We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“what a wonderful find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barnett Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Barnett Hill Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wonersh
Certificate of Excellence
Ramsgate
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“what a wonderful find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

I stayed here with my partner on Sunday 4th May, we found the drive up to the hotel was so appealing, it smelt wonderful too. Check in was quick and efficient, offered an upgrade but declined as we wanted an en-suite that had a bath and shower. Our room was comfortable and welcoming and very clean with lots of lovely toiletries and nice biscuits and plenty of teas and coffees and a welcome bottle of spring water. The bed was oh so comfortable and the views from our room were lovely. We walked around the grounds in the early evening and promised we would go back again. The only downside if there was one was that our room was in the Courtyard which is lovely and quiet just perfect and we were able to park the car there too, but we had to climb a spiral staircase to get to our room this I did very dauntingly at first, and had to leave all the luggage to my partner, by the time I left the next day after a very nice breakfast with pleasant and accommodating staff I was almost unafraid of that staircase but not quite. Yes we will definitely be going back, so thank you Barnett Hill for a lovely but short stay.

Room Tip: lots of rooms have good views, however room number 1 which we were first offered only looked onto so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crazyannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnetthill, General Manager at Barnett Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Barnett Hill. I am delighted that you enjoyed your short stay with us and that everything apart from the climb up the spiral staircase to your room appears to have met with and hopefully exceeded your expectations!

As I mentioned in my response to another reviewer recently, we do have an alternative staircase that can be used to access the 1st floor bedrooms in the Courtyard albeit a a slightly longer way around but in light of both yours and the other comments received, I have now requested that my Reception team give guests the choice upon check-in.

We look forward to being of service to you again in the future and please don't leave it too long before you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    131
    51
    22
    10
See reviews for
62
159
22
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

This wonderful (huge) old property once owned by Thomas Cook, is fantastic. If you are a gardener you will appreciate the 25 acres of grounds and woodlands through which you may wander. We arrived early May to the wondrous sight of mature rhododendron and azaleas in full bloom ... reds, yellow, pinks and purples. Absolutely breath-taking.
The breakfast rooms and restaurant are typical of an old period house - wood clad walls and ornate architecture. We stayed in the Courtyard accommodation to one side of the main house. We were offered an upgrade on arrival to the main house, but when we discovered that the room had shower only facilities, we declined and took the room we had booked, sight unseen. We discovered that we had been assigned an upper floor room which had to be accessed via a metal spiral staircase. We were not warned of this by staff on arrival and at first look, the climb with suitcases seemed a real challenge for two elderly but supremely fit 64 year olds. However, the attic room was clean, comfortable and well furnished, The tea/coffee making facilities with quality biscuits was a nice touch. If anything was missing, I can only think that a box of tissues might have been added to the very nice bathroom toiletries provided. The bathroom was quite spacious and wholly unexpected - almost the size of the bedroom! I would certainly visit again and would recommend it to friends. Just remember to ask for a room that does not have to be accessed by that spiral staircase. On the other hand, why not pop in there and have a look at it yourself!

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs, especially a narrow spiral staircase, avoid a room in the upper flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rebelcall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnetthill, General Manager at Barnett Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Barnett Hill. I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and in particular that you were able to explore our wonderful grounds and gardens during the springtime.

Please accept my apologies for having to climb up the spiral staircase to your room which I appreciate can be a little challenging when carrying luggage however, there is another staircase that accesses the 1st floor of our Courtyard accommodation which is a slightly longer way around but you could have used it had it had it been pointed out to you. I must also apologise for the box of tissues that was missing in your room as this is part of our normal standards and as such should have been available.

I am of course very pleased that you would consider visiting Barnett Hill again in the future and for your offer to recommend us to your friends. We look forward to welcoming you back in due course!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
137 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

This is a lovely old house well off the beaten track, approached up a narrow country lane and through beautifully maintained grounds. The main entrance hall and breakfast room are particularly impressive. It is a combination of separate wings, cottages and courtyards so no doubt there is a lot of variety in the rooms. Our room was reasonably equipped and comfortable but not trying to be luxurious. The buffet breakfast was fine and staff were helpful.
This was very good value at a weekend. A good base for visiting places / people in the Guildford area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank colin49uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnetthill, General Manager at Barnett Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Colin,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit a review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at Barnett Hill. I was pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and felt that we offered very good value for money and an ideal base for visiting places of interest and people in the Guildford area. We look forward to hopefully being of service to you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We booked a couple of nights here over Easter for a getaway and that was exactly what it turned out to be. We stayed in the upstairs 2 roomed apartment of The Lodge (the little house by the main gate). It was a real find and was very reasonable.

The hotel grounds were spectacular with many paths to explore in the Spring sunshine with a very relaxing air.

The staff were very helpful and discreet and the food was well presents and tasty.

Would recommend this hideaway to anyone. (quite a few steps and stairs for the less mobile)

Couple of small points:
The radiators in the apartment could do with bleeding - they gurgled rather a lot!
Also, I am a shower person normally, but on holiday like to soak in a long, relaxing bath. The soap was in a container firmly fixed to the wall well above the bath and out of reach.

Thank you very much - wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grannee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnetthill, General Manager at Barnett Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Barnett Hill over Easter in The Lodge. I am delighted you enjoyed your experience and considered the Lodge to be a 'hideaway' that represented good value for money which is exactly how we would like our guests to describe it when it is available.

Thank you for your very positive comments in respect of the quality of the food and service you received throughout your stay and for your appreciation of our 'spectacular' gardens and grounds of which our estate team are justifiably very proud especially since there are only three of them!

I am sorry for the apparent presence of air in the upstairs radiators which I will have rectified immediately as this is something our housekeeping team have been trained to monitor routinely and I apologise for any inconvenience or disturbance this may have caused you. I have also noted your comment regarding the positioning of the liquid soap dispenser which we will re-position if possible failing which, we do have a supply of individually wrapped soaps available on request which may be another solution for us to consider.

Thank you once again for your comments and we look forward to hopefully being of service to you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed for two nights at Barnett Hill. it is an imposing decorative building with beautiful grounds and gardens.the rooms were clean and plainly furnished good bathrooms but we were in the outlying cottages not in the main hotel ..so check this when you book
Breakfast was excellent and the service from every member of Staff far surpassed our expectations. nothing was too much trouble for any of them.I must say a special Thank you to Kerry who was wonderful.
Also you need a car unless you are great walkers as the Hotel is at the top of a long winding narrow road. But all in all good value for money

Room Tip: Try for the Main Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teresathebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnetthill, General Manager at Barnett Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Teresa,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit a review on Trip Advisor following your recent two night weekend break at Barnett Hill. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular the service you received from all the team especially Kerry. I will be sure to nominate her for our Sundial Star award during April as a result of your personal recommendation.
Thank you also for your advice to others regarding the need of a car or at least a bike when staying with us. Our rural setting is of course part of our appeal and we are in fact only 10 minutes from the centre of Guildford. However public transport services are limited and are not that regular so getting around without your own means of transport can be a challenge but we do have four bikes that guests can use on a complimentary basis and walking in the Surrey Hills is very good!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

For a family get together near Guildford I booked 5 double rooms and a single rooms and had to make various alterations along the way such as requesting twin bedded rooms. Nothing was too much trouble & booking in was welcoming & smooth. All our rooms in the courtyard were very warm, clean, smart, comfortable with lovely bathrooms & tea/coffee tray. The self service breakfast consisted of a comprehensive array of fruits, cereals, continental & English all served with excellent coffee & friendly staff. The main house & gardens were idyllic & well maintained. We felt peaceful & relaxed here. We will definitely be booking up further overnight stays here when visiting family.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Walkingjunkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnetthill, General Manager at Barnett Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Barnett Hill and for choosing us as a base for your family 'get together' in the Guildford area. I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable and relaxing time with us and that the rural setting amongst our beautiful gardens and grounds provided you all with the peace and relaxation you were looking for.
We are very grateful for your kind comments in respect of the quality of accommodation, food and service you received from us throughout your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future when you are next in the area visiting your relatives.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We held our daughter's wedding here and we has exclusive use of the hotel and rooms. The staff were amazing as was the food and of course Mary Ann who helped us throughout the day. I would highly recommend this venue as it was perfect in every way.

Room Tip: The new Gardener's Cottages are beautiful .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alanward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnetthill, General Manager at Barnett Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Alan,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit a review on Trip Advisor following your daughter Samantha's 'exclusive use' wedding held at Barnett Hill on Saturday 12th April. We are all absolutely delighted that we were able to play a part in such a special occasion for you and your family and I thank you on behalf of all the team for your very positive comments regarding the food & service you and your guests received throughout the event. Please also be assured that I will draw Maryann's attention to your review if she hasn't read it already as I am sure she will most appreciative of your mention of her personal contribution!
Thank you also for your room tip regarding the new rooms in the Gardener's Cottage as these were only completed in August last year and are already proving to be very popular indeed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wonersh
3.4 mi away
Asperion
Asperion
#1 of 11 in Guildford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
3.0 mi away
Guildford Harbour Hotel
Guildford Harbour Hotel
#5 of 11 in Guildford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,791 reviews
6.3 mi away
Asperion Hillside Hotel
Asperion Hillside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Worplesdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Angel Posting House and Livery
3.0 mi away
Manor House Hotel & Spa
Manor House Hotel & Spa
#11 of 11 in Guildford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Guildford
Holiday Inn Guildford
#2 of 11 in Guildford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnett Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnett Hill Hotel

Property: Barnett Hill Hotel
Address: Barnett Hill House Blackheath Lane, Wonersh, Guildford GU5 0RF, England (Formerly Barnett Hill Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Guildford > Wonersh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wonersh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barnett Hill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Barnett Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnett Hill, a Sundial Group Venue Hotel Guildford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing