We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Gastro Pub around!!!!!”
Review of King John Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
King John Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The Best Gastro Pub around!!!!!”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

You would have to go a long way to find a gastro pub that serves better quality food that The King John. My uncle and I were doing some work locally and found this place in the good pub guide. The food was seriously good, the staff very attentive and the decor was warm and inviting.
This place is certainly worth a detour!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    43
    23
    12
    4
See reviews for
18
92
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Lovely setting and really nice interior with friendly staff. We had the fish and chip option primarily because it was the cheapest thing on the main menu, although still expensive for fish and chips. The fish was lovely but with an establishment of this type one would have expected proper chunky chips not MacDonald style fries most of which were overcooked and like bullets. Would not be recommending this pub to any one else as I feel this does not offer good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Had lunch here today - five of us. A fantastic pub in a most beautiful part of the country. The pub wasn't full but there were a good six or so tables' worth of people eating lunch - not bad for mid-week. Delicious food - hake risotto, sticky venison to name a couple of things on the menu. The menu wasn't huge but very interesting and diverse. Presentation was superb as well. Very friendly and attentive staff (not over attentive though which is annoying). Nothing was too much for them. Lovely decor - black and white country photos on walls.
Can't recommend enough.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillyBun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We booked here for a one night stay (B&B) based on many of the excellent reviews we had read online and are very pleased we did! Our room was lovely - lots of little quirky ornaments, extremely comfortable bed, high quality linen and an excellent tea tray :)

We dined here on the evening after spending a very lazy day in the gorgeous sloping garden and the food was delicious - I can highly recommend the cheese souffle!

I also have to give special mention to the waiting staff who were incredibly friendly, warm and pleasant.

A great little gastropub tucked away from the madness of everyday life!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rach L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
132 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

This is far superior to most 'gastro pubs'. Fabulous decor. Friendly laid back staff and interesting menu although it is on the short side. The cheese soufflé is sublime as are the apple doughnuts. This is not a cheap dining experience but is far superior to the many run of the mill pubs scattered throughout rural England. Highly recommended.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mandy261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
74 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Being local and wanting to try this venue for the first time, we chose to eat here for a special occasion. The menu was very fish/seafood orientated and the choice is limited. The size of the portion for the sea bass risotto was only a child size one, which was a pity as the content was very tasty. Pricing is definitely not pub levels and there must be a big question over value for money. The style of this establishment is not that of a local pub and looks to be catering for those from the Home Counties. I shall not be recommending this to local people.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DorsetTravelmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iwerne Minster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I have given the king John a miss recently as I struggled with the menu choice, so always ended up having the cheese soufflé, as nice as it is, didn't want that every time. Returned today with a friend and the menu had some great additions. I had the sea bass risotto and it was very tasty.

Good, friendly attentive service made for a really nice lunch.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bears10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tollard Royal
5.3 mi away
Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel
3.7 mi away
The Grove Arms
The Grove Arms
#1 of 1 in Ludwell
187 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Langton Arms
The Langton Arms
#1 of 1 in Tarrant Monkton
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Grosvenor Arms
The Grosvenor Arms
#1 of 2 in Shaftesbury
389 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Museum Inn
The Museum Inn
#1 of 3 in Farnham
232 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cashmoor Inn
Cashmoor Inn
#2 of 3 in Sixpenny Handley
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King John Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King John Inn

Property: King John Inn
Address: Tollard Royal, Tollard Royal SP5 5PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Tollard Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tollard Royal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — King John Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the scenic village of Tollard Royal in rural Wiltshire, The King John Inn is a Victorian and award-wining country inn offering beautiful accommodation, delicious food and a warm, friendly service. Our eight en-suite bedrooms combine modern comfort with rustic elegance and feature luxurious linen, Nespresso machines, flat-screen TVs, Wi-Fi, direct dial phones and luxurious toiletries. Our Head Chef is an accomplished fisherman, bakes his own bread, makes his own cheese and still finds time to get up early and catch local game when in season so you can expect that every plate on the King John menu is as fresh as it can be and is expertly crafted with a passion for the local countryside. We are proud to have recently received 1 Rosette from the AA. In summer, our terraced garden is the perfect place to dine alfresco while watching the chefs in action in their Victorian-inspired outdoor kitchen. In winter, relax near our roaring-log fires in our open plan pub or in the informal restaurant. The bar provides an ever-changing selection of imported drafts and local beers as well as an extensive wine list. Salisbury and its cathedral are only a 30 minute drive away whilst the beautiful hillside town of Shaftesbury is only 20 minutes. The King John Inn also sits within a 5-minute walk of the historic Rushmore Park, an area of lawn and open woodland home to the Rushmore Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your King John Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King John Hotel Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing