We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“England's Glory!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mizzards Farm B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rogate
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mizzards Farm B & B
Ranked #2 of 2 Rogate B&B and Inns
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“England's Glory!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

We've chosen three B&Bs from the Sawday's guide so far and all have been excellent. Mizzards Farm, though, was the best of the lot. A wonderful house in a beautiful position with stunning grounds, it is run by Harriet and Julian who are the very epitome of old-world friendliness and charm. Our bedroom and bathroom were huge, gorgeous and very comfortable. The house is beautifully renovated and full of interest, including Harriet's wonderful scultures. Breakfast are excellent (although I prefer butter in a dish rather than in a sachet) and there's lots to do in the area. A weekend here really recharges the batteries and sets you up for the week ahead. And Crumpet the terrier wins everyone over! Keep it up, Harriet and Julian, you are a part of England that we can't afford to lose!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buleyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

Of all the places we have stayed over the years this was the best, an absolute treat. Beautiful house and gardens with marvellous features especially the four poster and great bathroom.We were treated like honoured guests and nothing was too much trouble for Harriet and Julian. Tables booked, taxis ordered, walks discussed, fires lit, lifts to the village in the snow! Thank you Harriet for your kindness and all the little touches which made the weekend special. Your sculptures are truly lovely.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadbeach, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

Mizzards Farm is a gorgeous and peaceful place to stay and relax and revive.

My Mum and my partner and I stayed in the self-contained cottage but joined Harriet and Julian for their excellent breakfasts each morning in the main house. The setting of the property is idyllic - formal gardens graced with Harriet's sculptures ( she's a very talented artist! ) are nestled between rolling fields and a little river. The drive up to the farm is also lovely and the property is set well away from any roads so it's extremely quiet.

The cottage is comfy and cosy with beautiful linens used for the bedding, the living room is roomy and there is a little private courtyard and garden at the rear of the cottage. The kitchen has everything you need to prepare an eat-in meal but please also try the White Horse Inn in the centre of Rogate ( about a 5 min drive from the farm ) They serve some of the best pub food I have tried using locally sourced ingredients and a bit of chef flair.

As hosts, Harriet and Julian were marvellous. They both had plenty of ideas for day trips and were happy to lend us guide books and information on the local area and attractions. Their two dogs, Dougall and Crumpet, also get special mention for accompanying us on our morning walk round the garden and for just being so fluffy and cute!

I would highly recommend this property for anyone wanting to "escape" for a while.
In between cups of tea and country walks, Mizzards Farm would be a great place to start a novel methinks!!

Room Tip: The self-contained cottage is a good option for those wishing extra privacy and space. ( One double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lifeiscolour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Totnes, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

This is a marvellous place to stay. The house is lovely and spacious and has some intriguing surprises. The gounds are lovely and add to the marvellous sense of space. Breakfast is consistently excellent and. in a completely non-intrusive way, one is made to feel like a persoanl guest. I couldn't be more enthusiastic.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Benedict R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2009

We stayed here with our young children as we were attending a local wedding. The first pleasant surprise is when you drive up the drive and across the little bridge to reach Mizzards Farm. You can see the grounds before you get to the house which, despite it being October, were still clearly loved and nurtured. The house itself is stunning and you get a real feel for the history as soon as you enter the hallway.

Our hosts, Harriet and Julian, could not have been more welcoming. They were very helpful with recommendations for minicabs and a pub for lunch the following day. They both took the time to speak to our children rather than ignoring them and the children felt as welcome as us.

I would not hesitate to recommend Mizzards Farm as a first class B&B.

Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank HolidayAddict44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2009

We recently visited Mizzards Farm and had the most fantastic relaxing weekend. Julian and Harriet couldn't have been more welcoming and hospitable. They very kindly offered to book us a table at a pub nearby for supper which was delicious. During the day we went out and about to various places nearby that Julian and Harriet recommended.

Overall it was a very pleasant stay, enhanced by the welcoming nature of the hosts, also their dog Dougal and their new puppy Crumpet who are both adorable.

We would highly recommend it to anyone wanting a relaxing and friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anon024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2009

Mizzard's Farm is a beautiful country home (believe part goes back to Elizabethan period) set in lovely gardens. My husband & I stayed there for several nights in May 2007 whilst my husband was attending a school reunion. Our large room with large ensuite was beautifully appointed and comfortable.. Julian was a gentelman and good host, however his wife Harriet was at times minimally polite and at other times downright standoffish and rude. - more interested in her garden than guests Maybe it was because we arrived late (our flight was delayed & our cell phone on the fritz), or it may have been my husband wasn't feeling well having come down with shingles, or it may have been my husband had used the loo off the main reception area (which he was told in no uncertain terms was not not for guest use) while we waited to be received.


With so many other lovely establishments in the area next time we are in the Petersfield area we will try somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LJRVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Mizzards Farm B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mizzards Farm B & B

Property: Mizzards Farm B & B
Address: Rogate GU31 5HS , England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Rogate
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Rogate
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Mizzards Farm Hotel Petersfield
Mizzards Farm Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing