We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel”
Review of Barnett Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barnett Hill Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wonersh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This hotel has so much going for it. The approach up the tree lined drive, with rabbits and a deer watching our arrival, gave one great expectations - and these expectations were more than met. My single room was the best I have ever had. It was spacious and very bright and had an extremely comfortable small double bed. The shower was excellent with a larshower head and lots of good hot water. There was a good sized tv and free WiFi. My room was in the courtyard surrounded by beautiful flowers. The hotel itself had the appearance of a stately home with wonderful gardens, beautifully cared for. I was lucky that the weather was warm and sunny when I was staying so I was able to eat my well prepared breakfast on the patio overlooking the garden. The staff were friendly and helpful and my room was meticulously serviced during the day when I
was out. I had a brilliant 2 night stay and cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

Room Tip: My brilliant room was room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnetthill, General Manager at Barnett Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Barnett Hill. I was delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and in particular that you found room 1 in the Garden Wing of the main house to be so comfortable with a good shower and range of other facilities.

The weather of course helps us a great deal especially with such extensive grounds and wonderful gardens as you have mentioned and I am pleased you had the opportunity to enjoy them and to eat your breakfast 'al fresco' each morning.

Your comments regarding the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff during your stay with us are very much appreciated and gratefully received and we thank you for your offer to recommend Barnett Hill to others. Hopefully we will have the pleasure of being of service to you again in the not to distant future but in the meantime thank you once again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (507)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

391 - 397 of 508 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2013

I stayed at Barnet Hill for two nights with my husband as friends of ours were holding their wedding there.
TIP! We got a great deal of two night’s accommodation with dinner the first night. We got the deal direct with the hotel which was much cheaper than the special rate our friends were able to offer guests. This was a shame as we met several guests who would have stayed one if not both nights but thought the special guest rate was too expensive.
The room we were given was in the main house, after reading the negative reviews of the courtyard rooms we were very pleased. The room we had was modern, clean and a good size. The meal the first night was delicious and service was excellent.
We had a lovely relaxing morning before the wedding wandering around the grounds which are beautiful and well kept.
The wedding meal and service was great.
We would stay again for a weekend away.

Room Tip: Main house rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L_K1509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnetthill, General Manager at Barnett Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Barnett Hill whilst attending the wedding of your friends. I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and that you were able to take advantage of one of our seasonal short break special offer packages.

It was of course disappointing to learn that some of the other guests attending your friends wedding apparently chose not to stay with us as they considered the special 'wedding' guest rate offered to them to be too expensive particularly since all our rates and packages are available on line through various booking sources.

I was pleased to note that you appreciated your room in the main house and that you enjoyed the food and service provided throughout your stay and we hopefully look forward to welcoming you back to Barnett Hill in the not too distant future for another weekend away as you have indicated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We Stayed the at the Barnett Hill with a one night Red Letter day voucher, what a shame I didn't pack another clothes as one night is not enough. The hotel is beautiful, the rooms are interestingly different yet spacious with lovely original features and very clean and comfortable The gardens are stunning and it is well worth a walk around the surrounding grounds. The breakfast is perfect, plenty of choice and good quality. All the staff we dealt were exceptionally friendly and every staff member we met around the hotel greeted us, including the gardeners. Although not a must the free WiFi and Iphone docking station are a nice touch. We will definitely be visiting again Chisman, Sittingbourne Kent

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHIZZYKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnetthill, General Manager at Barnett Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Barnett Hill. I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and that you had the opportunity to explore our grounds and gardens. Your very kind comments regarding the service and hospitality you received are very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back again hopefully in the not too distant future when you have my personal assurance that we will do our utmost to ensure you are well looked after again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Myself and my boyfriend stayed at the Barnett Hill Hotel on the first bank holiday weekend of May this year as we had been given a Red Letter Day voucher for Christmas. Out of the locations we were given to choose from, we were so glad we were able to go to Guildford for our weekend away! We actually chose to pay for an extra night as we wanted to make use of the bank holiday, and we were so glad we did as luckliy the weather was amazing! The hotel itself is beautiful, a grand country manor house with stunning grounds. The staff were lovely and our room, which was situated at the front of the hotel, was huge - very quirky and spacious. Breakfast was delicious each morning, and a three course dinner was included on the first night. Our meals were lovely and we had drinks afterwards in the bar that were a little pricey, but we did expect to pay a bit extra so we didnt mind. The next day we went on one of the woodland walks as the weather was so lovely, and really enjoyed the relaxation aspect that this hotel had to offer by using the sauna and the gym. The only thing i slightly disliked about this hotel was its location - we had to drive everywhere rather than just being able to walk in to the centre, but i guess you can't have everything! Situated in Wonersh, just outside Guildford, a 5 minute drive took us in to the centre of the city and we spent the majority of the weekend here. Overall i would definitely stay at Barnett Hill again for a relaxing weekend getaway as we had a truly memorable experience - big thank you to the staff!

Room Tip: Ask to be situated in the main house of the hotel, rather than the courtyard annexes as these looked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JourneyswithJessica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnetthill, General Manager at Barnett Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Barnett Hill over the May Bank Holiday weekend. I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and that you chose to stay for an additional night. As you have mentioned the weather over the weekend was exceptional allowing you to make the most of our countryside setting and our glorious grounds and gardens of which we are justifiably very proud. I was also very please to note that you found your room comfortable and that the quality of food and hospitality you received met with your expectations.
I'm sorry if you found our bar prices a little higher than you had hoped as we do try to maintain them in line with other local businesses offering a similar style and standard of service since we are very keen to offer our guests good value for money. We will of course keep this matter under review.
With regard to our location, I suppose it is a compromise in that, if we were closer to Guildford within walking distance we may not be able to offer the peace and tranquility that Barnett Hill provides and unfortunately the public transport links in this part of Surrey are not the best. However, as you mentioned we are only a 5 minute drive away from the town centre and Guildford has a lot to offer in terms of good quality shops, bars and restaurants as well as other attractions such as the theatre, leisure centre and G Live entertainment venue.
Thank you once again for your comments and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to Barnett Hill in the future as you have indicated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Many Thanks to all the staff at Barnett Hill Once again you delivered first class service.
We Loved our three day stay with you.Once again we left your great hotel feeling like Valued Guest.
Mrs P Greenwood.
Bolton.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leisure88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnetthill, General Manager at Barnett Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2013

Dear Mrs Greenwood,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble once again to submit a review on Trip Advisor following your most Recent stay at Barnett Hill. I am delighted that you and your husband had such an enjoyable stay with us despite the slight issue concerning an apparent water leak from your bathroom which has since been fully resolved and I apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused you.
We are of course very grateful for your continued custom and for your endorsement of the service and hospitality we aim to provide at Barnett Hill which is much appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards

Tim Hall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We stayed for two nights, the second evening, a Saturday, we had a meal with friends - 23 of us in total. The hotel is good and teh staff very friendly. The bar service was a bit slow; there was a wedding taking place as well as our group so the hotel should have arranged more staff. Apart from that there are no complaints. The food was good and reasonably priced. The grounds are fabulous and we enjoyed a gentle stroll after breakfast.
I would recommend this hotel, it is much nicer than the large chains.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 28 which is at the top of the house, the upper staircase is steep but the room is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bazzerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnetthill, General Manager at Barnett Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Barnett Hill. I was very pleased to note that overall you and your friends had an enjoyable stay with us and that you had the opportunity to enjoy our 'fabulous' grounds and gardens which we are justifiably very proud of.
I apologise if the service in the bar was a little slow at times and that you felt there were not enough staff available given that there was your party and a wedding party requiring service at the same time although I was reassured to note that you found the service throughout friendly.
I was also pleased that you found our food to be of a good standard and reasonably priced and that overall you would recommend Barnett Hill as a much nicer option than some of our larger corporate competitors. We hope that we may be of service to you all again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Only stayed for one night but have to say it was a very nice hotel with lovely grounds to wander around. Staff very good and breakfast was enjoyable with plenty of choice. Only slight disappointment was the menu for the evening meal, we would have stayed in the hotel to eat but when the receptionist kindly brought the menu to our room so we could decide what to do we found it a bit limited and missing any prices. So thinking it must be quite pricey we got in the car and found a local restaurant. But that said we would certainly stay again. Highly recommend

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnetthill, General Manager at Barnett Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Barnett Hill and for your very positive comments in respect of most aspects of your stay.
I'm very sorry that we failed to meet entirely with your expectations regarding our dinner menu however as this is not something we generally receive adverse comment regarding and it is disappointing to us that as a result, you decided to dine out locally elsewhere. I have noted your comment regarding the price not having been displayed which was an omission on our part as it was a set price menu of three courses for £25 with the option of choosing just one or two courses if required. We will of course bear this in mind for the future and make the changes necessary.
I was reassured to note therefore that in light of this, you would stay with us again and that you would recommend us to others. We look forward to being of service to you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wonersh
3.0 mi away
Guildford Harbour Hotel
Guildford Harbour Hotel
#5 of 11 in Guildford
1,976 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Guildford
Holiday Inn Guildford
#4 of 11 in Guildford
742 reviews
6.1 mi away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#1 of 8 in Dorking
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Asperion
Asperion
#1 of 11 in Guildford
601 reviews
15.1 mi away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 3 in Egham
1,159 reviews
6.3 mi away
Asperion Hillside Hotel
Asperion Hillside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Worplesdon
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnett Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnett Hill Hotel

Address: Barnett Hill House Blackheath Lane, Wonersh, Guildford GU5 0RF, England (Formerly Barnett Hill Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Guildford > Wonersh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wonersh
Price Range: £97 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barnett Hill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our manor house has been lovingly renovated with all of our guest facilities newly modernised and ready to welcome you. Alongside our 4-star hotel rating we are also delighted to inform you that our Oak Room Restaurant has recently been awarded 2 AA Rosettes with our new executive Head Chef, Lee Young, formally senior sous chef at the Four Seasons, Hampshire. Barnett Hill, a Queen Anne style Mansion dating back to 1905 was the dream of Frank Cook, Grandson of renowned travel agent ‘Thomas Cook’. Set within 26 acres of lovingly maintained gardens and woodland; sitting in the heart of the Surrey Hills just outside Guildford, Barnett Hill Country House Hotel takes a stunning hill top location, within the beautifully established area of outstanding natural beauty in Surrey. Positioned only 3 miles from Guildford town centre and 30 minutes from London, Barnett Hill is wonderfully convenient yet retains a tranquil and peaceful rural setting, with undisturbed 360 degree views of the Surrey Hills and surrounding countryside. The perfect hotel for your upcoming countryside escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Barnett Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnett Hill, a Sundial Group Venue Hotel Guildford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing