We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Class”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Barnett Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Barnett Hill Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wonersh
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“First Class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights 15th 16th November as it was our wedding anniversary. We had booked a court yard room but was given a free upgrade to room number 1 in the main building. I am not sure what value of the upgrade was as the room was very small, but it was adequate. I suppose if you look hard enough you can always find fault and in this case a couple of curtain hooks were missing so the curtains couldn't be drawn properly. On the first evening the radiator in the bedroom was on but that in the bathroom was not. On the second evening at 6.00pm none of the radiators were on. When I enquired at reception I was told that they come on automatically at 4.00pm. Soon after they did come on. On the final morning the bedroom radiator did not come on while the bathroom one did. This of course doesn't matter in the summer months but at this of the year especially when there was frost during the night it is important to keep the bedrooms warm. However this did not detract from a lovely stay. All the staff were very friendly and efficient. We had dinner each evening which was excellent. There was free water on the table and you could have wine by a 125cc, 175cc or 250cc glass as well as a bottle. The wines were very good and not overpriced, which was a nice change from the norm. The ambience in the dining room was lovely. Breakfast was excellent with an extensive choice.

The overall cost of the 2 nights was very reasonable and it is a place to come again.

Room Tip: Room 1 on the ground floor is convenient, being near to the car park, but not as you could hear any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffb7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnetthill, General Manager at Barnett Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Jeff B.

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Barnett Hill. I was very pleased to note that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you found the service, hospitality and standard of food throughout your stay to be excellent. It was also reassuring to note that you considered our rates to represent very good value for money.

Please accept my apologies for the apparent inconsistency with the heating in both your bedroom and bathroom which we have investigated resulting in a review of the timings for when the heating and towel rails come on as the weather has started getting colder.

Your comment regarding the missing curtain hooks has also been noted by my Housekeeping Manager and I thank you for bringing this oversight on our part to my attention.

Hopefully you will have the opportunity to stay with us again in the not too distant future when you have my personal assurance that we will do our utmost to ensure you are well looked after.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    137
    52
    22
    10
See reviews for
66
161
22
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hertfordshire uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

my husband and i stayed at this hotel at the weekend sat 2nd nov 2013 1 night was just lovely very grand without being stuffy all staff lovely and helpful friendly and the hotel just lovely 26 acres of gardens house very grand full of history cant express what a lovely time we had here very relaxing,not a hustle bustle place the village has 1 pub which is lovely great food a post office and 2 shops very quaint food in the hotel was all beautifully done if u want a break away try it you wont be disapointed!! :)))

Room Tip: rooms in main hotel and in courtyard we chose the hotel just loved the grandure of it all
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesley2110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnetthill, General Manager at Barnett Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Lesley,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Barnett Hill. I was delighted that you and your husband had such a relaxing break with us even if it was only for the one night.

Barnett Hill does have a very special feel to it as it was originally built as a family home in 1905 for the grandson of Thomas Cook and as such, our aim is always to provide a friendly and attentive level of service in a relaxed environment.

Our 26 acres of gardens and grounds are definately one of Barnett Hill's biggest attractions although November is not the best time to enjoy them to their fullest so you will just have to come back and stay with us again next year in the Spring or Summer!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed over for one night with a guest from Australia who was staying with us.We came from Chesham to attend a bonfire and firework display in Holmbury st Mary, with friends and family who live in Guildford, we would have definitely stayed longer if we hadnt had other commitments. The whole experience was perfect on arrival setting is beautiful, someone remarked on reviews it was like a setting from downtown abbey looks very grand gardens beautiful, the entrance hall to the reception is beautiful,as you can see on the internet.We were greeted by Barbara, what a lovely girl really made us feel at home very attentive shes a real assest to the hotel so welcoming offered us coffee in the dinning room area nothing was too much trouble shes very professional and so friendly cheerful makes a great atmosphere. All the staff so helpful cannot fault they have a good team working there. The rooms were of good standard very comfrotable bed and spotlessly clean, lovely big walk in power shower, and added touch of toiletries, had a great night sleep our guest was very impressed with it all. The breakfast was brilliant lots to chose from food could have been a little hotter but i know its hard on buffet but it was delicious Thank you for such an enjoyable stay we will be back definitely.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jill602013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnetthill, General Manager at Barnett Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Jill, Pat and Ian,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Barnett Hill. I was delighted to note that you had such an enjoyable stay with us albeit a little short but I hope you will return again in the future a spend a little longer with us.

Barbora and the rest of the team who looked after you are very appreciative of your positive comments in respect of the service and hospitality you received as it is always very reassuring to learn when we have met with and where possible exceeded the expectations of our guests.

We are of course continually looking at where to invest and how to improve the products and services we offer to our guests and whilst I appreciate your comments were generally very positive I am sorry if the hot breakfast selection was not as hot as it could have been which is something we will have to look at overcoming, delicious as it may have been!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnforth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and chose this hotel because they allow dogs to stay also.
We thought the whole experience was wonderful from the ever friendly staff for whom nothing was too much trouble ,to the amazing grounds and excellently maintained gardens.
Our room was lovely and easily large enough for 2 adults and 2 large dogs.We had an enjoyable stay and will definitely return and have no hesitation in recommending Barnett Hill to others.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2finchdrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnetthill, General Manager at Barnett Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Barnett Hill. I am delighted that you and the dogs had such an enjoyable stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Your comments regarding the level of service and hospitality you received are very much appreciated and gratefully received by all of the team and I thank you for you offer to recommend us to others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

We have just returned from this hotel and can honestly say that the location and gardens are stunning.Staff are very helpful and pleasant & the food was to a very good standard.However the object of going away for a couple of days was to have a restful & quite break , which is what is advertised at the is hotel , on arrival we were told we had been allocated a courtyard room which had just been redecorated and to quote ' was very nice ' the room itself was small and was on the ground floor and cold.Parking was right outside in a courtyard which was great for lifting in cases but when anyone left you heard the car start up , like having a room next to an NCP car park however the bed was very comfortable.We went out to eat on the first night and on arriving back fond a very large van parked in the courtyard so parking was difficult.
At 06:30 the next morning we were woken by the occupant in the room above getting up and taking a bath which was very noisy they then left at about 07:45 in the van not a restful start to ones day.After going out for the day I returned to find all the parking spaces taken and had to park on the grass.
The next morning we had the same early wake up call at 06:30.
So in conclusion not the restful break we had hoped for in fact we were woken up earlier than when we normally have to at home.

Room Tip: I recommend that you choose to stay in the main house not in the courtyard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelv501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnetthill, General Manager at Barnett Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Barnett Hill. I was very pleased to note that you enjoyed our location and setting and that overall the quality of food and service you received met with your expectations.

It was of course disappointing to note that the quality of your stay was, on occasions adversely affected by the movements and comings and goings of other residents which is not generally an issue but for which, I offer you my sincere apologies since it is never our intention to have anyone leave Barnett Hill feeling anything other than completely satisfied.

I am very sorry that your room was cold when you arrived and that it was perhaps not as spacious as you had expected. We are at that time of year when the weather cannot seem to make up its mind and therefore getting our heating on/off times just right at the moment has been a bit of a challenge. With regard to room sizes, being an old historic property the majority of our bedrooms vary greatly in terms of their size, style and appointment which is true for both the main house and the Courtyard alike however, I am very sorry if your room felt a little small for your liking.

Please be assured that we do take all forms of constructive feedback very seriously indeed and that when planning future refurbishments of the Courtyard bedrooms which are currently in the planning stage we will consider further any measures that can be taken to reduce noise disturbance both internal and external following your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park Gate
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Absolutely amazing venue for a relaxing weekend break .A house full of History it has great karma.it was donated to the Red Cross in a previous life and you can feel the good vibes .Staff were more than welcoming, helpful and very friendly,from the reception staff to the waiter and the guy who got soaking wet sorting out the bikes ...a big thank you .This is not your normal conference venue putting up with paying guests at the weekend .Food was great ,beautiful grounds to walk in and it was lovely to be able to hire a bike (for free!) to explore the spectacular surrounding country side full of autumn colour .We will be back . .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suntan907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnetthill, General Manager at Barnett Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Barnett Hill. We met just after dinner on the Saturday evening when you mentioned to me how much you had enjoyed your stay with us and i am delighted that you felt so well looked after.

It was great that you took the opportunity to make use of our bikes to get out and explore a little of the local area. As you have mentioned we have four bikes available for guest to use for free when staying with us but these rarely get used to I thank you for plugging them on our behalf!!

Whilst we are a conference and meetings venue, we are by no means the largest of venues therefore the size and setting of the house and its surroundings does lend itself to creating a more intimate feel than one might expect especially at weekends when we do not always have weddings or private events taking place although we always aim to treat all our guests with equal importance.

We look forward to seeing you again soon and I can highly recommend Springtime when the Rhododendrons within the grounds are in full flower as being another great time to visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We spend two glorious days at Barnett Hill ,as we drove up the drive we were delighted by the architecture of the hall inside it was full of original features and the beautiful tiled floor leading to the reception was magnificent , the rooms were clean and the food lovely ,served in a gorgeous panelled dining room the staff were polite and informative and we felt as if we were in a five star hotel. The gardens are truly spectacular and it is worth a stay purely to appreciate the surroundings .

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krystyna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnetthill, General Manager at Barnett Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Krystyna D

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Barnett Hill. I was delighted to note that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and that you felt very well looked after.

Your positive comments regarding your room and the food and service you received are greatly appreciated and I am very pleased that you had the opportunity to walk around our gardens and grounds which I would agree are something quite special.

We look forward to being of service to you again hopefully in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wonersh
3.0 mi away
Guildford Harbour Hotel
Guildford Harbour Hotel
#5 of 11 in Guildford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,819 reviews
3.3 mi away
Asperion
Asperion
#1 of 11 in Guildford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
3.0 mi away
Angel Posting House and Livery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#2 of 8 in Dorking
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
6.3 mi away
Asperion Hillside Hotel
Asperion Hillside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Worplesdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnett Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnett Hill Hotel

Property: Barnett Hill Hotel
Address: Barnett Hill House Blackheath Lane, Wonersh, Guildford GU5 0RF, England (Formerly Barnett Hill Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Guildford > Wonersh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wonersh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barnett Hill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Barnett Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnett Hill, a Sundial Group Venue Hotel Guildford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing