We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant staff but breakfast is not up to par of other Springhill Suites”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Peoria Westlake
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Peoria
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Pleasant staff but breakfast is not up to par of other Springhill Suites”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We travel quite a bit and have stayed in many Marriott branded properties.

This hotel is near I-74 and a mall with several restaurants nearby. It's about 15 minutes from downtown Peoria (where we went for an event).

Rooms are recently remodeled with nice large fridges (bigger than in most hotel rooms). The rooms are large and seem larger than some other Springhill Suites we have stayed in. Because the building is older, the bathrooms are not the modern kind that the newer Springhill Suites have, but ours was clean and everything worked fine. The beds are comfortable.

The fitness equipment (two treadmills, one elliptical, a bicycle, and weights) was working and decent quality. The room was spotless too. We did not use the pool, so I can't comment on that.

The staff were super, super polite and pleasant.

Because everyone was so nice, I even feel bad writing this, but the breakfast was really subpar and not up to the quality that many other Springhill Suites have. The fresh fruit included one--literally one--banana, when we went there at 8:30 a.m. on a Saturday (when breakfast goes till 10:00). Other Springhill Suites we have visited have had fresh melon, pineapple, and strawberries. While I know there is variety between properties, this was one notably on the low end of the properties we have stayed at. Also, the juice (apple and orange) is served in an open carafe (no lid at all) sitting on a bed of ice. There was also a gallon of milk on the same ice. The only variety of yogurt with sugar (rather than artificial sweetener) was peach, and it was partially frozen. There was the standard Marriott assortment of bread and muffins plus eggs and sausage and two wafflemakers plus oatmeal with toppings.

It's a shame that the breakfast was disappointing because the property itself and the staff are really nice.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProfandMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, Guest Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Peoria Westlake, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear ProfandMom,

I'm glad you liked our "nice large fridges" and our spacious rooms! It sounds like you were able to get a great work-out in in our fitness room.

I wanted to apologize to you since our free breakfast was not able to exceed your expectations. We do offer a variety of breakfast selections that alternate based upon the day of the week. On weekdays, we do offer fresh pineapple, strawberries, apples, and bananas. However, the fruit selection does decrease on the weekends as the brand standard weekend menu removes the pineapples and strawberries while adding other breakfast selections such as fruit-flavored waffles. If there is anything you are looking for that is not out on the buffet line in the future; please feel free to ask our staff as we are more than happy to fulfill your request!

Lastly, I wanted to thank you for taking the time to review us and recognize our superb staff. We are very lucky to have some great employees at our property. We hope to have you join us again in the future!

Sincerely,
Andy Schauer
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    70
    30
    16
    10
See reviews for
75
26
16
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We travel to Peoria a couple times a year, and usually stay in competing chain's property by the Shops at Grand Praire - but as long time Marriott Rewards members, we wanted to patronize the Marriott brand and chose this SpringHill Suites originally for it's easy commute to the Bradley University area. However, it's proximity to War Memorial Drive makes every last shopping/restaurant/ammenity need, literally almost out the door. It's right off of the freeway, so an easy commute to other commercial areas and they do offer an airport shuttle! The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. In terms of comparison to other SpringHill Suites properties, we've stayed at several in and around the west coast, and while they're all built now on the same 'model', this one is perhaps not quite as *sparkling* as some others we've stayed in. However, the rooms are large per their brand design and again, the staff was very friendly and provided excellent service. We had a housecleaning snaffu, which the mangement staff responded to in a way that exceeded our expectations. It's this kind of service that will keep us coming back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAC12family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, Guest Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Peoria Westlake, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Hello,

I wanted to thank you for trying out our hotel! I'm sorry to hear of the housekeeping "snafu," but I'm glad our staff was able to take corrective action and solve the problem while exceeding your expectations. Lastly, thanks for praising our attentive staff, large rooms, and our great location. We hope to see you on your next trip to the area!

Sincerely,
Andy Schauer
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2014

If Marriott is looking for a model hotel for others to emulate, they will find it here. The staff is very attentive and committed to ensuring your stay is pleasant. The hotel is spotless and looks brand new. I travel frequently on business and have stayed in other hotels costing twice as much; the service and quality is better at this one.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, Guest Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Peoria Westlake, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Hello Mr. Mark,

It sounds like you had an amazing time experiencing our hotel! I'm glad you enjoyed your trip so much and wanted to thank you for recognizing our team here. Thank you for praising our attentive staff, spotless rooms, and our great value. Hopefully we can host you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Andy Schauer
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Louis
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Great hotel, newly remodeled, near several restaurants. The customer service is outstanding! On the morning of December 17,2013 I went down to the Market Pantry for my morning Diet Mountain Dew, which is my caffeine of choice. They were out of Diet Dew but the front desk staff sent someone to a convince store and bought a couple of Diet Dews and delivered them to me in the Gym. Talk about above and beyond customer service. Most Marriott's exceed customer expectations and the Springhill Suites Peoria Westlake exceeds even more.
By the way this property has a fantastic gym.
THE PLACE to stay in Peoria, IL.

Room Tip: Even number rooms face away from the Interstate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dantillweed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, Guest Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Peoria Westlake, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Hello,

I'm glad you had such a positive experience with us! Thank you for recognizing our wonderful staff as they were thrilled when we shared your kind words with them. We are very proud that we were able to exceed your expectations, that you enjoyed our exercise room, and that you were able to get your drink of choice. We look forward to hosting you again!

Sincerely,
Andy Schauer
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

This is a good location, and I had a good experience. When in the area, I would choose this hotel again. There are lots of dining options in the area and shopping as well. Also, its convenient to the highway.

That said, the hotel is sandwiched on the backside of the shopping center (don't let the view of the dumpsters ruin your stay) and on the front side is a property is a motel under renovation. For these reasons, I would not walk to the adjacent shopping area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alps110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, Guest Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Peoria Westlake, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Thank you for highlighting our proximity to a large selection of local shops and restaurants. I'm glad you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to seeing you again! I did want to add that we also have a hotel shuttle that travels within 10 miles of the hotel and we'd be more than happy to provide you with future transportation within the surrounding area if you prefer not to walk. Thanks again for sharing your great experience with us!

Sincerely,
Andy Schauer
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

The lobby is clean, inviting with the breakfast area right off of it. Every staff member we encountered was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was better than many of the included breakfasts. The room was clean and big enough for a couple. Good water pressure in the shower. The bed was very comfortable. The location is convenient to I-74.

My complaints are related to the room itself. There is a pinging sound coming from the storage/electronics room across the hall from room 201. It goes off every minute. You hear it in the sofa area, but not in bed. The hot water in the sink is tepid at best UNLESS you've run the shower first. Lastly, the coffee pot didn't work. They brought a new one and left the broken one. Odd.

Still, I will stay here again when visiting relatives in this area. The staff and facilities are above average.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnsonevv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, Guest Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Peoria Westlake, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Hello,

I was very pleased that you enjoyed our cleanliness, hot breakfast, and friendly staff at our hotel. I apologize for the noise coming from the storage room and have asked our maintenance team to address it. Likewise, I am glad we were able to resolve the issue with the coffee machine but am also puzzled why the broken machine was not taken from the room. I will investigate to ensure this is corrected. Thank you for taking the time to review us and we look forward to you joining us again in the future!

Sincerely,
Andy Schauer
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Stayed one night this week on business. Have stayed here before and always like this location. Close to restaurants, mall, right of the interstate. Good free breakfast and business center. I've never had a problem here.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Deb R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, Guest Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Peoria Westlake, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thank You for taking the time to review us! I'm glad you enjoyed our excellent location, tasty breakfast, and business center. We look forward to hosting you again!

Sincerely,
Andy Schauer
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Peoria hotels
3.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites Peoria North
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Peoria
3.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Peoria Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Peoria
4.1 mi away
Mark Twain Hotel
Mark Twain Hotel
#6 of 23 in Peoria
401 reviews
3.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Peoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Peoria Westlake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Peoria Westlake

Property: SpringHill Suites Peoria Westlake
Address: 2701 W Lake Ave, Peoria, IL 61615-3713
Region: United States > Illinois > Peoria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Peoria
#6 Business Hotel in Peoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — SpringHill Suites Peoria Westlake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are excited to welcome you to our newly renovated hotel! Located in the heart of the city and easy access from the Peoria Airport, Caterpillar, Inc., Peoria Civic Center and Bradley University, our stylish all-suite hotel makes every trip a memorable experience. Whether visiting for business or leisure, enhance your stay at our Peoria airport hotel with amenities like complimentary high-speed Internet to help you stay connected, a pantry with mini-fridge and microwave, new flat panel TV's and a comfortable pullout sofa bed - all in a smoke-free environment. After a revitalizing sleep in our signature bed, get energized in our fitness room or indoor pool and save time and money with a complimentary hot breakfast buffet.Our versatile function space is ideal for all types of meetings and group events. Experienced, on-site planners will assist in creating the perfect package for your group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your SpringHill Suites Peoria Westlake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Peoria Hotel Peoria
Peoria Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing