We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service and yummy fries!!”
Review of Famous City Bistro

Famous City Bistro
Ranked #168 of 395 Restaurants in Peoria
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Mountain View, Hawaii
Level Contributor
101 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good service and yummy fries!!”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I ate lunch here with my sister last week and it was great. No one else was there so our server was quick and attentive. She had the pulled pork and fries, I had the quesadilla. She said hers was good and mine was great but it's hard to mess up cheese in a tortilla shell :) The fries were addictive. The prices were average for the area I think. Overall a good experience, we will definitely go back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Raelyn922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    16
    6
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Deliciously eclectic”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

You can't make a poor choice. It is one of the few places where I can't pick a favorite meal. I am always wanting to try something new because everything is just that good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sunlover467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEPONSET
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“stick with the sandwiches”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

You just cant go wrong with any of the sandwiches. Love the Cuban and the pastrami the best. When I work in Peoria I always take my crew and we have never had a bad meal . The wait staff is always busy but still friendly.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CLIF S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
329 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Service”
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

First time diner and will return. The tight parking situation has kept me away, but that was a mistake. I had a succulent pastrami sandwich that was moist and flavorful. Last time I had pastrami that good was in Brooklyn. Excellent shoestring fries and a bright, crisp, flavorful cole slaw accompanied. Very good spicy , brown mustard was a perfect condiment. My wife had the broasted chicken which turned out to be a brand rather than a preparation technique, but it too was moist and flavorful. Their baked beans were a sweet surprise and fresh potato chips were excellent. Service was cheerful and quick. The decor has a nice urban feel. Definitely worth the stop for sandwiches and urban bistro fare.

Helpful?
1 Thank WARSAWRUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
241 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Busy Place ”
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Family of five went there for dinner. It was packed with only two waitress'. They were understaffed big time. We saw a family wait for a table and leave. Our waitress was busy so it wasn't her fault. Our food was sitting so fortunately the bartender served us. The waitress and the bartender were extremely polite and apologized. The food was okay. My husband and daughters were very pleased with their dinners. My son and I were okay with our meal. We will return in hopes their staffing issues will be rectified. The atmosphere was very comfortable and it was nice to have half priced wine on a Saturday night.

Helpful?
1 Thank Reyna Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Famous City Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing