We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Green Turtle

The Green Turtle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$200
Cuisines: French, Seafood, Contemporary, International, European, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Green Turtle pub/restaurant is directly ON the beach and operated by Joelle and Francois, a French husband and wife team. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served daily, bringing European flair to beach-side eating. Kitchen close 8:00pm every evening Bar close 9:00pm every evening
Maputo
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A very pleasant surprise”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

You might have some trouble finding this place, but for those who know where to look...this just might be the best place to eat in Mozambique. It is run by the same French couple who used to run a resto up in Ilha de Mocambique. It depends, of course, what you like but, if, like me, you enjoy fresh seafood prepared in a simple, yet original way, then this is the place. I had fresh tuna, cooked to perfection along with fragrant rice. A very memorable experience. Afterwards you can take a dip from one of the most beautiful beaches as well.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jinty J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    27
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“An Oasis in this area”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We visited this restaurant for lunch a number of times whilst on holiday in July 2014.

It was a recommendation from Liz from Blue Footprints where we were staying (which is amazing by the way)

The restaurant truly is an oasis in this area as whilst there are a few restaurants they are all quite limited with average food.
It is run by a French couple who are great hosts also.

Upon seating you are greeted with bread and piri piri sauce and some really nice dried curried coconut.
The menu is all written up on chalk boards in the bar area which change daily and contains vast amounts of fresh fish / shellfish cooked in many different ways. The owners are happy to talk you through any item and temp your palate.
The items we had were, Clams, Crayfish Burger, Crab Risotto, Prawns, Curry which were all cooked beautifully with plenty of flavour

The service is very good and the local staff appear to have been trained very well in the traditional French restaurant style as they attend to your every need.
On one occasion our waitress noticed we were struggling with a troublesome wasp and quickly sourced and lit a coconut which contained some kind of hemp / straw which sorted the problem quickly.

The drinks are also great with a good selection of SA Wine and some awesome, if not strong cocktails. The best of which was the Coconut ice-cream with Rum.

If I ever pursue my dream and buy a restaurant one day it will feel like this 

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandton South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

As one of the 1st people to highly recommend this venue and taking numerous clients to such, tonight I was most annoyed.. Arriving at 6.20 for a booking at 6.00 pm we were told to hurry up and order as we were late and to top it all we had 2 extra in the party - not well received. Yes the food is great and there is no comparison in the area but the attitude and escalated prices leave a lot to be desired.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jonosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Deserves all the accolades given”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

What an unexpected treat to find such a great restaurant right on the beach in Barra. The items on the menu were all so tempting that it was hard to make a choice. Luckily, as we were 4, we were able to taste quite a few of the dishes on offer. From the starters to the mains to the desserts, everything was delicious, and prepared to perfection. The french owners make a point of using fresh, local produce, and understand what excellent cuisine is all about. We were staying in Tofo, so a taxi ride was organised for us, and we were sorry to only able to make the trip once to this excellent restaurant. Higly recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DanielleEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cute beach restaurant”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed dinner at the Green Turtle last night. The Tofo/Barra area was very quiet at this time of year and we were the only people dining. Therefore service was excellent and our meals came out quickly. Our starters, the crab cakes and calamari, were beautifully presented and very tasty. Our main meals, the crab curry and prawn curry, were nice but lacked the spicyness and flavor we were hoping for. Would return if staying in the area again, as there is a huge menu to choose from. Had to pay cash as no credit card payment available.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gemzylidz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Green Turtle also viewed

Tofo, Inhambane Province
Inhambane, Inhambane Province
 
Tofo, Inhambane Province
Inhambane, Inhambane Province
 

Been to The Green Turtle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing