We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting but otherwise very Basil Fawlty!”
Review of Barnett Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barnett Hill Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wonersh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Such a shame. This hotel is run on behalf of The Red Cross. It is in a beautiful setting and has glorious gardens. However, the room we stayed in was cramped and very short of standing room. We were on the second floor and our room was in one corner of the lovely house but built into the slope of the roof. A few bumps and bruises but we survived! The restaurant was a sham. A young chap who had been seconded from bar duty was doing his best to keep up with service but he was a little out of his depth. The 'restaurant' was a side room with somewhat austere décor.

Room Tip: Try another hotel in the area
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnetthill, General Manager at Barnett Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Paul V
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Barnett Hill. I was of course most disappointed to note your comments and I am very sorry that on this occasion we apparently failed to meet with your expectations since it is never our intention to have guests leave Barnett Hill feeling anything other than completely satisfied.
Up until 2004 Barnett Hill was owned by the British Red Cross as it used to be their national training centre however, since then it has been owned and operated by the Sundial Group an independent, award wining, family owned and operated business and whist the Red Cross remain clients of ours we do not operate Barnett Hill on their behalf any longer.
Having been build originally in 1905 as a private family home for the grandson of Thomas Cook the size, style and appointment of the bedrooms in the Grade 2* listed property do vary somewhat which, in many ways adds to the character and charm of the building and I am very sorry if this was not what you had expected.
Please also accept my apologies for the apparent disappointment you experienced when dining in our smaller brasserie restaurant due to our Oak Hall dining room being full. All our service team are multi-skilled and are capable of working either in the bar or food service areas so this should not have been a concern and it is certainly not reflective of the usually high standards of service, hospitality and customer care we aim to provide.
I am disappointed that you felt strongly enough to have suggested to others that they would be better of staying elsewhere when visiting the Guildford area as I do believe based upon the majority of positive reviews we receive that we offer a good level of service and hospitality however once again, I apologise if on this occasion we failed to get things quite right for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (490)
There are newer reviews for Barnett Hill Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

297 - 303 of 490 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

I've only stayed at Barnett Hill for workshops and other business meetings and often think that I should return for a leisure break! Barnett Hill is FAB - the staff are excellent. They are extremely friendly, efficient and very personable. Food is delicious and the bedrooms incredibly clean. Facilities? The meeting rooms have everything you need and all of this is set in a beautiful, elegant, old family home and extensive and well maintained grounds.

On my last visit there was a small group who'd been out for an early morning run and really appreciated the setting. Me? I enjoyed the cooked breakfast! We had dinner in a private room the night before and the food was pre-ordered from a small menu choice, but the food could not be faulted. It was well presented and delicious.

I do enjoy the time I spend at Barnett Hill and cannot praise the venue enough, although having said all this, I rarely sleep well - it has nothing to do with the comfortable bed and rooms, but more to do with early morning light coming through the blinds? Plumbing noises from other rooms and/or the dawn chorus in the early hours. There's little the venue can do about most of these things, so perhaps go expecting a bad nights sleep and be pleasantly surprised?

They seem to host a lot of weddings and birthday events, so I'm not sure how it would work to use this venue like a hotel? But imagine it would work really well for private parties....

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnetthill, General Manager at Barnett Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Margaret,
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit a review on Trip Advisor following your most recent stay at Barnett Hill whilst attending a business event. I am very pleased that having stayed with us on several occasions you have always found our hospitality, food, service and facilities excellent and I thank you for your very positive comments in respect of these aspects of your stay.
I am of course sorry that you have apparently rarely slept well when staying with us which is not something that we often hear however, I have noted your comments regarding light coming in through the window coverings in certain rooms and plumbing noise which is something we will of course investigate and put right wherever possible. Unfortunately the 'dawn chorus' is something that may be a little more difficult for us to control but we are using more modern materials such as double glazing where possible when we carry out major refurbishment work although in the summer with windows open this does not always help!
It is true that we do host a number of weddings and private events throughout the year especially at weekends however, these events are not taking place every weekend and we always make sure that any guests wishing to stay with us are made aware of any such events that may be taking place. We are therefore well practiced at looking after all our guests needs no matter what their reason is for staying with us and we will always do our utmost to ensure everyone in well looked after.
Thank you once again for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Booked a standard double for a birthday weekend break. The grounds and hotel are lovely and cannot fault it. The staff so friendly and helpful. However the courtyard room we were given was dated. Although quirky, room was small, double bed was smaller than a double in our opinion. Room was hot and had to have windows open and fan on all night. Bath was stained. Stains on cushion on bed. We can see that they want to keep in with the original features of the building however does need some updating. Breakfast lovely and the area is peaceful. We would stay again but would be looking for one of the hotel rooms next time.

Room Tip: Choose a hotel room or something higher than standard room in courtyard area
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M00n2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnetthill, General Manager at Barnett Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Barnett Hill for a birthday weekend break. I am pleased that you enjoyed the setting and the overall ambience of the property and that the service you received from the team met with your expectations. I am sorry however that you were slightly disappointed with the quality of your room in our Courtyard accommodation and that some of the housekeeping standards were not as good as they should have been. You are quite right in your observation that we are trying to preserve the original features of the building but we have already completed the refurbishment of some rooms within the Courtyard however, we are currently in the process of obtaining listed building consent to carry out a further more extensive refurbishment of this part of the property which will be completed in three phases hopefully over 18 months starting early next year. I am delighted that you would consider staying with us again and would encourage you to do so and please do mention when making a reservation that you have stayed with us before and we will do our utmost to ensure you are allocated a room of your choice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My partner booked a last minute Sunday deal here and it was great. The staff encouraged us to explore the house and the gardens, gave us maps and a brief history of the place. The room was comfortable and clean, and we were never short of anything to do. As it was a Sunday it was relatively quiet so we had the run of the grounds and games room! Dinner was simple yet delicious, the staff added value in everything they did - getting us breakfast even though we had got the time wrong, opening the bar just for us etc. So nice to know this is so close to our London life but feels so far.

Room Tip: Overlooking the garden is the prett
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 380HMNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnetthill, General Manager at Barnett Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Barnett Hill. I am delighted that the team looked after you so well and that they demonstrated a genuine interest in you as our guests. As you have mentioned Barnett Hill is only a short journey from London either by car or by train and you can very quickly be in the heart of the Surrey Hills enjoying the peace and tranquility of our beautifully secluded grounds and gardens which are certainly something we are very proud of. Now that you know where we are, we are looking forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future when you next fancy a break from city life!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night and had a great time, the surroundings and the hotel itself was beautiful. The staff where so friendly and helpful especially the waitresses in the Brasserie restaurant where we had our meal. The room was very comfortable only tiny problem was the shower was either boiling or freezing, apart from that I can't fault it. Would love to stay again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Rwalkerolive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnetthill, General Manager at Barnett Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Barnett Hill and for your very positive comments in respect of the service and hospitality you received which are very much appreciated. Please accept my apologies for the temperamental behaviour of the shower water temperature in you room which is something we will have to investigate and I'm sorry for any inconvenience or discomfort this may have caused you. We sincerely hope you will have the opportunity to stay with us again in the future when you have my personal assurance that we will do our utmost to ensure you are well looked after.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

This is located in a very beautiful green area that is about 15 minutes away from Guildford by car. The surrounding green, outdoor area is beautiful and peaceful. Yet the interior is rather old-looking and tired. Breakfast is simple but tasty.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
3  Thank Snufkinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnetthill, General Manager at Barnett Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Barnett Hill. I am delighted that you had the opportunity to enjoy our grounds and gardens during your stay and I am sorry if you felt the overall appearance of the interior of Barnett Hill was rather 'old looking and tired' Please be assured that we are continually working to maintain and improve such an old historic property however, we have always been keen to preserve the house in as an original style as possible due to its grade 2* listing. Thank you also for your comments regarding the quality of our buffet style breakfast which I am pleased you enjoyed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

This beautiful, grand old estate has quite a history, and the gardens are lovely.

Check-in was fairly painless--just a signature and off we went with our room key.

Our room was large enough, and nicely appointed. Despite the cool outside temperature, though, the room was quite warm; even with the windows open, the room never cooled down. Unfortunately, there was no stand for the luggage (not even in the closet), so on the floor it went.

Each day, there was a free bottle of water in the room--an excellent bonus.

The bed was a bit soft, and rather small for two people, but it worked. The non-feather pillow option was a nice touch. Only one side of the bed had a power outlet, making it difficult to charge both mobile phones at bedside while sleeping.

The bathroom was massive, and included a tub/shower combo. The shower was well scrubbed with no trace of mold; the only moldy bits were on the bottom of the shower door. The rainshower head put out decent water pressure, and the temperature stayed hot.

Though the toilet paper was very thick, it was rough as a badger's bum. And the boxed tissue was like sandpaper. Soft tissue and toilet paper would be much more welcomed!

Breakfast was excellent, with plenty of hot items, plus homemade yogurt and granola, cheese, fruit, pastries, and more.

The staff were pleasant and accommodating. The barman, James, was very friendly, and kindly shared additional information about the property. They had an OK wine list, though we would've preferred to have seen more variety by the glass. The dining room was lovely and the dinner was mostly good. The beautifully-presented food all tasted burnt the first night; however, it was much better the next night.

The WiFi was free and strong. There's ample, free, open-air parking around the hotel. There are some lovely walking paths around the grounds, and the terrace is a fabulous place to sit when the sun's out.

If we're in the area again, we'd likely return.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank RoadWrangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnetthill, General Manager at Barnett Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit such a comprehensive review of your recent stay at Barnett Hill on Trip Advisor which is much appreciated. I am delighted that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us barring a few minor disappointments all of which I have taken note of as they are valid observations of somebody who is clearly well travelled. Please accept my apologies for the apparent issue with the food quality at dinner on your first night which is certainly not reflective of our usually high standards and I was pleased to note that this was much improved on the second night of your stay. I sincerely hope that you will have another opportunity to stay with us again in the future and in the meantime I will be working on some of the improvements you have suggested.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wonersh
21.2 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
6.1 mi away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#1 of 8 in Dorking
174 reviews
3.0 mi away
Guildford Harbour Hotel
Guildford Harbour Hotel
#5 of 11 in Guildford
1,937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Guildford
Holiday Inn Guildford
#4 of 11 in Guildford
722 reviews
3.3 mi away
Asperion
Asperion
#1 of 11 in Guildford
594 reviews
15.1 mi away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 3 in Egham
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnett Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnett Hill Hotel

Address: Barnett Hill House Blackheath Lane, Wonersh, Guildford GU5 0RF, England (Formerly Barnett Hill Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Guildford > Wonersh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wonersh
Price Range: £84 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barnett Hill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our manor house has been lovingly renovated with all of our guest facilities newly modernised and ready to welcome you. Alongside our 4-star hotel rating we are also delighted to inform you that our Oak Room Restaurant has recently been awarded 2 AA Rosettes with our new executive Head Chef, Lee Young, formally senior sous chef at the Four Seasons, Hampshire. Barnett Hill, a Queen Anne style Mansion dating back to 1905 was the dream of Frank Cook, Grandson of renowned travel agent ‘Thomas Cook’. Set within 26 acres of lovingly maintained gardens and woodland; sitting in the heart of the Surrey Hills just outside Guildford, Barnett Hill Country House Hotel takes a stunning hill top location, within the beautifully established area of outstanding natural beauty in Surrey. Positioned only 3 miles from Guildford town centre and 30 minutes from London, Barnett Hill is wonderfully convenient yet retains a tranquil and peaceful rural setting, with undisturbed 360 degree views of the Surrey Hills and surrounding countryside. The perfect hotel for your upcoming countryside escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Barnett Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnett Hill, a Sundial Group Venue Hotel Guildford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing