We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great little place”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Holmwood Bothy

Private courtyard garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private courtyard garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Private courtyard garden
Private courtyard garden
View from the road
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Elstead, Surrey, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Wanderer6...
1 review
“Great little place”
Reviewed 26 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We spend four days there, and the bothy was a great place to kick back and enjoy our selves.
All daily necessities were available within walking distance, which took a lot of stress off, as we didn't have to find a bus everyday.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Playing frogger back and forth the road every time we went out
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_and...
Somerset
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect little lodgings for 2!”
Reviewed 3 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A lovely little lodge house for 2! We picked it for the location near to The Mill where we were attending a wedding (no taxi required as it was within walking distance). The owner Alister met us with the key and welcomed us. It's a very private rental with its own garden. No parking, but not an issue as you can park on the green after unloading, which is only a one minute or so walk. Elstead is a lovely, leafy village. The photos don't do justice to the cottage. It is much nicer in the flesh! The fixtures, fittings and bedding are all of a high quality and it's a very comfortable and cosy place to stay. Thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and quality
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Val R
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clean, cosy and comfortable”
Reviewed 30 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I sent my initial enquiry in a bit of a panic on a Sunday afternoon, asking to stay the next night and was very pleased that Allister (the friendly, helpful owner) responded within a couple of hours, and was happy to keep in touch by text while we were travelling and during our stay.

This pretty little cottage was very easy to find, only 15-20 minutes off the M25. Although there’s no parking on site or directly outside, it’s right opposite a pub with a car park where we could stop to unload. There’s free on-street parking less than 100 yards away. There was a certain amount of traffic noise as the road was surprisingly busy at peak times, but this was only for short periods and didn’t spoil our stay.

The cottage is next door to the owner’s home, but has its own private, enclosed garden – a lovely sunny spot for breakfast al fresco. Allister explained that he might occasionally need access through our garden to get to the bins, but he didn’t disturb us and it wasn’t a problem.

A comprehensive information folder provided handy instructions for the the household appliances - we would never have worked out how to operate the oven without it! There was a small but varied collection of books to read, and an interesting history of the village and its surroundings. For those with time to explore there seems to be plenty to do nearby, particularly if you like walks, gardens and stately homes.

The cosy, open plan living room/kitchen has a very efficient smoke detector. (Tip: open the window and/or use the extractor fan if grilling bacon!) The kitchen area was clean and suitably equipped for people who like to eat simply, and the owner had generously provided tea, coffee and fresh milk.

The bed was large and comfortable; it’s actually two singles linked together, but we only realised this because of the separate headboards – there’s no noticeable gap in the mattress!
The wardrobe has shelves inside and plenty of hangers, but the rail is too low to hang a full-length skirt or dress. However, there were hooks on the back of the door to the stairs which would have been suitable.

The spacious en-suite has a large, easy-to-operate shower, with plenty of hot water. There’s a handy adjustable mirror at the right height for applying make-up (or shaving).
Bed linen, towels and toiletries were provided. Also lovely soft bathrobes, but sadly we didn’t notice these in the top of the wardrobe until we were leaving.

This is a lovely cottage for any length of stay, in a very accessible location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mhmvander...
Gouda, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“Centrally located to visit Surrey, very clean, cozy and 3 pubs within one minute walk”
Reviewed 6 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Perfectly located in Surrey - a beautiful area - to do some nice walks around Shere, Hindhead, Tilford etc. and ofcourse Elstead - directly from the cottage. Travel to Guildford in 15 minutes by car and take the train to London - waterloo station (37 minutes).
Very clean cottage with good working Kitchen (oven, washing machine, cooker), very comfortable and cozy, perfect heating and nice bathroom.
Has perfect pubs/restaurants in minutes walking distance, very convenient.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warks2014
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Little Gem in the heart of the village”
Reviewed 3 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Almost perfect holiday accommodation - characterful, clean and complete. Fiendly Allister was very helpful when at the last minute I realised that I had got my end date muddled and on arrival provided a welcome supply of tea bags coffee and milk. Double glazed and centrally heated it made for a comfortable stay - especially with the luxury of a spacious shower and excellent bed. The location near a number of foodie pubs and a good range of village shops was very convenient. Only the adjacent country road prevented this from being the absolute perfect location , though I would not hesitate to return in future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character
Liked least: The road
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
natasha r
Nuremberg, Germany
1 review
“A PERFECT little home away from home”
Reviewed 19 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We had a truly lovely stay in this beautifully restored and furnished little house. Everything was just perfect!
Starting from the little container of milk in the fridge, the complimentary biscuits and tea/coffe - TWO TVs in such a little house :0 (perfect!)
Beautiful bathroom,
Comfy beds
Tateful furnishings
More than lovely host
We will certainly return again :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything was perfect
Liked least: IF you have to find fault, then there is no direct parking - but that is of NO real consequence
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caroline7...
Surrey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Home for a while”
Reviewed 30 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed at The Bothy on our return from the U.S. After eight years. My husband started a new job in the next village so location was perfect. Loved the village so much we have now rented a flat there to start our new life.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Smoke alarm went off when oven door opened.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing