We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just as it should be.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inhambane Province
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bamboozi Beach Lodge
Reviewed 6 May 2013

A little wild, we had a snake visit the balcony a couple of times, but very comfortable, a good mix if for those who're up for that.

The bar could get another CD to loop from time to time, but the atmosphere is such that we ended up meeting many great people when we wanted to and having a private drink overlooking the sea the rest of the time.

Also, the location is amazing. Take public transport with the locals, and visit the town for a day, it's quite special too!

Room Tip: Couple's room above the bar is less rustic bathroom-wise and has a great view. Might be that the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Had3s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarraResorts, Manager at Bamboozi Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Bamboozi is marketed as a backpackers lodge and situated in a very natural environment. We do have spontaneous uninvited creatures from the surrounding dune forest visit from time to time and this certainly adds to the experience of staying at such a place. We will be sure to remind our bar staff to shuffle the music more regularly for those guests enjoying the views and ambience of the bar / restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2013

This was the first place we stayed in Mozambique, before we had got used to the cold water showers, mosquito attacks, unreliable electricity, etc. We also had a storm on the night we arrived. Because of the gaps all over the walls, in the floors and ceilings, mosquitoes and other creatures have unrestricted access, so the nets are very important. Always take mozzie killer as well as repellent for your body. Don't expect to get a hot shower (cos you probably won't get one). The broken pool with stagnant water probably encouraged the mosquitoes.... The bar serves rather mediocre pizzas... but the BEACH!!! The beach is amazing, fantastic... the sea is warm (if rather dangerous... the current is very strong). You can walk to the market and to some local bars... somewhere to stay away from the world... among coconut palms... why not? Go there...

Room Tip: Take all precautions to protect yourself from insects. Look out for the current on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julietyjuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I love the location of this bar overlooking the sea from the height of the dunes. Food was fine and the service was friendly and quick. It is nice to sit there, relax with a book and from time to time watch the people pass you by on the beach below. Burgers are great here and about one of the only places in Tofo which serves chips.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarraResorts, Manager at Bamboozi Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

Thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed the views complimented by the friendly staff and the burger & chips. We have an outstanding setting and am pleased you were able to enjoy the experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

BEDBUGS. I woke up crying every night for the three nights that I stayed here, bites covering my legs and arms, and my boyfriend as well. The mosquito net had many holes. A rat lived in the ceiling of our hut. I understand that there is a certain amount of natural interaction here - but attention to cleanliness and simple preventative measures could help with rodents. The internet worked sometimes, the power worked sometimes, there was no drinking water unless you wanted to buy bottled water.

It is a shame - they've got prime beachfront property and ample space that is being ignored. When we couldn't take it anymore, we easily found cleaner, cheaper, and bug free accommodation elsewhere.

On the bright side - they do have an excellent view of the beach to look at while you are itching your bites.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emma e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarraResorts, Manager at Bamboozi Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

This was most unfortunate as the hygiene of the accommodation is of utmost importance. Rodents are common in the dune forest and they can and do sometimes slip into the chalets unannounced as was your experience.
The borehole water is of a poor quality being so close to the ocean and we do not encourage drinking it. There is no water laid on from the town thus we are only able to offer bottled drinking water.
The lodge does operate on a generator and does not run 24/7 and this can at times be a little inconvenient.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We got devoured. Bites everywhere. My girlfriend woke up in tears it was so bad.

And its insanely expensive for this run down neglected establishment. Plenty of competition in this town. You can easily find better accommodation and better prices.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarraResorts, Manager at Bamboozi Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2013

Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor. We were devastated to hear of your experience and have taken immediate preventative action to ensure that this does not occur again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Been to this bar so many times and never tire of the view. Had perfect weather and can see for beautiful white beached that stretch for miles with crystal clear waters. The weather vane is a good laugh and the staff are very helpful, just December time, they run out of things, but their pizza was good this year!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarraResorts, Manager at Bamboozi Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2013

Thank you for your feedback on tripadvisor. Every review that we receive is appreciated. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the pizza and views. I think that we are in agreement that Bamboozi has an incredible view.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

Considering that Mozambique is a very expensive country in relation to its touristic facilities, I'd say that Bamboozi can be good if you're lucky. We've stayed in two different rooms there: one was awful and the other one was ok. And both of them were "ocean views" rooms, so they don't have any pattern among their rooms.
This said, if you're lucky to have a good room, spacious, with a great terrace and ocean view:
_the shower isn't good: their water is brought by trucks and is brown; no problem for your health but your clothes will remember that (especially your swimming suits)
_the water pressure isn't constant, so you'll be in the middle of the shower and suddenly water will disappear or get too cold or too hot. We decided to use a bucket to help us
_the place is clean, although is not well maintained
_their restaurant is good, but don't serve mozambican food. also, breakfast is more expensive than any other place (and worst). Go to Fatima's or Tofo Scuba for breakfast.
_their service is among the slowest one I've seen in my life (this is common in Mozambique, but there's amazingly slow)
_we've stayed there 6 days and in three times they made mistakes with our food. They pay no attention at all
All this said, Tofo beach is a nice place, great beach with more options to eat and stay than other places in Mozambican coast. I'll definitely come back to Tofo, but not to Bamboozi - there are other good options of accommodation in Tofo, although many of them aren't available to book at internet.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the #1 seaview chalet. The view is amazing. Also, check your room before you enter it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alalas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarraResorts, Manager at Bamboozi Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2013

We consider, and review every piece of feedback that we get and appreciate the review that you have posted. Explaining a few areas of your concern is important however, without sounding defensive in any way. We have had some issues with water supply over the last few months as the area has had severe lack of rain, for this we humbly apologise and with the most recent rains in Mozambique, we are sure that the water supply will be back to normal. The service you received will be investigated as a matter of priority and this can be resolved. Our restaurant, which we usually receive many compliments about, will be investigated too. We hope that for certain you will be back again and will take note of the changes implemented and improvements made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inhambane Province hotels
0.0 mi away
Baobab Beach Backpackers
Baobab Beach Backpackers
#4 of 25 in Vilanculos
194 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Beach Village
The Beach Village
#13 of 25 in Vilanculos
31 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mozambeat Motel
Mozambeat Motel
#1 of 15 in Tofo
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Zombie Cucumber
Zombie Cucumber
#8 of 25 in Vilanculos
96 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Barry Lodge
Casa Barry Lodge
#3 of 15 in Tofo
177 reviews
0.0 mi away
Barra Beach Club
Barra Beach Club
#2 of 21 in Inhambane
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamboozi Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboozi Beach Lodge

Address: 101 Coconut Drive | Praia de Tofo, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Inhambane Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 112 Speciality Lodging in Inhambane Province
Price Range: £11 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bamboozi Beach Lodge is hidden in the center of a coconut grove next to a stretch of a untouched beach and surrounded by rural villages; this eco-friendly backpackers/beach lodge is built entirely from natural materials. Endless summer days can be spent in the cool Indian Ocean. When it is time to take a sun or sea break lay claim to a hammock and just relax. Bamboozi Beach Lodge style nights include untamed parties, but those who would rather sit on a balcony and watch the moonrise while counting fireflies and shooting stars, can do just that. Bamboozi Beach Lodge provides mozzie nets and linen. Camping amongst palms, a guest kitchen, braai areas and hot water showers. RESTAURANT & BAR. The Bamboozi Restaurant & Bar is situated on top of the dunes with spectacular views of the ocean and coastline. The Restaurant opens for breakfast and closes when the last guest leaves the Bar. There is an a-la-carte menu offering an array of dishes from fresh seafood platters made on request and delectable deserts. Daily specials are served! Enjoy a cold beer or a cocktail on the deck while watching beginner surfers finding their balance! It is also a great whale watching spot during August & September. Bamboozi has his own on site PADI dive resort center run by professional staff of Liquid Adventures Diving, offering snorkel safaris (dive with the largest fish in the ocean; the whaleshark), fundives with full rental of equipment and courses of all levels available. Our area is fast becoming famous for the resident Mantas, Whale sharks, Dolphins, Turtles and Humpback whales. LIVE THE DREAM!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bamboozi Beach Hotel Inhambane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing