We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“great cottage, lovely area & quiet”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Cotton, Staffordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Emma C
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great cottage, lovely area & quiet”
Reviewed 26 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Loved the cottage, appreciated the wildlife, especially the owl. Fantastic location. 8 year old son & 14y.o daughter loved the holiday too. There are no fences, which if the description is read properly mentions this along with "free roaming fowl and livestock" if you have well trained & well behaved dogs/kids this should not be a problem. I arrived to the property & left the property in a clean state. If the previous guest had a problem then I am sure the owners would have done something about it. I found the owners very welcoming & pleasant. would love to come back oneday. Love the ability to see all the stars at night. Dogs loved it too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cottage & location
Liked least: going home
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa G
Woodhall Spa, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cottage in ideal location but ...”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Set in a lovely quiet village near to lots of tourist areas but cottage is not as it appears in the pictures , overgrown at the front of the cottage , no fences to keep dogs in or out , so if your dog is used to freely roaming your secure garden at home this is perhaps not the place for you .neighbouring dogs, chickens and ducks roaming free and even come onto your patio area.
Extra hidden charges , house was filthy when we arrived and laughably enough you were told to make sure you left the house clean on departure or pay a £20 fee for the owners who live next door to clean it for you . If you wanted the heating on or wood for the fire that was an extra charge too .
The owners didn't greet us on arrival but when we did see them they did seem nice and looked after our dog for the day for a £10 fee .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave T
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Cute cottage, lovely setting, cosy log fire!!”
Reviewed 4 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Spent several days here with my brother and sister-in-law over the New Year period and we all thought the cottage was lovely! Gorgeous walks in all directions, all the usual amenities and that log fire to give it a relaxing atmosphere. Would love to come back in the summer. Owners were very helpful and welcoming. Our kids had a lovely time.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vicg29
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beware hidden charges”
Reviewed 10 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013
3
people found this review helpful

We spent a four night break at Barks Cottage, the booking agents advertise..."all heating etc incl"... But when you arrive the owners details are different... £5 for logs for fire, £40 for gas for heating and a threat of £20 bill if you don't clean the cottage before you leave. Not to mention supposed underfloor heating in kitchen and bathroom that didn't materialise despite frosty nights.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife
Reviewed 29 August 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Maidstone
Reviewed 5 December 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing