We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome trip to Bonito Bay - Mozam”
Review of Bonito Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bonito Bay
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Inhambane Province
Reviewed 29 May 2013

What an awesome place, arrived there on the Saturday evening around 18:30pm, to be welcomed by enthusiastic guards who guided us to our unit and unpacked our luggage. the next 6 days seems much of a blur, we received the most awesome service from all staff with Dwayne really going out of his way to make us feel at home. the accommodation was stunning, with an awesome bar and restaurant to back it up. Excellent service all round and will be definitely going back in the near future. I will take my entire family on this trip as I have now observed that this is really a family type destination.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
There are newer reviews for Bonito Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2013

We had a a great time at Bonito Bay, we arrived without any reservations because it was low season. On our arrival we were greeted in a very helpful and friendly manner. The accommodation was great with clean linen and supplied bath towels. We also went scuba diving. Galaxy Scuba is conveniently situated on the premises. What an experience, the reefs are very healthy with lots of different sea life, big and small. Our favorite dive was on the last day at The Caves, absolutely stunning! Make sure you ask Wolf (owner of Galaxy Scuba) about his past diving experiences, he makes for some interesting stories. They do double tank dives, its the best because you get treated with yummy snacks from Tina while waiting on the boat. This little paradise spot is highly recommended...

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicciBoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We spent nine days at bonito bay over Xmas and new year (2012/13) and enjoyed our time there. The beach is simply stunning - long, wide, and feels deserted no matter how many other people you might encounter. Our en-suite bungalow was spacious and comfortable. The restaurant at bonito bay serves a pretty minimal menu, which is very meat oriented - vegetarians, be warned! - but the food is decent quality and the service always cheerful. The team went out of their way to make us comfortable, e.g., by arranging for us to have a little bar fridge in our room and gifting the vegetarian amongst us with some fruit. The resort has a lovely big, deep swimming pool - which is usually crowded precisely because it is so lovely - in peak season that means you'll be dodging loads of kids while you get refreshed, but we guess it is much quieter at non-Xmas times of the year. The village of Murrongulo is charming - in peak season you can buy fresh baked bread rolls from street side bakeries, and you can easily buy fish from spear fishermen straight off the beach. If you go to bonito bay, be warned that the dive centre there sells 'snorkeling' trips to sites which are really not that great for snorkelling and much better suited for diving. We got dropped in the middle of the ocean, our guide didn't guide us, and once we found the actual reef is was 6m down, so from the surface its pretty impossible to enjoy the underwater sights. If you're keen to snorkel, don't bother spending your cash on the guided trip, just swim out to the absolutely stunning reef about 500m from shore a little way south along the beach from the resort. The drive from maputo to bonito bay took us around 8 hours - but it was peak season and traffic out of maputo was pretty busy. Final note - they don't have credit card facilities, so if you haven't brought enough cash along, paying up at the end of your stay can be a challenge!

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MiQ DdP x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

This place is simply paradise! We cannot wait to get back next year!

We were a group of 8 people from the UK travelling from Kruger National Park for some beach time - and we were not disappointed. Given the time of year, the resort was relatively quiet, so our adult son and his friend each had a one bedroom casa close to the bar and restaurant to themselves. The rest of us (our two teenage daughters and their two friends) stayed in the 5 bedroom casa with magnificent sea views.Our bedroom had an en suite. Accommodation here is very spacious, clean and comfortable and is serviced daily. Mosquito nets on all beds - but we never saw a single mosquito as they spray daily. It is a self catering unit which is fully equipped with all utensils and we enjoyed several braais on our veranda overlooking the sea.

We arrived quite late - at about 10pm and we were starving! The enormously energetic and helpful Manager, Dwayne, had kept the kitchen open especially for us. Crayfish, catch of the day, prawns - just delicious! We had lunch at the restaurant every day, which was really tasty. Dwayne even went out and bought prawns and crayfish on our behalf which we had the option of preparing ourselves or letting the chef do it for us. The bar is well stocked and the staff were all friendly and efficient.

During the day we relaxed by the stunning pool area... reading in the hammock, played volley ball, darts or snooker or went boogie boarding. Unfortunately the sea was too rough to launch for a deep sea fishing trip or even fishing from the beach which Dwayne had been trying to arrange - but we will save that for next time! The kids loved every minute. When the weather improved we went diving with Scuba Galaxy: Wolf and Tina are an excellent team who did everything possible to assist our 3 new divers in qualifying. Unfortunately there had been a lot of turbulence so the viz was not great - but we look forward to returning next year for more diving as we have seen the photos of how excellent it can be.

It really is a wild and remote stunning location and we cannot wait to go back.

Room Tip: If a bigger group choose the 4 bedroom Casa with sea views.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shaka1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Bonito Bay is an excellent place, fine accomodation, great food and above all the service and hospitality. Anything you need ? Just only think of it and the enthousiastic manager Dwayne will already go for it. There is nothing else to do in Morrongulo beside a few restaurants, but that is the charm. Buy your fish on the beach, your bread in the village,or go for Massinga on the beautiful sand road for twenty minutes.
Do not forget to pay attention to the diver center where Wolf and his wife offer some magic dive and snorkel tours.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank Dick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

If you're looking for a beautiful location, simple but super-sweet accommodation and the friendliest and most helpful service in Mozambique, this has to be the place!

We had escaped from an accommodation disaster near Vilanculos, and so arrived a day early. The casita that we had booked was not available for that night, but the friendly receptionist offered us a casa at the cheaper rate of the casita. What a wonderful welcome!

Our little casa was just perfect, with beautiful views across the bay from the upstairs bedroom and balcony. It was well equipped and maintained, and serviced every day. The grounds are meticulously maintained, with little gazebo's dotting the cliff which overlooks the bay.

Resort facilities include a lovely swimming pool, bar area (with pool table, darts and other drinking paraphernalia) and restaurant. Food and beverage prices are very reasonable, and food in general seems to be good. Unfortunately the king prawns that I had been dying to have were overcooked, but the rest of our stay was so perfect that it hardly mattered.

The ace of this resort must be the staff - from the very energetic and hands-on manager (pity I can't recall his name now) to the receptionist, guards and the cleaning ladies.

Our reason for staying here in the first place was to go diving with Scuba Galaxy, the on-site dive shop. Unfortunately heavy winds kept us out of the water. But judging by the way the resort is run, I feel confident that the diving matches the general high standards here.

This little gem exceeded my expectations in every respect. If I ever had the opportunity, I would go back in a heart beat!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DiveDiva21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mayta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inhambane Province hotels
43.9 mi away
Casa do Capitao
Casa do Capitao
#9 of 18 in Inhambane Province
60 reviews
7.9 mi away
Massinga Beach Lodge
Massinga Beach Lodge
#1 of 2 in Massinga
158 reviews
0.2 mi away
Morrungulo Beach Lodge
Morrungulo Beach Lodge
#2 of 2 in Massinga
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
Travessia Beach Lodge
Travessia Beach Lodge
#1 of 3 in Morrumbene
46 reviews
38.3 mi away
Barra Beach Club
Barra Beach Club
#2 of 21 in Inhambane
76 reviews
43.7 mi away
Mozambeat Motel
Mozambeat Motel
#1 of 14 in Tofo
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonito Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonito Bay

Address: Morrungulo Beach | Massinga, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Inhambane Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Inhambane Province
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing