We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for take out”

Hickory River Smokehouse
Ranked #20 of 403 Restaurants in Peoria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Takeout
Peoria, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great for take out”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Dined here with grandparents when they were in town, and felt the food was a step above famous Dave's. The dine-in experience was not your typical restaurant experience, but closely resembled a chipotle which makes it a much more casual feel than we were hoping for when going with out of town guests. Everyone really enjoyed the food and we will likely order again for take-out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    49
    27
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best BBQ in Peoria”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I always buy it by the pound and take home. It is wonderful for that night and leftovers. The service is fast and we always get what we order.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kacy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjohnstone1, Owner at Hickory River Smokehouse, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thanks so much for your review. It is always nice to hear customers are happy with our food and service and also recognize the value we provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Wonderful bbq!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Great food - we especially like the beef brisket and they have a nice variety of sides as well as a choice of three different bbq sauces. Very clean and the staff is always courteous and personable. Prices quite reasonable. Good for family, business, etc.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best Lunch in Peoria”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

For $8.50, the lunch special (typically pulled pork or shredded brisket sandwich, 2 sides and a drink) is easily one of the best deals in Peoria.
Many reviews on here claim this to be fast food. I would argue different as although you do order and get your food at the counter (this is a BBQ place, the meat is already cooked), I would not consider this fast food by any means. The only thing about fast food that would be comparable is that you do not get waited on.
Back to the food. The pulled pork is one of the best I have had. There is typically a good amount of bark in the sandwich to give the good smoke taste, however it is not overwhelming by any means. The meat itself is great and I would recommend getting the sauce on the side.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dc61920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjohnstone1, Owner at Hickory River Smokehouse, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thanks for your awesome review! I tell people all the time we are not fast food we're Great Food Fast! We appreciate your business and look forward to being part of the Peoria Community for a long time! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food. Casual atmosphere”
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

This place isn't fancy and has a cafeteria like food line, but that's okay if you like the homey atmosphere. They serve beer and have a definite cowboy theme. They use hickory and you can you taste it in the chicken. My favorite for smoked chicken. The pulled pork is great too. If you're really looking to eat heavily, try the huge nachos. They are covered with white cheese pulled pork and beans. Pretty awesome.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jfs6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hickory River Smokehouse also viewed

 

Been to Hickory River Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing