We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great escape!”
other travellers have booked this property
Great Tangley Manor
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Great Tangley Manor
Aerial view Indoor heated swimming pool available 9am -5pm
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Great Tangley Manor
Aerial view
Indoor heated swimming pool available 9am -5pm
Access Bridge across Moat
Inner Courtyard with Award winning Glass Box
Award winning Glass box, seating for 10
Fully equipped self catering kitchen
Fully equipped self catering kitchen
16th Century Dining Room
Arts and Crafts Library
John Evelyn Bedroom
Oriental Bedroom
King John Bedroom
King John  Bedroom en suite bathroom
Queen Mary Bedrrom
1st floor family bathroom
Alice Keppel Bedroom
Lake
Hard Tennis Court available throughout your stay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Wonersh, Guildford, Surrey, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dorian B
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great escape!”
Reviewed 17 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We wanted somewhere near to my daughter's where we could have a surprise weekend birthday celebration. Great Tangley turned out to be perfect. Although only a short distance from Guildford it feels like another world and how we hated having to leave. Other reviewers have summed up what the place has to offer and I would say that it pretty much lacks for nothing. We are left with wonderful memories and a desire to come back one day if we can.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmberSaxo...
Alton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Memories are made of this.”
Reviewed 29 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Together with a small group of our closest friends we hired Great Tangley Manor for the Bank Holiday weekend to celebrate our 70th birthdays.
Our stay there was everything I wished for and more in this thousand year old house in a wonderful setting.
We explored the beautiful grounds, had a BBQ in the centre courtyard, and on the Sunday had a chef in to cook us a 9-course Tasting Menu and a butler to serve it & keep our glasses topped up.
On the Saturday we had a few extra friends join us at The Grantley Arms for dinner in their private dining room & also had a great evening.
We made the most wonderful memories & will talk about it for years.
I wholeheartedly recommend Great Tangley Manor ......lovely owners & helpful manager.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2017
We are so glad to hear that Great Tangley help create special memories and look forward to welcoming you all back for future occasions.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KES201755
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, grand residence for the perfect party”
Reviewed 3 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Booked for two nights for my daughter's Hen Weekend for a group of twelve hens. The house is set in magnificent grounds which are very well maintained. The manager, Nicho, gave us a tour around showing us the extensive facilities and explaining the fascinating history of the place. He had even unpacked our online shopping delivery.
The kitchen has everything you need and the reception rooms are very grand. The bedrooms are spacious and the beds very comfortable. There are 2 bathrooms upstairs in the main house, but only 1 small shower potentially between 8 people! The annex bedrooms, in contrast, share a much more modern bathroom with a large shower.
The large TV in the library is very old and needs updating as it didn't have the USB connection we needed (and had been assured was there) for some of our games. Disaster! Could also do with a decent Bluetooth sound system or at least an iPod dock!
Overall a wonderful place but the technology requires some updating, along with the bathroom facilities. Would thoroughly recommend using this lovely place for special events.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Greedy Owners!!!”
Reviewed 10 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Great Tangley Manor for our family Christmas celebrations. We picked the venue as it was local to us and our family whom live in Surrey and wanted to join us for dinner. The house and the grounds were beautiful and well equipped for our stay. We made sure that we kept the house perfectly clean despite having young children there and cooking a huge Christmas dinner. We had such a lovely time that we planned to have a re-union every year there as a family as we are moving to Australia this year and will visit the UK for Christmas. Unfortunatly when we left the venue the greedy owners would not refund our deposit, despite us having paid allot of money to stay for two nights. Their argument was that we had invited people for dinner and therefore they should pay?They sadly looked at pictures on face book of our christmas dinner and counted the people in the picture including a 6 month old baby and held our 1000 deposit. After much back and forth the amount was reduced and finally fully refunded today. But for what? There was no reason but greed. Its such a shame as we thought the man who owned the house was ever so kind and friendly when we meet him. And its a shame that we now cannot use these facilities again and that our beautiful Christmas weekend ended in frustration. The owner can remove these comments but they will be posted on every page that shows this house online repeatedly!!!!!!!! Happy new year

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Feb 2017
Sadly this group had extra guests to stay without permission and even took our clean linen/bedding from cupboards leaving us with insufficient for our next guests. Her post and threat is the result of her being ask to pay the cleaning costs. No charge was made for the extra 6 guests overnight stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LondonGir...
London
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The most magical place!”
Reviewed 29 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed here in August for my daughter’s wedding nearby and had the most wonderful time. What a truly beautiful setting for her to get ready in the morning, have photographs taken and then walk across the little bridge to the Rolls Royce taking her to the church – just magical! The house is well equipped, all the beds are very comfortable (including the two folding beds) and the swimming pool was lovely too (but do bring floats etc for children, as these aren’t available). A total of 11 of us stayed in the house, but we had another 25 or so join us for a BBQ in the courtyard the day after the wedding. Staying at Great Tangley made our already perfect family occasion even more memorable. I hope we will be back sometime in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;