We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central & Well Situated”
Review of Barra Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Inhambane Province
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Barra Lodge
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Inhambane Province
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed in the Casitas, and it was relatively comfortable. In general, the service in Front of House was prompt and professional. Top Restaurant had relatively standard food fare, and the service was sufficient. The beach bar had a great menu, and service. There is lots to do at the lodge, and surrounding areas. Barra Lodge is Central & Well Situated, it was great having a base to explore from.

Room Tip: I can only suggest the Casita's.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZizMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarraResorts, Public Relations Manager at Barra Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Barra and enjoyed all the activities which are on offer...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
There are newer reviews for Barra Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2014

Where do I start ? No Management, poor service, food quality and variety poor, Day visitors took both the pool and all facilities over, including carrying own alcohol and cooking utensils through resort. A serious Lack of concern around complaints - Catamaran cruise a joke, safety not a priority in any activities. Expensive resort - Zero value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarraResorts, Public Relations Manager at Barra Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Your complaint is noted and will certainly be highlighted in discussion with management at the lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Very poor service, poor management, day visitors Walking through resort at will, petty theft, accommodation not as requested. False advertising g on web ie no microwave etc etc

Very unfriendly at boarder post. Unsafe my daughter broke her arm from falling from upper walk way etc etc

Stayed: December 2013
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarraResorts, Public Relations Manager at Barra Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

We strive to offer guest satisfaction and will most certainly look into your grievances while staying at Barra Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I traveled with a group of friends to Bara lodge and we had the time of our lives. The weather was amazing and the staff very friendly.

We stayed in the self-catering chalets and all the necessary equipment was there for preparing meals, etc... The cleaning staff arrived daily to clean and do the dished (an added bonus). The porch of the chalet is where we spent most of our time when at home.

The pool facilities are awesome. We spent hours lazing about, tanning, reading and eating around the pool. And then just across from the bar, the bluest water and the whitest sand appears. Beautiful clean white beaches. We took many walks to other lodges and restaurants nearby and met lots of new and interesting people.

The highlight of my trip was the ocean safari. We went out on a rubber duck to go snorkeling with whale-sharks. It was amazing how close we could get to these huge animals. On the way back we also got to see some dolphins swimming and a whale even made a quick appearance.

I definitely would recommend going there for an amazing beach holiday.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Monique d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarraResorts, Public Relations Manager at Barra Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

The marine experience at Barra is one not to be missed and it's good to hear you were able to enjoy and appreciate the experience this little piece of paradise offers...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

A couple of friends and myself spent the last week of nov and first one of des at barra lodge, we used the 6 person houses and had a wonderful relaxing holiday, a lot of memories made, the ocean safari (whale shark snorkeling) is a must.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Massaicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarraResorts, Public Relations Manager at Barra Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

With a warm ocean, Whalesharks and miles of open beaches who needs to leave...? We are soo pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I spent a week at Barra Lodge with a group of friends. We stayed in the self-catering cottages. The cottages were spacious, clean and functional, and it had everything that you could possibly need while staying there. The staff was friendly and helpful and knowledgeable about the surrounding areas.

The buffet breakfast at the lodge is also amazing and great value for money!! The bar right on the beach is exquisite and their selection of cocktails gave us some creative entertainment!!

The pool area with comfortable lounging chairs is the ideal area to gather and relax.. It just puts one in total holiday mode.

I spent some time diving at Barra dive centre and I had an absolutely awesome time exploring the local reefs and learning some new scuba skills.

We also did the Ocean safari, where we got the opportunity to swim with whale sharks and also to see get up close and personal with some dolphins. Awesome experience!!

I would highly recommend Barra Lodge to anyone looking for a great beach holiday, and I would like to thank the staff of Barra Lodge for making our holiday unforgettable!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minettevn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarraResorts, Public Relations Manager at Barra Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

So glad you enjoyed your stay at our lodge. We look forward to welcoming you back for some more fun in the sun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Stayed at Lodge first week of November, and yes the place needs attention, but on the positive side:

1) Clean room, comfortable bed and pillows
2) nice food, very pleasant waiters and chef
3) no TV or WiFi, time to talk without distractions
4) staff always friendly and helpful

What will I suggest:

Mosquito spray and a bottle of water will not break their budget
New towels, ours were torn

They were busy refurbish the beach bar while we were there, but a place like this needs a lot of maintenance.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kobus P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarraResorts, Public Relations Manager at Barra Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you for your recent review. It's good to have happy guests enjoying themselves at Barra Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inhambane Province hotels
10.0 mi away
Casa do Capitao
Casa do Capitao
#9 of 18 in Inhambane Province
60 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sentidos Beach Retreat
Sentidos Beach Retreat
#1 of 1 in Inhambane
10 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barra Beach Club
Barra Beach Club
#2 of 21 in Inhambane
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Mozambeat Motel
Mozambeat Motel
#1 of 14 in Tofo
209 reviews
4.6 mi away
Casa na Praia Tofo
Casa na Praia Tofo
#2 of 10 in Tofo
250 reviews
4.5 mi away
Casa Barry Lodge
Casa Barry Lodge
#3 of 14 in Tofo
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barra Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barra Lodge

Address: Praia da Barra, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Inhambane Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Inhambane Province
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Inhambane Province
Price Range: £15 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Barra Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barra Lodge, the flagship Lodge of the praia da barra area, is set in one of the most picturesque areas in Mozambique, with spectacular views of pristine beaches and the crystal clear waters of the Indian Ocean. Situated 485km north of Maputo, access by road is on a tarred road which is suitable for normal vehicles. The road from Maputo to Xai Xai has been upgraded and resurfaced. Please note that there are numerous towns and villages en-route and the main road often passes directly through these villages. Speed limits are enforced in these places and it is advised to drive with caution. Do not drive at night. From the historical city of Inhambane it is only a 30 minute drive to Barra Lodge and transfers are done by the lodge staff. Barra has secluded, unspoilt beaches, and is bordered by the Inhambane estuary on one side and the sea on the other. The lodge is nestled amongst groves of coconut trees and the warm Indian Ocean offers safe bathing all year round. Wide open, sun-drenched beaches offer endless hours of strolling pleasure. Barra Lodge caters for families with children and is geared towards fun and activities for the whole family. Other Services Offered: - Conference Facilities: Seating up to 60 cinema style, audio visual equipment available. - Weddings: We also cater for weddings, cocktail parties and special functions. - Activities Room: DSTV, pool table, table tennis, darts. - Swimming Pool: With kids paddling pool. - Curio Shop: Basic toiletries, sweets, clothing and curios. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Barra Hotel Inhambane
Barra Resort Inhambane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing