We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good food”
Review of Jim's Steakhouse

Jim's Steakhouse
Ranked #12 of 404 Restaurants in Peoria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Naperville, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Consistently good food”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We have eaten many times at Jim's when returning to Peoria to visit family and friends. The Chef often is out and about among the patrons, providing a personal touch to the preparations. Prime Rib, which Chef Todd sliced off the roast table side was outstanding. Everyone else at the table seemed to enjoy their steaks as well. Good bar selection, as well (though this particular time they were out of my favorite gin). We concluded the dinner with bananas foster prepared tableside. Great show by the Chef, and a very tasty preparation. Tonight, they had a harpist providing ambient dinner music, which was very nice. In the bar area, they often have live piano music as well. Located right across from the Peoria Civic Center, this is a popular spot for the many entertainers who come to perform. Be sure to take time to look at all the autographed photos that cover the walls of the entry!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JAB248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    54
    15
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
central Wisconsin, USA
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Feels like a cozy Bistro - good food”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Jim's was one block from my hotel, so I gave it a Thursday night try. Food was delicious but service from the kitchen a little slow. Wait staff was attentive and friendly. The salad was really good. I had a couple glasses of wine, but the first came in a greasy glass, and the waiter replaced that one. Their piano entertainment that night was not good at all ... unless you were ploched and didn't much care. I went there again with a friend and we enjoyed everything, this time with a much better pianist! I'd go again ... and probably again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tiguaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A Good Bet”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I understand Jim's has several locations. This one is downtown in the lower level of an office building and a block from the Pere Marquette Hotel. Jim's is a large, dark, richly appointed restaurant with a heavy masculine décor.

Excellent food and wine. I had a filet mignon. You can order either a small or large portion. I ordered the small and it was a very generous portion that should satisfy most appetites. The large might be suitable if you have a ravenous appetite or live locally and can refrigerator any leftover. I requested my filet to be medium but it arrived medium rare which I can easily enjoy nevertheless. It was tender and flavorful. A large salad with many ingredients and an excellent baked potato accompanied my entrée.

There was one minor glitch. Upon arrival of my salad I unwrapped the napkin that surrounded the silverware only to discover I had two knives and no forks. But this was better than my hotel experience that had no bath towels or bath mat, a coffee maker that was missing the pot and no shampoo. It seems Peoria has a major case of contagious amnesia!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoKen60657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“It's not just steak!”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My husband had the ribs and I had Alaskan halibut - both entrees were outstanding! Meal comes with salad and choice of starch, so the prices were very good. We had no reservation, but were quickly seated in the bar area and dinner service was very good, even though the place was packed. Highly recommend if you're in the area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 3L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
“Steak is King”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

All the steaks are as good as I have ever eaten. There is no disappointment in anything. This is a top of the line Steakhouse with all the glitter and ambiance. There is also a piano player on most nights.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank unknowndiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jim's Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Jim's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing