We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in Mozambique”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inhambane Province
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Flamingo Bay Water Lodge
Reviewed 20 August 2013

look like the resorts in polinesia, but is even better! because here you stay in two places without to move! When the sea is at highest level, you are in the middle of sea. If you arrive in the night it is simply magic.
then you walk up in the morning and the beach is kilometers far! you think in the night one elicopter take your bungalow and transported away!
the service is gentle and they care of you.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gabriele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarraResorts, Public Relations Manager at Flamingo Bay Water Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to have met your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed here in early August for 4 nights at the end of an adventure holiday (last before eldest son went to Uni). We had been at the Kruger (early starts for Game Drives) and Tofo (diving and whale watching) so we needed a last bit of relaxation. Before I arrived I was calling this 'my pretend Maldives' but that is not the right description - Flamingo Bay is unique in its own right and absolutely beautiful.
We didn't get room 120 - we got 117 (for the boys) and 118 (for my husband and me) and although I can see the appeal of being right on the end with a view of the flamingos and estuary, these rooms were fantastic and on the sunset side.
We were welcomed and looked after really well and our waiters Roberto (mornings) and Guildo (evenings) made sure we had the table of our choice and they were charming.
Food was excellent - varied and delicious - I really liked the line fish salad for lunch.
I loved the relaxed atmosphere; loved my room over the water and all I can say is if you get the chance and you need to chill out then go there.
Great massage and good internet connection made the stay even better.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelWins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We had a wonderful week at Flamingo Bay which surpassed our expectations. Friendly and happy staff, awesome ( repeat awesome) food and of course the bliss of enjoying the tidal lagoon from the wooden chalets. What a place to relax, read, swim, walk and enjoy life.

Can't wait to get back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarraResorts, Public Relations Manager at Flamingo Bay Water Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Meeting expectations is great...Surpassing them is even better...so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Flamingo Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I stayed at Flamingo Bay Water Lodge for one night as part of my sister's wedding in July 2013. My sister and brother-in-law chose the venue as their wedding destination and I'm really glad they did! We had friends from Europe, South Africa and North America fly in to Inhambane for the wedding and I think everyone left Flamingo Bay with lots of great memories.

Personally, I found the staff at Flamingo Bay very friendly and welcoming. Yes, the entire venue was basically booked out to the wedding party so it was all-hands on deck to cater to our every need. That being said, the service was excellent. If there was something that needed to be taken care of, no matter how last minute, the staff took care of it. A great example is that we had prepared a video to show to the wedding party but we did not ask for a projector or TV in advance. The staff quickly helped us find a TV and carried it to the reception area. This is the kind of speedy problem solving you like to see from the staff.

The dinner menu was an array of seafood, meats, vegetables and desserts from many different influences and it was very well prepared. Even though it was buffet-style, the quality was there. We ate like kings and queens.

Finally, I think my review should be taken with a grain of salt, as my experience at Flamingo Bay was only for the day and night of the wedding. However, everything I experienced there was positive. I even had dives booked with Barra Lodge down the road the next morning and the staff tracked me down during the evening to confirm that a taxi would be picking me up in the morning. It was literally door-to-door service the next day and I'm glad it was because I was not exactly in tip top shape after the wedding!

For the average traveler who doesn't often spend more than a hundred USD on a hotel or motel room, Flamingo Bay will certainly feel luxurious. The rooms are clean, the property sits on a beautiful part of Inhambane and the service is personable and friendly.

Only the pickiest of travelers or patrons would be able to find any serious fault with Flamingo Bay. Definitely two thumbs up in my books.

Room Tip: Most guest rooms are actually located about a hundred meters (maybe more) from the main lobby so be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GYeh514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarraResorts, Public Relations Manager at Flamingo Bay Water Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Having a wedding party on the bride and grooms most important day of their lives means staff need to up their game to avoid any hint of disappointment. I am so glad this was achieved and a good time was enjoyed by all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Visited the resort in may 2013 for my birthday. staff were helpful and very attentive. the buffet meal provided for supper for my bday was awsum and tasty. they even sang happy bday to me in portugese and brought some chocolate cake aswell.

great place to stay AT .

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yusuf11223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarraResorts, Public Relations Manager at Flamingo Bay Water Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

So glad you had an awesome birthday at Flamingo Bay and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I only went to Mozambique to please my husband who was very keen on visiting. What a pleasant and amazing trip! The staff went out of their way to make it a memorable experience. I am so inspired that I am learning Portuguese for my return trip.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hanroux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarraResorts, Public Relations Manager at Flamingo Bay Water Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Sometimes the best experience is arriving at your destination not sure what to expect and then being pleasantly surprised by the experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Value for money cannot be beaten at Flamingo Bay! Overall a pleasant stay at in a beautiful setting.

Although not as glamorous as the Vilanculos lodge's we have previously stayed at, we were not disappointed in Flamingo Bay. The staff were attentive, polite and always had a smile. The food was great, and they made a special effort for us for our anniversary dinner which was really kind and made the trip extra special. The rooms are of a good size, clean and although in need of a little TLC, overall not bad.

The setting is spectacular with amazing sunsets and you can fall asleep to the sound of the water lapping under your chalet at night.

I would highly recommend the quad bike tour around the coast, LOADS of fun and you really get a feel for the area. Also spend a day at Barra lodge (Flamingo Bay's sister lodge just down the road) where you can lie on the beach and sip R&R's at the beach bar.

Room Tip: We had room 120 right on the end and it was really private. Highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeanutJHB1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarraResorts, Public Relations Manager at Flamingo Bay Water Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Flamingo Bay is all about relaxing, enjoying the unique setting, food and all that is on offer. We are pleased that you were able to enjoy all of this and welcome you to visit us again for another enjoyable break.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inhambane Province hotels
8.8 mi away
Casa do Capitao
Casa do Capitao
#11 of 19 in Inhambane Province
64 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sentidos Beach Retreat
Sentidos Beach Retreat
#1 of 1 in Praia da Barra
37 reviews
1 mi away
Barra Beach Club
Barra Beach Club
#2 of 21 in Inhambane
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
110.2 mi away
Naara Eco Lodge & Spa
Naara Eco Lodge & Spa
#1 of 3 in Chidenguele
124 reviews
126.2 mi away
Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
#1 of 9 in Vilanculos
244 reviews
17.4 mi away
Travessia Beach Lodge
Travessia Beach Lodge
#1 of 3 in Morrumbene
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Bay Water Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Bay Water Lodge

Address: Inhambane | Inhambane, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Inhambane Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 114 Speciality Lodging in Inhambane Province
Price Range: £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Flamingo Bay Water Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Flamingo Bay Water Hotel Inhambane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing