We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
King John Inn
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Langton Arms(Tarrant Monkton)
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Grosvenor Arms(Shaftesbury)
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Saxon Inn(Child Okeford)
US$111
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown Hotel(Blandford Forum)
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$265
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Fiddleford Inn(Sturminster Newton)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown Inn(Marnhull)
US$124
Toprooms.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Toprooms.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (171)
Filter reviews
171 results
Traveller rating
83
46
24
14
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
83
46
24
14
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubhomemade shortbreadwet roomnespresso machinemain routekings roombedside lampslarge bathseparate buildingpretty villagefull englishstayed longerone night stayfresh milklovely foodan overnight staycar park
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
152 - 157 of 171 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2011

Lovely room (6) with a luxurious bathroom. Slightly cool temperature in the room, but easily made up for by the warm thick duvet and very comfy bed!

Breakfast was delicious! Can't really beat enjoying the papers by the fire whilst tucking into good eggs benedict!

Good location, easy to get to Shaftesbury (recreate the Hovis advert!) and also the lovely walks in the countryside.

Dinner was very good (albeit a little pricey £90 for two - largely due to enjoying a nice bottle of red wine!). Remember to book though - Saturday night is busy!

Service - perfect: quietly efficient and very friendly.

All in all - a great find and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Explor3rs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2011

After nearly 6 years in this area, at last a really first-class meal which was also pleasantly served in an attractive environment, and good value for money. Really faultless - even the loos are a delight!
The scallop hors d'oeuvre was particularly noteworthy, and a little bit of fudge was available with the coffee. The wine - Chablis - was gorgeous, too.
Criticisms? Well, perhaps the (very attentive and nice) waitresses bustled a bit too much: their speed and dexterity could have been subtler. But that is just a matter of polish.
Lovely lobster!
We'll be back.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank egypsy_rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2011

We regularly meet friends in this area for lunch.

The ambiance at the King John is lovely and the menu was ok; although as a non meat eater I had only a choice of fish and chips or a vegetarian option for the main course.

Sadly when our main courses arrived we were very disappointed with cold plates and warm meals; very offputting when eating roast meats and vegetables. Also my fish arrived with french fries -surely not from a freezer packet ? We are all now very used to gastro pubs with their thrice cooked hand cut chips.

All in all a disappointment, which is a pity as it has left us wondering whether to give it another try or forget about it.

Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
Thank MontagueSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2010

My husband and I took advantage of my mother's babysitting offer and the 2 for 1 night offer on at the King John Inn and stayed last week for 2 indulgent days and 2 full night's sleep!! We stayed in Room 8 with its open plan bathroom (but separate loo!) it was the perfect hide out for us to relax and unwind without the toddler and baby! Although we missed them, we were distracted sufficiently by the great room, the friendly staff and cosy log fire, the hearty breakfasts and the wonderful evening menu! The resturant and bar are perfectly decorated adding to the welcoming atmopshere and the food was such a treat, not sure I can find any fault- which is unusual for me! Even the housekeeping was slick; cleaning and tiding our room in the half hour we were at breakfast! If you want a country break with stunning walking, or you need somewhere to stay in the area, I couldn't recommend the King John Inn enough. The 2 for 1 offer just made the stay even sweeter! Would still have been worth it without the offer. Thank you to the the King John for a perfect stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucypayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2010

We often go walking in this area and had stopped once for a drink at this lovely Inn and decided we would go back one day for an evening meal. We were not disappointed, service was friendly and efficient. The food was outstanding, I especially enjoyed the Bouillabaisse, gruyere,rouille and croutons and the blueberry and raspberry creme brulee. Prices are on the high side but for a special treat it was well worth it.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1960Louise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews