at restaurant are tops and food is really good. What makes this resort is Colin, the owner, who is hands on at all times. Everything just works!!

Room Tip: Front units have a great view - a little noisier though
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fingus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    11
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

I went for three days at the end of February, which is the off-season, and it was simply amazing.

Some other adjectives that apply: beautiful, relaxing, idyllic, simple.

The stay is a great value. The cabanas have a rustic feel, but felt clean, fresh, new.

Nina, Josh, Oscar, each person at the resort and the dive shop were kind and upbeat. They clearly love Mozambique, Jangamo, and the wonderful diving.

The diving. It was great, beautiful, and action-packed.

I highly recommend this place.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Brendan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Jangamo beach was absolutely buzzing as usual over the festive season, with a fantastic vibe and beautiful beach! We've been staying at Jeff's for about 8 years now and the accommodation is really starting to deteriorate. It's lovely staying in the rustic little cabanas but they're starting to fall apart a little. Other than that, best holiday ever, we've already booked for next December!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TanzM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

We were pleasantly surprised upon arriving at Jeff's Palm Resort at Jangamo Beach! We were 4 people (2 couples) but we were upgraded to a 4-bedroom Casa. Each room had an en-suite bathroom (shower & toilet), twin beds and mosquito net. The spacious open-plan kitchen & dining room had all the basics, including a freezer, and opened onto the covered verandah. The walls & roof aren't joined, but this added to the traditional feel of the thatched homes in Moz. The house and rooms were serviced daily. The only slip-up by management was that they did not warn us about 4x4 being a requirement! However, this is literally only for the last kilometer & the beach area - a normal raised vehicle will get you there fine. The bar & restaurant is a great place to eat & relax with other guests and the very friendly staff.

Without a doubt the highlight of our trip was diving at Jeff's Pro Dive Center. Johan & Mauritza who run Jeff's Pro Dive, were extremely friendly and funny and helpful! The service at the center was more than expected; upon arriving to kit up before a dive all your gear would be ready and waiting. We also found that their prices were the best (based on comparisons to dive centers in Barra, Tofo & Vilankulo).

Room Tip: The second & third beach-front Casa's (number 21 & 22) sit just above Jeff's Restaur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank minke k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmesbury, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

After being booked into Jangamo Beach Resort next door (also run by Jeff's), we were devastated. Jangamo Beach Resort is horrible - so run down and everything old and gross! Also very steep dune down to the beach - even steeper up again! So we complained and asked to be moved somewhere else or our money back! Jeff's management bent over backwards to arrange a stunning beachfront casa in Jeffs Resort, with an amazing view, set in amongst the palm trees. Its rustic but the setting and view makes up for it! Pillows not great, stove/oven not really functional, braai place very small. Otherwise we had a brilliant stay and would go back again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gotravel628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

Extremely long drive and 45 small villages from the border to this place where you have to reduce speed to 60 if you don;t want to be pulled off or get a fine, so is was a challenge to get there but was worth it!! Big time! The place is amazing, We enjoyed the ocean safari, the snorkeling, the diving( some of us ) :) with dolphins swimming around us. The stuff are very friendly and professional. The diving instructor Doris I think is wonderful with kids. The food at the restaurant was really good, the local shops are great. Be careful if are "blue bottles" jellyfish in the water - they stings really bad!! Some natural remedies are hot water, pee :) lemon, but better have some cortisone cream handy.

Only 4x4 of 4x2 vehicles can make it to the place, and also you have to reduce pressure in the tires at 1.8 at the last gas station, since last few km are of thick sand.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midrand, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

My lady and I spent a week at Jeff's and found the accommodation, setting, and service to be very good. Note, take your own pillows! The restaurant's food is great and we could either eat out or braai right on our door step under the stars. The shop is a few meters away and the long white beaches of this particular bay were at this time of year quiet and pleasant. The locals sell prawns and fresh fish daily and with a bit of negotiating and probably luck, were a good price and of good quality. However, travelling by road is a nightmare especially through Maputo. Avoid travelling through the city on a weekend. In an hour we had moved only 15km. Also DO YOUR UTMOST to obey the speed limits as the police will hold your drivers license ransom till you pay the full fine. Most will ask for bribes but if you have to pay every traffic official along the way it'll eat through your pocket. Also try shadowing another vehical as often as you can the as to try and avoid being pulled off at the road blocks. Also DO NOT TRAVEL AT NIGHT. It's VERY dangerous! Also with the weather playing up power goes out all the way from Inhambane through to Jeff's and the subsequent wind and surge postponed some dives for days. Big up to Johann and Nina for their friendly and informative service. Tofu is also worth a visit but drive slowly, there are some ramps on that road that will sent you airborne. All the best !

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Terence D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inhambane Province
0.0 mi away
Casa Rex Boutique Hotel by Sol Resorts
0.0 mi away
Dugong Beach Lodge
Dugong Beach Lodge
#4 of 7 in Vilanculos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa do Capitao
Casa do Capitao
#8 of 16 in Inhambane Province
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ulala Lodge
Ulala Lodge
#1 of 2 in Murrebue
5.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.0 mi away
Barra Beach Club
Barra Beach Club
#2 of 19 in Inhambane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort
Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Bazaruto Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jeff's Palm Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jeff's Palm Resort

Property: Jeff's Palm Resort
Address: Praia de Jangamo, 0000, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Inhambane Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Inhambane Province
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Inhambane Province
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Praia de Jangamo in stunning Southern Mozambique, just 30 minutes drive south from Inhambane, Jeff’s Palm Resort offers world class diving in an unforgettable location. Nestled amongst the palm tress, all of our accommodation is sure to delight and make you feel at home during your stay at Jeff’s Palm Resort, whilst our PADI 5* Gold Palm dive centre runs dive trips and ocean safaris every day, is stocked with first class equipment and boats and offers all PADI courses up to Instructor.We have a fully stocked supermarket on site, or if you fancy some local specialities, try the food at Rosa's Portuguese Restaurant and pool deck, where you can while away the hours with a cold drink and an unbeatable view of Jangamo bay.You can rest assured that our friendly and helpful staff will ensure your experience of majestic Mozambique is unforgettable. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jeff`s Palm Hotel Inhambane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing