We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fit for purpose”
Review of Barra Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Inhambane Province
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Barra Lodge
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Inhambane Province
Reviewed 6 June 2013

It is what it is, and if you accept that about it, and allow the beautiful blue water and stretch of beach take over your senses, you will enjoy it. Staff friendly and helpful, though it is a bordering on 'too' rustic. Bathrooms could do with an upgrade. Doesn't take a lot of money to provide a decent shower head, does it?

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lf2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarraResorts, Public Relations Manager at Barra Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2013

We are pleased to note that you enjoyed the wide open beaches and beautiful ocean. Maintenance is an on-going process at the lodge and your points are noted and will be addressed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2013

We went to Barra Lodge for a work incentive trip. Everything was truly special. Accommodation was basic but clean and hot water was always available. Food was fabulous especially the seafood Buffett. The activities are inexpensive and the trip out to Pansy Island on the catamaran was a highlight for me.
The beach bar was heaps of fun, pool was clean and the beaches were great. Happily go back there for a relaxed, do nothing type of holiday!

Room Tip: If you don't party all night long, choose the casitas that are furthest away from the beach bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank candyandbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarraResorts, Public Relations Manager at Barra Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Its great to hear you enjoyed your stay at Barra Lodge. This time of year can be especially good and the warm weather very inviting. We look forward to seeing you back at Barra some time soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Run down, tatty and uncared for establishment. Unkempt gardens and dirty pool. We stayed in a "luxury chalet" overlooking the ocean. The chalet was OK with a nice verandah but as soon as the sun rises, there is no where to hide and verandah is useless. Curtains nearly fit the windows and made from overall material and coming off the hooks and rails. Awful mozzy nets trailing all over the floor and very difficult to close and impossible to escape from during the night. Also coming off the tracks and tons of extra runners get jammed up. Most of the time there was no water. Aircon is very noisy. Building works going on all day in the chalet next door. Internet is dodgy. Entertainment is awful. Dinner very disappointing. The shop had hardly anything in it. Loads of "beach boys" selling stuff. Went to Flamingo Bay to have a look. Also very uncared for. Altogether very expensive and disappointing experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank metromama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarraResorts, Manager at Barra Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

It is unfortunate that your experience never met your expectations. Lodge management strives to meet the demands of even the most demanding and critical guests at all times. Your review and comments are noted and will be forwarded to all the relevant persons at the lodge for their attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

24 of us (5 families) have just returned from a week at Barra Lodge. 3 families stayed in the Fishermen's cottages and 2 families stayed in the Beach Chalets. Due to the other negative comments on the Fishermens cottages, we opted for the much more expensive beach chalets. The beach chalets were great, position great, nice and new, aircon etc - but so too where the fishermens cottages. Given what we paid, I would definitely book the cottages if I went again - as there really is a large difference in price.

What can I say about Barra?

The staff were excellent. The food was excellent - including the breakfast - cannot fault the food at any time. The sea was just amazing - really warm and the waves are just the right size to keep everyone happy. Big enough to boogie board and body surf, but not too strong to wash the littlies away. There were some blue bottles around and jelly fish and we did have a few stings.
The activities on the main are excellent. The catamaran is an absolute hit out to Pansy Island although hardly any shells left. You will find more when they take you snorkelling.

The horse riding on the beach was a favourite with one of my girls. The quad bike ride also got a thumbs up. We didnt get time to go kayaking unfortunately. Just disappointed with the snorkelling trip - not very much to see on the nearby reef! Also a pity that the nearby resorts cant keep their sections of beach clean!

A negative - too many touts on the beach! You literally cant read a book or fall asleep as they come along all the time.

Also, it takes a really long time to get there!!!! Think we will fly in next time!

Room Tip: A/c in Room 43 can get very noisy, but if you turn it off during the day, while you are on the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donnalee66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarraResorts, Manager at Barra Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

It is always great to enjoy a holiday with a group of friends and family and we are so pleased that Barra Lodge met your expectations. The staff do strive to give of their best and this message will definitely be passed on for everyone to read. Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to Barra Lodge again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Our trip to Barra was amazing. 16 of us drove up from johannesburg for our wedding. We had booked 4 self catering chalets but on arrival we received welcome drinks and 5 chalets and us, as the bridal couple received a complimentary Casita. It was a welcome surprise. The staff are friendly the food is great and Jani is a major asset to the Lodge. Our wedding was picture perfect. The cake Jani made looked exactly like the picture I had sent her and tasted yummy.Our friends and family can't stop talking about our wonderful trip. Thank you Barra and Jani for making our dream of a beach wedding a reality.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarraResorts, Manager at Barra Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

It is great to hear that you had such an enjoyable experience at Barra. The food & beverage department enjoy catering to parties such as yours and derive great satisfaction from your positive feedback. We hope to see you back at Barra sometime soon in order for you to enjoy more at this exciting beach destination.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Although we did not stay at Barra lodge we went there daily as day visitors and ended up doing seven of the excursions offered by the activity centre of the lodge. I've just once again realised how dependent companies, resorts, in fact any business is on the way it's staff treats their clients/guests/customers! Zeca, at front desk was always willing, eager and able to attend to our every need! Thanks Zeca! Rudi at the diving centre, thanks, you made us feel safe as you certainly know what you're doing and clearly like coming to your "office" every day! Joa, you've impressed us most! You're a great brand ambassador for Barra! We thoroughly enjoyed our quad bike trip to Tofo with you as our guide, you managed the trip, the experience, the challenges, various view points and sharing of some interesting facts in an excellent way! No Africa time for you! We started our trip on time and were back in time for your next group - well done!!! Barra Lodge definitely filled a much needed gap in our Mozambique visit through their activity centre! We had less of a positive experience on the Pansy Island cruise (which we will not recommend, especially at the price) However, when we discussed it with Willem du Toit, GM, he immediately took action and offered an alternative to rectify the unpleasant experience! Thanks Willem!

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Christelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarraResorts, Manager at Barra Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

We are pleased you had such a wonderful time while enjoying the Barra experience. There is always so much to see and do in a new holiday location and we strive to complete this experience. The staff mentioned will certainly be contacted and your thanks passed on to them. We hope to see you again when next you pass through Inhambane.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Barra Lodge is the flagship of Barra Resorts, and has been around for quite a long time. During this time, the lodge has steadily deteriorated in appearance, and even though you probably don't expect lodges in Mozambique to have the same sheen as those in places like Mauritius, Barra does fall somewhat short when it comes to its overall condition.

First, the good:
During our visit, we stayed in one of the three Beach Chalets. Air-conditioned, with direct access to the beach, these chalets are NOT self-catering (beyond tea and coffee, though a small bar fridge is provided). The chalet was compact but comfortable, and served as a good base for our little family (two parents and two kids). The kids had their own bedroom with bunk beds, but shared the general living space and bathroom with us. The unit was perfectly clean and comfortable, so no complaints there. Also, we did our SCUBA diving through the operator at the lodge, and found them to be simply exceptional, even though the diving itself wasn't always what we had expected. Finally, we found the staff at the lodge to be helpful, respectful and fast.

On the downside:
Barra Lodge pretends to be a family lodge, akin to those found on tropical islands. Unfortunately there is very little for young children to do, beyond play on the beach. There are no jungle gyms or trampolines or even a kids' play room with suitable DVDs to watch; and even though they advertised babysitting services, the lodge wasn't able to supply any when we wanted to go diving. So if you have young kids, make sure you take enough games and books, etc. with!

Also, the general state of the place was disappointing. The swimming pool was quite dirty, and the area around the pool was particularly run down. The food was okay in the evenings, but breakfast was to be avoided at all costs! Basic at best...

Other things that bugged us: The beach is very wide in front of the Lodge, which means quite a long walk if you want to go for a swim. This isn't a problem, but sadly the lodge has no umbrellas or beach chairs available, except at the beach bar which is quite far from the water. Also, there isn't any bar service on the beach, which seems like an oversight considering the type of place this wants to be.

The biggest complaint, however, is that the lodge does a very good job of masking Mozambique. The token market inside the lodge area hardly does justice to this vibrant and richly cultured country, and we relied on 3rd party suppliers, such as Liquid Adventures, to help us get out and enjoy more of the country and water in the area.

In the days prior to our arrival at Barra Lodge, we had stayed in a smaller establishment in Tofo, and really enjoyed the vibrant little town too. If you want to experience Mozambique, Barra Lodge is simply not an option. However, if you want nice warm water to swim in, a clean place to rest your head and an awesome dive operator to dive with, we reckon Barra Lodge will be fine for you.

Overall the problems at the lodge can be addressed quite easily. A play area for young kids won't cost much, and extending the beach bar to cater for people on the beach shouldn't be too much of a hassle either. But as things stand right now, I'm afraid we won't be back.

Room Tip: The Beach Front Chalets are expensive, especially since you don't have the option of going self...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WallasBallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarraResorts, Manager at Barra Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2013

Thank you for your review of Barra Lodge and I am sorry it was not all to your expectations. We strive to offer service levels to suit all types of visitors and will certainly look into improvements in the ares you felt were failing. Setting of service standards is an on going process and reviews such as yours assist us in improving all areas of our guest experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inhambane Province hotels
10.0 mi away
Casa do Capitao
Casa do Capitao
#10 of 19 in Inhambane Province
60 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barra Beach Club
Barra Beach Club
#2 of 21 in Inhambane
76 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sentidos Beach Retreat
Sentidos Beach Retreat
#1 of 1 in Praia da Barra
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Mozambeat Motel
Mozambeat Motel
#1 of 15 in Tofo
213 reviews
4.6 mi away
Casa na Praia Tofo
Casa na Praia Tofo
#2 of 10 in Tofo
253 reviews
4.5 mi away
Casa Barry Lodge
Casa Barry Lodge
#3 of 15 in Tofo
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barra Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barra Lodge

Address: Praia da Barra, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Inhambane Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Inhambane Province
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Inhambane Province
Price Range: £15 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Barra Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barra Lodge, the flagship Lodge of the praia da barra area, is set in one of the most picturesque areas in Mozambique, with spectacular views of pristine beaches and the crystal clear waters of the Indian Ocean. Situated 485km north of Maputo, access by road is on a tarred road which is suitable for normal vehicles. The road from Maputo to Xai Xai has been upgraded and resurfaced. Please note that there are numerous towns and villages en-route and the main road often passes directly through these villages. Speed limits are enforced in these places and it is advised to drive with caution. Do not drive at night. From the historical city of Inhambane it is only a 30 minute drive to Barra Lodge and transfers are done by the lodge staff. Barra has secluded, unspoilt beaches, and is bordered by the Inhambane estuary on one side and the sea on the other. The lodge is nestled amongst groves of coconut trees and the warm Indian Ocean offers safe bathing all year round. Wide open, sun-drenched beaches offer endless hours of strolling pleasure. Barra Lodge caters for families with children and is geared towards fun and activities for the whole family. Other Services Offered: - Conference Facilities: Seating up to 60 cinema style, audio visual equipment available. - Weddings: We also cater for weddings, cocktail parties and special functions. - Activities Room: DSTV, pool table, table tennis, darts. - Swimming Pool: With kids paddling pool. - Curio Shop: Basic toiletries, sweets, clothing and curios. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Barra Hotel Inhambane
Barra Resort Inhambane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing