We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired Rooms”
Review of Barnett Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barnett Hill Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wonersh
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Tired Rooms”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Positive points are the setting,comfy bed and a fabulous breakfast. On the downside the room decor is very very tired and whilst clean gives the impression of being grubby. The shower head in my room did not fit in the holder causing issues and the bathroom resembled that of a 70's bedsit

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank speedie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnetthill, General Manager at Barnett Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Barnett Hill. I completely understand you comment regarding a small selection of our rooms that currently require some updating and modernisation. Please be assured that, as part of a rolling programme of in-house refurbishment and other more substantial investment plans currently being considered for the redevelopment of 27 bedroom in our Courtyard accommodation, we are acutely aware of the need for continual improvement some of which has already been achieved in the recent past but does take time to complete thoroughly and sympathetically in a grade 2* listed building.
On a positive note however, I was very pleased that you found your room to be clean, the bed to be comfortable and our breakfast 'fabulous' which are all things we aim to provide to all our guests on a daily basis along with hopefully outstanding hospitality.
We look forward to being of service to you again when you are next in the area on business when we will do out utmost to ensure you are well looked after.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    141
    53
    22
    10
See reviews for
70
165
22
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Egmont, Pei
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The drive from Surrey Hills to this gorgeous old estate certainly whetted one's appetite for what was to come :) Having found a very reasonable price for Barnett Hill at booking.com - a double room including breakfast at £55 (incl VAT) - I wondered what experience awaited us. Simply outstanding property and people. Upon arrival, before checking in we strolled thru the gardens; the 3 employees we met there were knowledgeable and very friendly. At the check-in desk, again we were greeted by a very nice young lady who upgraded us (without our requesting it!) to a very large room with a fireplace, a king-size bed and 3 big windows overlooking the lawn, the gardens and the faraway Surrey hills. The free wi-fi was reliable and fast. Breakfast was a very nice buffet with lots of choices. For dinner our choices were limited but all the different dishes we had (2 evenings) were excellent. Quality espresso was available 24 hours a day - nice touch!! Trekkers will love this place; Barnett Hill welcomes dogs and the woodlands and adjoining pastures afford plenty of opportunity for long walks.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConstantTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnetthill, General Manager at Barnett Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Barnett Hill. I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and that due to the dates on which you stayed, you were able to take advantage of our most competitive rates and in addition, we were able to offer you a complimentary upgrade.
Thank you for your very positive comments regarding the service and hospitality you received from various members of the Barnett Hill team and for your compliments regarding the quality of our breakfast and the food service for dinner in the evenings.
Our rural location within the heart of the Surrey Hills certainly makes us an ideal location for those wishing to relax and unwind yet we are still only 'a stone's throw' away from the county town of Guildford making Barnett Hill a popular destination for business meetings and events as well.
We hope you will have the opportunity to visit Barnett Hill again in the future when we look forward to being of service to you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We had our Annual office day here and we stayed overnight too. The conference facilities are really good and they will organise everything you will need to host a conference.

This is located in a very nice country side location and has really nice view. They have a large garden and in the summer, it is very very beautiful!

The rooms we stayed in were decent..they looked a bit dated and probably need a bit of face lift but overall it was good.

The food at the restaurant is really good (specially the breakfast!). They have a small games room with Table Tennis, pool table etc, which was nice.

Overall, I would recommend this place for hosting company meetings!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank speedyLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnetthill, General Manager at Barnett Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Barnett Hill whilst attending your annual office away day and overnight stay. Your positive comments in respect of all aspects of your stay are greatly appreciated as is your endorsement of Barnett Hill as an ideal venue for hosting company residential and day meetings.
I am delighted that you had the opportunity and the weather to allow you and your colleagues to enjoy the beauty of our grounds and gardens and please be assured that we are aware of the need to continually upgrade our accommodation which is carried out as part of a rolling in-house programme of refurbishment and well as at times, business permitting more substantial investment projects.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This is a great location just outside Guildford. Unfortunately it gets booked up as a result of reviews like this. Lovely setting - perfect for small courses/meetings. The staff are well trained but human which really helps for a conference venue. Single rooms are quite small but adequate.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank servicechampion2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnetthill, General Manager at Barnett Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit a review on trip Advisor following your recent at Barnett Hill whilst travelling on business. I am delighted that you had a successful and productive stay with us and that you enjoyed the service and hospitality you received.
I have noted your comment regarding the size of our single bedded rooms of which there are currently seven out of sixty bedrooms however, I am very pleased to advise that we are in the process applying for listed building consent to remodel the 27 bedrooms in our Courtyard accommodation to provide all double rooms in due course which, will be a significant improvement despite the loss of approximately six rooms in total.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Almost a month ago the wedding of our son and new daughter-in-law took place here. The most memorable weekend for all concerned. A truly wonderful experience . Many thanks and congratulations to all staff and especially Maryann who worked so hard to provide an unforgettable couple of days . THANK YOU !

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beancounter186361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnetthill, General Manager at Barnett Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit a review on Trip Advisor following your son's wedding reception in April this year and for your ringing endorsement of Barnett Hill as a 'fantastic wedding venue'. I am delighted that we were able to play such an integral role in celebrating such a special day and your very kind comments in respect of all the team and in particular Maryann are greatly appreciated,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Wonderful location, great park with beautiful plants everywhere. A lot of room to walk, sit and relax. Rooms are small but cozy, clean and well maintained. Very helpful and nice staff. We stayed with our kids and our daughter got sick - the staff was willing to drive us to hospital.

The food at the restaurant for breakfast and dinner is very good. Fresh and well cooked.

As possible improvement, I would suggest adding some storage space in the rooms and couple of hooks in the rooms and in the bathrooms

Overall, highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALEXMIKO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnetthill, General Manager at Barnett Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Alex

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Barnett Hill with your family. I am sorry that your daughter fell ill during the course of your stay with us and I am pleased that we were in a position to offer you assistance. Hopefully she is now fully recovered and feeling much better.

Thank you for your very positive comments in respect of the gardens & grounds which are full of colour at this time of year and for your comments in respect of the quality of food, service and hospitality you received during your stay. I have noted your comments regarding the provision of more storage space and hooks in the bedrooms and bathrooms and wherever space permits in future refurbishments we will take this in to consideration.

Thank you once again for your comments and hopefully we may be of service to you again in the future if you are ever visiting the Guildford area and the Surrey Hills.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsgate
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I stayed here with my partner on Sunday 4th May, we found the drive up to the hotel was so appealing, it smelt wonderful too. Check in was quick and efficient, offered an upgrade but declined as we wanted an en-suite that had a bath and shower. Our room was comfortable and welcoming and very clean with lots of lovely toiletries and nice biscuits and plenty of teas and coffees and a welcome bottle of spring water. The bed was oh so comfortable and the views from our room were lovely. We walked around the grounds in the early evening and promised we would go back again. The only downside if there was one was that our room was in the Courtyard which is lovely and quiet just perfect and we were able to park the car there too, but we had to climb a spiral staircase to get to our room this I did very dauntingly at first, and had to leave all the luggage to my partner, by the time I left the next day after a very nice breakfast with pleasant and accommodating staff I was almost unafraid of that staircase but not quite. Yes we will definitely be going back, so thank you Barnett Hill for a lovely but short stay.

Room Tip: lots of rooms have good views, however room number 1 which we were first offered only looked onto so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crazyannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnetthill, General Manager at Barnett Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Barnett Hill. I am delighted that you enjoyed your short stay with us and that everything apart from the climb up the spiral staircase to your room appears to have met with and hopefully exceeded your expectations!

As I mentioned in my response to another reviewer recently, we do have an alternative staircase that can be used to access the 1st floor bedrooms in the Courtyard albeit a a slightly longer way around but in light of both yours and the other comments received, I have now requested that my Reception team give guests the choice upon check-in.

We look forward to being of service to you again in the future and please don't leave it too long before you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wonersh
3.0 mi away
Guildford Harbour Hotel
Guildford Harbour Hotel
#6 of 11 in Guildford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,840 reviews
3.3 mi away
Asperion
Asperion
#1 of 11 in Guildford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
3.0 mi away
Angel Posting House and Livery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#2 of 8 in Dorking
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
6.3 mi away
Asperion Hillside Hotel
Asperion Hillside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Worplesdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnett Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnett Hill Hotel

Property: Barnett Hill Hotel
Address: Barnett Hill House Blackheath Lane, Wonersh, Guildford GU5 0RF, England (Formerly Barnett Hill Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Guildford > Wonersh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wonersh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barnett Hill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our manor house has been lovingly renovated with all of our guest facilities newly modernised and ready to welcome you. Alongside our 4-star hotel rating we are also delighted to inform you that our Oak Room Restaurant has recently been awarded 2 AA Rosettes with our new executive Head Chef, Lee Young, formally senior sous chef at the Four Seasons, Hampshire. Barnett Hill, a Queen Anne style Mansion dating back to 1905 was the dream of Frank Cook, Grandson of renowned travel agent ‘Thomas Cook’. Set within 26 acres of lovingly maintained gardens and woodland; sitting in the heart of the Surrey Hills just outside Guildford, Barnett Hill Country House Hotel takes a stunning hill top location, within the beautifully established area of outstanding natural beauty in Surrey. Positioned only 3 miles from Guildford town centre and 30 minutes from London, Barnett Hill is wonderfully convenient yet retains a tranquil and peaceful rural setting, with undisturbed 360 degree views of the Surrey Hills and surrounding countryside. The perfect hotel for your upcoming countryside escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Barnett Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnett Hill, a Sundial Group Venue Hotel Guildford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing