We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointment” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Flamingo Bay Water Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inhambane Province
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Flamingo Bay Water Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

The place is run down, value for money is very poor.
The staff and the service is slow, although they try - nothing really happens. Our expectations were high but the disappointmend was big. Stairs to the sea were broken or not at all, the whole outside terrace was in a bad condiction. We don´t recomment this place, for the money the charge you can get much better!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank afrikka_kikka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarraResorts, Public Relations Manager at Flamingo Bay Water Lodge, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
We take all our reviews seriously and I will certainly pass your comments on to lodge management for their attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    62
    22
    7
    10
See reviews for
17
154
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gordons Bay
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We arrived quite late - 7pm, and after settling in our room, we went to dinner. To our delight they've prepared a beautifully decorated table to welcome us. In the consequent evenings it was fun to see all the "new" guests at their special tables.

There are looooong walkways between the hotel and the rooms, but the scenery is so beautiful, not once did we mind the walking (and my husband hates walking but he LOVED this!). In the mornings we woke up in our bed with fresh white linen to the sounds of water cobbling underneath the chalet and birds chirping. I loved opening the curtains so I could watch the sun rise over the water from my pillow every morning!
Breakfast was always very nice, with a good variety, although we've experienced hotels with a larger selection. But I understand many things are hard to come by in that area.

Our room was tidied every morning and night. Staff were friendly. The pool area is lovely! The spa is also very good. I just wished they'd put the massage beds outside (there is space) How nice would that have been? But the spa experience was great!

The dinners are amazing! With really good seafood available. Just the one time I found loads of sand in the mussles (I did tell the waiter, but he seemed annoyed that I complained). But everything else was delicious! The last two nights they had live music at dinner which really added to the mood.

One downside: there aren't phones in the rooms, so you can't order anything from your room.

The activities are really great too - the sunset cruise was stunning!

I spent hours underneath our chalet during low tide watching the abundance of tropical sealife. It's crazy all the pretty fish, crabs and sea cucumbers living RIGHT THERE!

I got amazing photos - and this was one of the best holidays of my life! Just be careful driving there - roads aren't great and cops are plenty.

Room Tip: We were in room 110 which had a lovely view of the sunrise every morning. For nice sunset views I th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dirtsalen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarraResorts, Public Relations Manager at Flamingo Bay Water Lodge, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for your review and so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Flamingo Bay Water Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

The main attraction here is clearly the stilt houses, which are a real blast. They're comfortable and well furnished, but at the same time give you the feeling of being on the ocean while you sleep. Great food (although be warned, the Piri Piri is hot!) and attentive mozambiquean staff. Nice beaches walking distance away. It's not 5-star luxury, but it's something different and unique.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AnthonyJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarraResorts, Public Relations Manager at Flamingo Bay Water Lodge, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Hi Anthony. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay as well as the total uniqueness of our stilted accommodation and rustic yet comfortable accommodation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grahamstown, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

We were very disappointed with the quality and staff of the lodge as well as the service. With such a beautiful setting, and rated 5 star we could not believe what we experienced.
1. Manageress never ever greeted us or checked in on us
2. Staff were terribly slow and under trained
- We asked for coffee which arrived so late it was cold
- No towels around the swimming pool, asked for some and never received
- Mess (empty glasses, used ashtrays) around the pool was never cleaned up, we had to constantly ask for it to be removed
- The complementary milk in our bedroom was never replaced
3. The spa facilities were terrible, a bedroom with 2 beds, no aircon and someone who couldn't do most of the stuff on the menu. I was told she could only do a basic facial. No eyebrow shaping or waxing etc
4. The internet for "free wifi" was constantly down
5. The Television was broken and in the 5 days we were there they couldn't manage to fix it (we had 2 rainy windy days and wanted to watch the sport)
6. The steps to the water from our bedroom were broken
7. Breakfast was average, with a choice of 3 cereals and one yogurt that always ran out, if you did not get there early enough you also missed out on the bacon.
8. Could not order a cuppachino or latte etc as their coffee machine was broken.
9. They did not have fresh juice available during the day and the only cold drink you could order besides alcohol was: Fanta, crème soda, sparletta...fizzy drinks
10. On their lunch Menu their seafood pizza was never available.

Basically we constantly got told the following:
"its broken"
"its out of stock"
"we don't have"
"we've run out"

It was overall a disappointing experience considering the way it is portrayed on their website.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same. It's a long walking distance to the main lodge from all the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarraResorts, Public Relations Manager at Flamingo Bay Water Lodge, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Hi Megan. Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. I have noted all the points you raise and will certainly be taking this up with lodge management as we strive to match expectations with experience and value
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kempton Park, Gauteng, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We spent the first three nights of our honeymoon here. I had read mixed reviews on this site prior to departing and was nervous as the destination was a surprise for my new bride. I can say that my concerns were swiftly put to rest when we arrived.
When choosing a hotel or resort, where you go depends on what you are looking for, for us this was exactly what we needed. peace, privacy and time together.
We were left alone when we wanted to be, attended to when we needed it and the balance was very nicely maintained. The little extra touches that were put on as part of the 'honeymoon turn-down service' made us feel very special and were a nice touch. especially for my wife.

If you are looking for 24/7 activity or a bustling nightlife, go somewhere else. If you are looking for long walks in peace and quiet nights over the water, then book this place.

Absolute bliss!

Room Tip: Tell the booking agents if its for a special occasion. they know what's best. we had room 120 an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zach L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarraResorts, Public Relations Manager at Flamingo Bay Water Lodge, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Its always very pleasing to pass comments such as yours onto management and staff at the lodge. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and all the very best for your future together
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

I traveled to Mozambique in February and stayed at this fabulous hotel, although note that it is more geared towards couples and honeymooners as no kids under 12 are allowed. Flamingo Lodge is situated in a lagoon, and it was ingenious and amazing that you can climb down a small ladder from your wooden chalets if you want to go for a swim. I enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere, they also have a spa on the premises and if you feel like more activities their hourly shuttle can take you down to the neighbouring Barra Lodge which has everything on offer and even boasts their own diving centre. Flamingo is a great resort lodge, true paradise in Mozambique.

- Martina Schacke (Jenman Safaris; Agent Series Teamleader)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JenmanSafaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarraResorts, Public Relations Manager at Flamingo Bay Water Lodge, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
It is always satisfying to read reviews such as yours as well as pass these comments on to the lodge as this gives great satisfaction to management and staff alike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tete, Mozambique
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

look like the resorts in polinesia, but is even better! because here you stay in two places without to move! When the sea is at highest level, you are in the middle of sea. If you arrive in the night it is simply magic.
then you walk up in the morning and the beach is kilometers far! you think in the night one elicopter take your bungalow and transported away!
the service is gentle and they care of you.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabriele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarraResorts, Public Relations Manager at Flamingo Bay Water Lodge, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to have met your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inhambane Province hotels
8.7 mi away
Casa do Capitao
Casa do Capitao
#8 of 17 in Inhambane Province
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
1.8 mi away
Vista Do Mar
Vista Do Mar
#5 of 18 in Inhambane
5.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
1.0 mi away
Barra Beach Club
Barra Beach Club
#2 of 18 in Inhambane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Amigo Lodge
Amigo Lodge
#1 of 3 in Tofinho
5.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
5.6 mi away
Casa na Praia Tofo
Casa na Praia Tofo
#2 of 11 in Tofo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bay View Lodge
Bay View Lodge
#23 of 109 in Inhambane Province
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Bay Water Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Bay Water Lodge

Property: Flamingo Bay Water Lodge
Address: Inhambane | Inhambane, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Inhambane Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 109 Speciality Lodging in Inhambane Province
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Flamingo Bay Water Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Flamingo Bay Water Hotel Inhambane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing