We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dunes de Dovela eco-lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just perfect”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Is not possible to add anything up, just perfect any little detail. The place is in an amazing location, the host give make you feel like you own the place and the food is somthing you cannot explain in words.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jorge G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
75
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mbabane, Swaziland
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Still thinking of the lovely meals we had during our stay. Fresh fish , straight from the sea.
it was a small paradise , with lovely hosts, wonderful sounds from the sea, the wind and the animals.
definitely a place I would recommend to anyone who is in the neigbourhood, needs a break and loves good food.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White River, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We arrived in the dark after a 15 hour drive! There are just a few places that could put a smile on your face (more like grinning ear to ear!) after such a drive, but Dunes de Dovela does just that!! It is the most stunning destination set high up in the dunes with breathtaking views out across the Indian Ocean - even from the showers and the WCs!! Thomas and Alex are the most wonderful hosts, passionate about their little corner of paradise!! And the FOOD...OMG!!! Aubergine terrines and rock lobsters in a velvety creamy sauce and a great wine list to match!! Could not recommend Dunes de Dovela more highly!!! Will be back there in a flash!!

Room Tip: All rooms have jaw dropping views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paddy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

My wife and I spent two days, too short a time, of wondrous bliss at the Dunes de Dovela.
It is sort of hard to believe them and I, for one, was a bit skeptical when reading, here on TA, the ecstatic comments of previous guests.
They are true, all of them. This place is so unexpected, surprising to be awe inspiring.
A lodge is a lodge, many of them reflect their owners’ personality and often the love they have for their site, their job, their housing washes over the visitor and charmingly so.
But the Dunes are different from all I have seen. You reach them at the end of a seven mile narrow trail hand carved in the bush and there you find beauty and perfection.
On the ridge of the ocean, high over the dunes, your eyes soak up the never ending sight of unspoiled nature then the accommodations: three bungalows and four tents, hidden in the shrubs, each one invisible from the others are astonishing for their beauty and the almost maniacal quest for perfection apparent in every single minute detail.
The lounge is catered by an amazing kitchen area serving food up to par to everything else while Thomas and Alexandra will tell you the incredible story of how the place was built hiring the help of a whole village spread far away along the shores of the inland lake, hidden behind the dunes and 20 miles long.Go visit it, Alexandra will Cicerone and introduce you.
If you are reading these lines and have the chance to pass by don’t miss the Dunes De Dovela.
As a guest said , oh so rightly, “there are travel experiences which you remember and then there are those that will stay with you forever” I cannot but agree. If you have a chance to come to Dovela do it. You’ll never regret it, you’ll never forget it!

Room Tip: The tents are great to have a feel to be alone in the world face to the wild immensity. The bungalo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sergio G R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
98 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

This Eco lodge charged more than any other place we stayed, but on reflection, the cost of establishing the lodge and providing memories reflect what you pay.

We were upgraded to a bungalow that had stunning views across the dunes and sea - it's not a close to the water as somewhere like Blue Footprints an hour up the road, but here you feel like you're in the middle of nowhere and it's just you in the entire place.

Lunch, breakfast and dinner was provided and along the lines of what you should expect in a five star hotel, but locally sourced and very fresh.

We really enjoyed the sunset walk on the dunes with sundowners and the owner Tomas helped us with some star gazing - there is such a low level of light pollution here that the stars are so bright.

The staff are eager to please and it's good to see that they are training local staff to progress their hospitality and English skills.

The place looks like something you'd get in the Maldives, but rather than being on a flat beach, you're in amongst some wild sand dunes and forest. This place must have needed a vision to pull it all together - and it really works.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcusWillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2013

There are travel experiences which you remember and then there are those that will stay with you forever. The latter applies to Dunes de Dovela. Everything about this place is special from the sunset walks, the local village, the location, the staff and the food....oh the food is the best! We found the tents to be really good value.

We have travelled to various places in Africa and this is a truly authentic experience.

Thankyou Alex and Thomas for a wonderful time.

Shona and Matt

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eaglem-83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2013

many people dream of creating a corner of paradise together with a local community, few follow through their principles and dreams all the way. Dunes de Dovela is a very special place that has achieved something rare and beautiful. If you are looking for spectacular nature, peace, amazing food (Veronica's soup was the best soup i have ever tasted!) lovely people and the feeling that you have discovered something magical, then go and find this lodge. Beware though - after a couple of days of wandering the miles of dunes and deserted beach, watching dolphins and whales leap from the sea, you may decide never to come back.

Room Tip: the tents have amazing open air toilets, fabulous view but hot in summer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inhambane Province
0.0 mi away
Dugong Beach Lodge
Dugong Beach Lodge
#4 of 7 in Vilanculos
62 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Rex Boutique Hotel by Sol Resorts
0.0 mi away
Polana Serena Hotel
Polana Serena Hotel
#1 of 22 in Maputo
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Casa Cabana Beach
Casa Cabana Beach
#2 of 7 in Vilanculos
83 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort
Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Bazaruto Island
434 reviews
0.0 mi away
Massinga Beach Lodge
Massinga Beach Lodge
#1 of 2 in Massinga
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunes de Dovela eco-lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes de Dovela eco-lodge

Property: Dunes de Dovela eco-lodge
Address: Rua de Manhame | Parcela 198, 26, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Inhambane Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 110 Speciality Lodging in Inhambane Province
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our eco-lodge is situated in a preserved area of Mozambique. It results from a 4 years project involving the local community. "Dunes de Dovela" proposes either sea view en-suite bungalows or furnished tents. Restaurant, bar and esplanade also overlook the sea. Environment discovery is the focal point of the activities and a personalized accompaniment leads people to really enjoy the beauty and the energy from the place. Dunes de Dovela is certified Fair Trade Tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dunes de Dovela eco-lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing