We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend break”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Barnett Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Barnett Hill Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wonersh
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Weekend break”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed for two nights at Barnett Hill. it is an imposing decorative building with beautiful grounds and gardens.the rooms were clean and plainly furnished good bathrooms but we were in the outlying cottages not in the main hotel ..so check this when you book
Breakfast was excellent and the service from every member of Staff far surpassed our expectations. nothing was too much trouble for any of them.I must say a special Thank you to Kerry who was wonderful.
Also you need a car unless you are great walkers as the Hotel is at the top of a long winding narrow road. But all in all good value for money

Room Tip: Try for the Main Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teresathebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnetthill, General Manager at Barnett Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Teresa,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit a review on Trip Advisor following your recent two night weekend break at Barnett Hill. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular the service you received from all the team especially Kerry. I will be sure to nominate her for our Sundial Star award during April as a result of your personal recommendation.
Thank you also for your advice to others regarding the need of a car or at least a bike when staying with us. Our rural setting is of course part of our appeal and we are in fact only 10 minutes from the centre of Guildford. However public transport services are limited and are not that regular so getting around without your own means of transport can be a challenge but we do have four bikes that guests can use on a complimentary basis and walking in the Surrey Hills is very good!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    136
    52
    22
    10
See reviews for
66
160
22
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

For a family get together near Guildford I booked 5 double rooms and a single rooms and had to make various alterations along the way such as requesting twin bedded rooms. Nothing was too much trouble & booking in was welcoming & smooth. All our rooms in the courtyard were very warm, clean, smart, comfortable with lovely bathrooms & tea/coffee tray. The self service breakfast consisted of a comprehensive array of fruits, cereals, continental & English all served with excellent coffee & friendly staff. The main house & gardens were idyllic & well maintained. We felt peaceful & relaxed here. We will definitely be booking up further overnight stays here when visiting family.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Walkingjunkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnetthill, General Manager at Barnett Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Barnett Hill and for choosing us as a base for your family 'get together' in the Guildford area. I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable and relaxing time with us and that the rural setting amongst our beautiful gardens and grounds provided you all with the peace and relaxation you were looking for.
We are very grateful for your kind comments in respect of the quality of accommodation, food and service you received from us throughout your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future when you are next in the area visiting your relatives.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We held our daughter's wedding here and we has exclusive use of the hotel and rooms. The staff were amazing as was the food and of course Mary Ann who helped us throughout the day. I would highly recommend this venue as it was perfect in every way.

Room Tip: The new Gardener's Cottages are beautiful .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alanward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnetthill, General Manager at Barnett Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Alan,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit a review on Trip Advisor following your daughter Samantha's 'exclusive use' wedding held at Barnett Hill on Saturday 12th April. We are all absolutely delighted that we were able to play a part in such a special occasion for you and your family and I thank you on behalf of all the team for your very positive comments regarding the food & service you and your guests received throughout the event. Please also be assured that I will draw Maryann's attention to your review if she hasn't read it already as I am sure she will most appreciative of your mention of her personal contribution!
Thank you also for your room tip regarding the new rooms in the Gardener's Cottage as these were only completed in August last year and are already proving to be very popular indeed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Colorado
Level Contributor
183 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Looking for a b and b near Surrey, England and found this wonderful retreat. Designed for conferences as well as a b and b hotel. Excellant staff and accomodations for the price. It has a bar and restaurant as well. Beautiful grounnd, 26 acres, and walking paths. Gloriously quiet.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnColo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnetthill, General Manager at Barnett Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear John,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Barnett Hill. I am so pleased that you found us when searching for somewhere local to Guildford that offers B&B accommodation. As you rightly point our we are primarily a residential conference and events venue but in a 'country house' style setting within 26 acres of glorious grounds and gardens.
Thank you for your very positive comments in respect of quality of accommodation and service you received during your stay for which we are very grateful and we hope to be of service to you again someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I booked in yesterday (Sunday) at the last minute. A warm welcome by Emma, a lovely quiet room, huge luxury bathroom, lots of lovely towels, a gorgeous bed, and a great breakfast helped make up my mind to stay again tonight. Perfect!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeatherMD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnetthill, General Manager at Barnett Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Heather MD

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Barnett Hill and for completing the review whilst you were still in residence! I was delighted to note how much you enjoyed your whole experience so much so that you were encouraged to stay with us for a second night. Your comments are much appreciated and we hope you will have the opportunity to stay with us again in the future when you are next visiting the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed as a red letter day. We were given a complimentary upgrade and stayed in a out house which was newly updated and it was great. There was a wedding going on so it was nice to be out of the way. The room was clean, modern and quiet. We had a lovely dinner. My only slight moan would be that dinner came very quickly. There was less then 5 minute wait between our starter and main.
We hired the free bikes and had a lovly bike ride around the grounds.
A lovely hotel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HampshireVictoria_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnetthill, General Manager at Barnett Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Barnett Hill on a Red Letter Days dinner, bed and breakfast break. I was delighted that we were able to offer you a complimentary upgrade at the time of your stay and that in providing you with accommodation away from the main house this added to your comfort and relaxation whilst we had a wedding celebration taking place.

Thank you for your very positive comments in respect of the recently developed new bedrooms in our Gardener's Cottage and the quality of the food you were served at dinner albeit a little too quickly for your liking which I am sorry if this made you feel a little rushed. It was also great to note that you made use of the complimentary bike hire to explore the gardens and grounds and I sincerely hope that you will consider returning to Barnett Hill for another visit in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Booked a last min night away here. When checking in we asked about the restaurant and was told there was 2 parties going on so we could not eat there and instead given a sandwich menu that we could have delivered to our room, which was not cheap! We wanted our evening dinner not a sandwich in our little room. We chose then had a call saying all they actually had was a cheese sandwich nothing else from the menu. Disappointing. The room was tiny, especially for a double room! It was away from to main building in the courtyard. Staff were not helpful and rude.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lookluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnetthill, General Manager at Barnett Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit a review on Trip Advisor following your stay at Barnett Hill in December last year. I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us and I apologise for our apparent failure to meet entirely with your expectations on this occasion.

Unfortunately so much time has elapsed since you stayed with us that I am unable to fully investigate your concerns however, from your comments it would appear that you may have arrived late after our kitchen had closed for the evening and last orders for dinner had been taken since this is the only time we would be unable to provide a full dinner service to individual hotel guests. After 9.30 p.m. we do normally offer a sandwich menu which is available 24 hours and includes a selection of fillings with a choice of white or granary bread. Once again I am very sorry if on the occasion of your stay we were only able to offer you cheese which would have been most unusual.

I am sorry if you found your room in our Courtyard accommodation too small for your liking and I apologise for any inconvenience or disappointment this may have caused you. As with many old historic properties the majority of our rooms do vary in terms of their size, style and appointment having originally been built as a family home in the early 1900's and some of our larger bedrooms which are situated in the main house do carry a rate premium as a result.

It would be most out of character for any member of the Barnett Hill team to be rude and unhelpful since it is never our intention to have anyone leave us feeling anything other than completely satisfied and generally the feedback we receive from our guests in this respect is always very positive. Therefore, I apologise once more if you were made to feel unwelcome in any way and I hope that you may consider giving us another opportunity in the future to demonstrate to you our usually high standards of service and hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wonersh
3.0 mi away
Guildford Harbour Hotel
Guildford Harbour Hotel
#5 of 11 in Guildford
1,816 reviews
3.3 mi away
Asperion
Asperion
#1 of 11 in Guildford
556 reviews
3.0 mi away
Angel Posting House and Livery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Asperion Hillside Hotel
Asperion Hillside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Worplesdon
349 reviews
6.1 mi away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#2 of 8 in Dorking
59 reviews
3.0 mi away
Manor House Hotel & Spa
Manor House Hotel & Spa
#11 of 11 in Guildford
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnett Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnett Hill Hotel

Property: Barnett Hill Hotel
Address: Barnett Hill House Blackheath Lane, Wonersh, Guildford GU5 0RF, England (Formerly Barnett Hill Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Guildford > Wonersh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wonersh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barnett Hill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Barnett Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnett Hill, a Sundial Group Venue Hotel Guildford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing