We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Barnett Hill Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Godalming Hotel(Godalming)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Asperion(Guildford)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (550)
Filter reviews
550 results
Traveller rating
261
175
63
30
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
261
175
63
30
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main houseafternoon teagorgeous groundsoriginal featuresbeautiful hotelcountry housebreakfast roombuffet stylewedding venuean upgradea lovely staylovely settingwedding breakfastguildford areastayed one nightfull englishbooked this hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
410 - 415 of 550 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and chose this hotel because they allow dogs to stay also.
We thought the whole experience was wonderful from the ever friendly staff for whom nothing was too much trouble ,to the amazing grounds and excellently maintained gardens.
Our room was lovely and easily large enough for 2 adults and 2 large dogs.We had an enjoyable stay and will definitely return and have no hesitation in recommending Barnett Hill to others.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2finchdrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnetthill, General Manager at Barnett Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Barnett Hill. I am delighted that you and the dogs had such an enjoyable stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Your comments regarding the level of service and hospitality you received are very much appreciated and gratefully received by all of the team and I thank you for you offer to recommend us to others.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We have just returned from this hotel and can honestly say that the location and gardens are stunning.Staff are very helpful and pleasant & the food was to a very good standard.However the object of going away for a couple of days was to have a restful & quite break , which is what is advertised at the is hotel , on arrival we were told we had been allocated a courtyard room which had just been redecorated and to quote ' was very nice ' the room itself was small and was on the ground floor and cold.Parking was right outside in a courtyard which was great for lifting in cases but when anyone left you heard the car start up , like having a room next to an NCP car park however the bed was very comfortable.We went out to eat on the first night and on arriving back fond a very large van parked in the courtyard so parking was difficult.
At 06:30 the next morning we were woken by the occupant in the room above getting up and taking a bath which was very noisy they then left at about 07:45 in the van not a restful start to ones day.After going out for the day I returned to find all the parking spaces taken and had to park on the grass.
The next morning we had the same early wake up call at 06:30.
So in conclusion not the restful break we had hoped for in fact we were woken up earlier than when we normally have to at home.

Room Tip: I recommend that you choose to stay in the main house not in the courtyard rooms.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelv501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnetthill, General Manager at Barnett Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Barnett Hill. I was very pleased to note that you enjoyed our location and setting and that overall the quality of food and service you received met with your expectations.

It was of course disappointing to note that the quality of your stay was, on occasions adversely affected by the movements and comings and goings of other residents which is not generally an issue but for which, I offer you my sincere apologies since it is never our intention to have anyone leave Barnett Hill feeling anything other than completely satisfied.

I am very sorry that your room was cold when you arrived and that it was perhaps not as spacious as you had expected. We are at that time of year when the weather cannot seem to make up its mind and therefore getting our heating on/off times just right at the moment has been a bit of a challenge. With regard to room sizes, being an old historic property the majority of our bedrooms vary greatly in terms of their size, style and appointment which is true for both the main house and the Courtyard alike however, I am very sorry if your room felt a little small for your liking.

Please be assured that we do take all forms of constructive feedback very seriously indeed and that when planning future refurbishments of the Courtyard bedrooms which are currently in the planning stage we will consider further any measures that can be taken to reduce noise disturbance both internal and external following your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Absolutely amazing venue for a relaxing weekend break .A house full of History it has great karma.it was donated to the Red Cross in a previous life and you can feel the good vibes .Staff were more than welcoming, helpful and very friendly,from the reception staff to the waiter and the guy who got soaking wet sorting out the bikes ...a big thank you .This is not your normal conference venue putting up with paying guests at the weekend .Food was great ,beautiful grounds to walk in and it was lovely to be able to hire a bike (for free!) to explore the spectacular surrounding country side full of autumn colour .We will be back . .

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suntan907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnetthill, General Manager at Barnett Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Barnett Hill. We met just after dinner on the Saturday evening when you mentioned to me how much you had enjoyed your stay with us and i am delighted that you felt so well looked after.

It was great that you took the opportunity to make use of our bikes to get out and explore a little of the local area. As you have mentioned we have four bikes available for guest to use for free when staying with us but these rarely get used to I thank you for plugging them on our behalf!!

Whilst we are a conference and meetings venue, we are by no means the largest of venues therefore the size and setting of the house and its surroundings does lend itself to creating a more intimate feel than one might expect especially at weekends when we do not always have weddings or private events taking place although we always aim to treat all our guests with equal importance.

We look forward to seeing you again soon and I can highly recommend Springtime when the Rhododendrons within the grounds are in full flower as being another great time to visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We spend two glorious days at Barnett Hill ,as we drove up the drive we were delighted by the architecture of the hall inside it was full of original features and the beautiful tiled floor leading to the reception was magnificent , the rooms were clean and the food lovely ,served in a gorgeous panelled dining room the staff were polite and informative and we felt as if we were in a five star hotel. The gardens are truly spectacular and it is worth a stay purely to appreciate the surroundings .

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krystyna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnetthill, General Manager at Barnett Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear Krystyna D

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Barnett Hill. I was delighted to note that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and that you felt very well looked after.

Your positive comments regarding your room and the food and service you received are greatly appreciated and I am very pleased that you had the opportunity to walk around our gardens and grounds which I would agree are something quite special.

We look forward to being of service to you again hopefully in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

A beautiful building with absolutely stunning grounds and gardens. Set well away from roads we enjoyed a quiet and hugely relaxing break in comfortable and quiet rooms. The food was super, the pastry chef is a star and service was always given, 'with a smile'. I was also impressed by the very knowledgeable gardeners who not only provided a plant identification service but sell their surpless stock too.

A hotel with excellent service, beautifull surroundings, cracking food and a garden centre!

Thanks to all.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the garden, south or west.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnetthill, General Manager at Barnett Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear Richard P

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Barnett Hill and for your very positive comments which are very much appreciated.

I was delighted that you had such an enjoyable and relaxing stay with us and that the team looked after you so well both inside and out in the gardens. Ellen our pastry chef is certainly one of our stars and your comments regarding the quality of the food have been gratefully received by all the kitchen brigade.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the not too distant future perhaps in the Spring when you may need to purchase some more plants for the garden!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews