We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“go for the surroundings”

The Mill at Elstead
Ranked #4 of 5 Restaurants in Elstead
Price range: US$8 - US$26
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, View, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: One of Surrey's best country pubs, the unique converted mill at Elstead is steeped in history and surrounded with beauty. The pub, on the river Wey, invites you to relax with great food and drink while the swans, ducks and water wheel outside play their part in the magic.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“go for the surroundings”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My wife and I went to the Mill for some food on Sunday evening. We had fish and chips and the chicken pie, which was all nice if nothing special. They did good coffee and brownies for dessert.

The main attraction though is the location. Go on a sunny day and you can enjoy sitting by the stream, sitting on a bench with a beer watching the ducks in the large outdoor sitting areas.It would be a lovely place to stop after a hike or bike ride.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jason N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    154
    104
    93
    60
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
surrey
Level Contributor
357 reviews
244 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Lovely setting and pretty good food.”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Went for lunch here and sat on the balcony at the back overlooking the river. It is a stunning location, and the tables were mostly shaded from the sun, if preferred. The menu has options for most tastes, but no salads unfortunately. The lamb noisettes were very tender and tasty, but the potatoes were rather disappointing. You can buy food for the ducks as a donation for a bird charity, and the ducks weren't at all a problem where we were sitting. Will go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pmas53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Enjoyable lunch in a perfect setting.”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

After reading the mixed reviews I was very pleased with the lunch our party of six were served on a Friday lunch time.Friendly helpful staff, varied menu delicious food well presented,Our table was on a terrace overlooking the water.
The attractive grounds are extensive and on a busy day , we were told 500 covers possible, some tables are a distance from the kitchens and I can imagine this could lead to delays.My advice would be to book in advance. All in all we had a pleasant experience at The Mill and will return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PMDSW13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lack of choice on a Sunday evening”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We came here on Sunday evening. Unfortunately many of our first choices were no longer available, but we eventually found something to eat. The excuse was they had a busy lunchtime service and had run out of many items! What we did have was OK, but nowhere near as good as previous experiences.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffthechef1, General Manager at The Mill at Elstead, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Hi Peter

Really sorry about that, can assure you that its very rare for us to run out of the Sunday Roasts before the end of service, also the fish special was very popular. It was a record Sunday here, but the chefs have taken this experience into account for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Flat prosecco”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and friend were served with flat prosecco and advised it was company policy that the old bottle , even if flat , must be served before opening a new one so off to a bad start ! We were lunching so guess it was yesterday's bottle. Fortunately the bad start stopped there. The place has charm , the service was charming and the food quality very enjoyable. We will recommend The Mill and look forward to our next jaunt into the Surrey countryside.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank cammorrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffthechef1, General Manager at The Mill at Elstead, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Hi Cammorrow

Really glad you enjoyed your visit. Think maybe something has got lost in translation with the Prosecco staff traing though! Of course its not policy to use up the bottle if its flat! We obviously do try not to waist it, but if it is flat we open a new one. When pouring into a measure it can sometimes appear to be more lively than it actually is, but if thats the case, it should have been changed no questions asked.
Hopefully your next visit will be a 5 star!
See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Mill at Elstead also viewed

 

Been to The Mill at Elstead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing