We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Daughter's Wedding”
Review of Barnett Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barnett Hill Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wonersh
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, England
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Daughter's Wedding”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We held our daughter's wedding here and we has exclusive use of the hotel and rooms. The staff were amazing as was the food and of course Mary Ann who helped us throughout the day. I would highly recommend this venue as it was perfect in every way.

Room Tip: The new Gardener's Cottages are beautiful .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alanward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnetthill, General Manager at Barnett Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Alan,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit a review on Trip Advisor following your daughter Samantha's 'exclusive use' wedding held at Barnett Hill on Saturday 12th April. We are all absolutely delighted that we were able to play a part in such a special occasion for you and your family and I thank you on behalf of all the team for your very positive comments regarding the food & service you and your guests received throughout the event. Please also be assured that I will draw Maryann's attention to your review if she hasn't read it already as I am sure she will most appreciative of your mention of her personal contribution!
Thank you also for your room tip regarding the new rooms in the Gardener's Cottage as these were only completed in August last year and are already proving to be very popular indeed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    151
    56
    23
    10
See reviews for
76
170
23
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Looking for a b and b near Surrey, England and found this wonderful retreat. Designed for conferences as well as a b and b hotel. Excellant staff and accomodations for the price. It has a bar and restaurant as well. Beautiful grounnd, 26 acres, and walking paths. Gloriously quiet.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnColo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnetthill, General Manager at Barnett Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear John,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Barnett Hill. I am so pleased that you found us when searching for somewhere local to Guildford that offers B&B accommodation. As you rightly point our we are primarily a residential conference and events venue but in a 'country house' style setting within 26 acres of glorious grounds and gardens.
Thank you for your very positive comments in respect of quality of accommodation and service you received during your stay for which we are very grateful and we hope to be of service to you again someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I booked in yesterday (Sunday) at the last minute. A warm welcome by Emma, a lovely quiet room, huge luxury bathroom, lots of lovely towels, a gorgeous bed, and a great breakfast helped make up my mind to stay again tonight. Perfect!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeatherMD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnetthill, General Manager at Barnett Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Heather MD

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Barnett Hill and for completing the review whilst you were still in residence! I was delighted to note how much you enjoyed your whole experience so much so that you were encouraged to stay with us for a second night. Your comments are much appreciated and we hope you will have the opportunity to stay with us again in the future when you are next visiting the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed as a red letter day. We were given a complimentary upgrade and stayed in a out house which was newly updated and it was great. There was a wedding going on so it was nice to be out of the way. The room was clean, modern and quiet. We had a lovely dinner. My only slight moan would be that dinner came very quickly. There was less then 5 minute wait between our starter and main.
We hired the free bikes and had a lovly bike ride around the grounds.
A lovely hotel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HampshireVictoria_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnetthill, General Manager at Barnett Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Barnett Hill on a Red Letter Days dinner, bed and breakfast break. I was delighted that we were able to offer you a complimentary upgrade at the time of your stay and that in providing you with accommodation away from the main house this added to your comfort and relaxation whilst we had a wedding celebration taking place.

Thank you for your very positive comments in respect of the recently developed new bedrooms in our Gardener's Cottage and the quality of the food you were served at dinner albeit a little too quickly for your liking which I am sorry if this made you feel a little rushed. It was also great to note that you made use of the complimentary bike hire to explore the gardens and grounds and I sincerely hope that you will consider returning to Barnett Hill for another visit in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Booked a last min night away here. When checking in we asked about the restaurant and was told there was 2 parties going on so we could not eat there and instead given a sandwich menu that we could have delivered to our room, which was not cheap! We wanted our evening dinner not a sandwich in our little room. We chose then had a call saying all they actually had was a cheese sandwich nothing else from the menu. Disappointing. The room was tiny, especially for a double room! It was away from to main building in the courtyard. Staff were not helpful and rude.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lookluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnetthill, General Manager at Barnett Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit a review on Trip Advisor following your stay at Barnett Hill in December last year. I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us and I apologise for our apparent failure to meet entirely with your expectations on this occasion.

Unfortunately so much time has elapsed since you stayed with us that I am unable to fully investigate your concerns however, from your comments it would appear that you may have arrived late after our kitchen had closed for the evening and last orders for dinner had been taken since this is the only time we would be unable to provide a full dinner service to individual hotel guests. After 9.30 p.m. we do normally offer a sandwich menu which is available 24 hours and includes a selection of fillings with a choice of white or granary bread. Once again I am very sorry if on the occasion of your stay we were only able to offer you cheese which would have been most unusual.

I am sorry if you found your room in our Courtyard accommodation too small for your liking and I apologise for any inconvenience or disappointment this may have caused you. As with many old historic properties the majority of our rooms do vary in terms of their size, style and appointment having originally been built as a family home in the early 1900's and some of our larger bedrooms which are situated in the main house do carry a rate premium as a result.

It would be most out of character for any member of the Barnett Hill team to be rude and unhelpful since it is never our intention to have anyone leave us feeling anything other than completely satisfied and generally the feedback we receive from our guests in this respect is always very positive. Therefore, I apologise once more if you were made to feel unwelcome in any way and I hope that you may consider giving us another opportunity in the future to demonstrate to you our usually high standards of service and hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This is a very nice hotel in superb grounds it is out of the way in lovely peaceful suroundings. The staff are great and very helpful, especially Mary Ann who co-ordinated the wedding and catering events associated with it, she is a true asset to Barnet Hill.
We are pensioners and attended a family wedding for about 60 people, the service was very good the food well presented and very efficiently served.
The prices are good value for money and the bar was very well stocked with good choice.
As we stayed for two nights the only fault was our room (24) which was definitely not big enough to be described as a double room to say the least, (you could not walk round the bed, see photo's) The very small wardrobe was half a single size and could not accommodate the clothes we had taken for two days. I had to climb over the bed to get to my side and at 74 that is not easy. The bathroom was large and modern but with one small shelf and no other storage space We asked twice at reception if we could have a bigger room but were told it was not possible. Would we stay again? Yes, but we would check out the size of our room first as room 24 is very cramped and uncomfortable.

Room Tip: Avoid room 24 and check out room sizes, some other rooms we saw were fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnetthill, General Manager at Barnett Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear John G

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Barnett Hill whilst attending a family wedding. I was very pleased to note that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and that the food and service during the wedding celebrations was much appreciated. Thank you also for your very kind comments about Maryann who looked after you so well on the day. She was awarded 'employee of the month' for March and received £50 so your praise for her was duly recognised!
I am sorry that you were allocated room 24 which you found too small and cramped and that due to us being fully booked over the weekend we were unable to move rooms for you when asked. I fully appreciate that the room itself is quite small and that accessing both sides of the bed is a challenge so do please accept my sincere apologies and be assured that, had we been able to offer you an alternative room that better suited your needs we would have done so since it is never our intention to have anyone leave Barnett Hill feeling anything other than completely satisfied.
I do hope you will have the opportunity to visit us again in the future perhaps when you are visiting your family in the area when you have my personal assurance that we will do our best to allocate you one of our larger bedrooms and ensure that you are well looked after.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

I have lived in this area for over forty years and never been here! What a fantastic venue , the whole evening was fantastic from the moment we were warmly greeted till we left , the meal was fantastic, well done to the amazing chefs , and Georgia and Colette were amazing!!!! Nothing was to much trouble!. I still cannot understand how I've missed this venue. Looking forward to another visit in the very near future! Perfect in every way.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Firgidssake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnetthill, General Manager at Barnett Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit a review on Trip Advisor following your recent visit to Barnett Hill whilst attending a friend's 60th birthday celebrations. I was delighted to note that you enjoyed such a 'fantastic' evening with us and I thank you for your very kind comments in respect of the quality of food and service you received.
I have passed on your comments to the chefs and Georgie and Colette have both received Sundial Star nominations for this month which could result in one of them being awarded £50 at the end of the month if their card is picked out in our monthly draw.
You know what they say 'it's never too late' and now that you've found us, we hopefully look forward to being of service to you again in the future when we will do our utmost to ensure you are well looked after and that any future celebrations are equally as enjoyable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wonersh
3.0 mi away
Guildford Harbour Hotel
Guildford Harbour Hotel
#6 of 11 in Guildford
1,893 reviews
3.3 mi away
Asperion
Asperion
#1 of 11 in Guildford
577 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Guildford
Holiday Inn Guildford
#3 of 11 in Guildford
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#1 of 8 in Dorking
112 reviews
3.0 mi away
Manor House Hotel & Spa
Manor House Hotel & Spa
#11 of 11 in Guildford
794 reviews
21.2 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnett Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnett Hill Hotel

Property: Barnett Hill Hotel
Address: Barnett Hill House Blackheath Lane, Wonersh, Guildford GU5 0RF, England (Formerly Barnett Hill Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Guildford > Wonersh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wonersh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barnett Hill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our manor house has been lovingly renovated with all of our guest facilities newly modernised and ready to welcome you. Alongside our 4-star hotel rating we are also delighted to inform you that our Oak Room Restaurant has recently been awarded 2 AA Rosettes with our new executive Head Chef, Lee Young, formally senior sous chef at the Four Seasons, Hampshire. Barnett Hill, a Queen Anne style Mansion dating back to 1905 was the dream of Frank Cook, Grandson of renowned travel agent ‘Thomas Cook’. Set within 26 acres of lovingly maintained gardens and woodland; sitting in the heart of the Surrey Hills just outside Guildford, Barnett Hill Country House Hotel takes a stunning hill top location, within the beautifully established area of outstanding natural beauty in Surrey. Positioned only 3 miles from Guildford town centre and 30 minutes from London, Barnett Hill is wonderfully convenient yet retains a tranquil and peaceful rural setting, with undisturbed 360 degree views of the Surrey Hills and surrounding countryside. The perfect hotel for your upcoming countryside escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Barnett Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnett Hill, a Sundial Group Venue Hotel Guildford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing