We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Interesting!”

Caterpillar Visitors Center
Ranked #2 of 39 things to do in Peoria
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Caterpillar Visitors Center is a fascinating look at the company, the iron and the people making sustainable progress possible around the world. From the humble beginnings of the first tractor to the company's present-day leadership in building infrastructure and powering the planet — it's all right here on Peoria's beautiful riverfront. We invite you to experience Caterpillar like never before and plan your visit today.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Very Interesting!”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Only thing I did not like about this museum is the location. I just wish it was in an area not so busy but I do understand why it is there. Very clean and nice building and provided great customer service!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marcus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    103
    38
    3
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Find the time”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I was in town on a trip between here and there and had an hour or so in the morning before I needed to hit the road. If you find yourself finishing breakfast and looking for something to do, you can't go wrong here, though it doesn't open till 10 (so don't get caught out like I did).

You can look at and clamber over all sizes of yellow machinery, watch films, play on simulators and then marvel in the gift shop at the selection of over a hundred different caps (never mind all the other stuff they've got).

An amusing way to pass the time for kids big and small.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TX
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Big Toys”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

The guys really enjoyed seeing all the tractors and technology in the Caterpillar Center. The company has a huge presence in the city.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank shbTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marquette, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Had a Blast!!”
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

I'm very glad I was able to visit. Growing up around heavy machinery my whole life I didn't think it was going to be of much interest but I learned a great deal about the company's history and current projects. Getting to sit in the cab of many of the pieces of equipment was nice as well. Very interactive and informative. Getting to see all of the newer control models was a great bit of fun!

Helpful?
2 Thank MFM19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Illinois, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My 3 yr old's favorite place!”
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Gr8 place for the whole family to learn abt Caterpillar & kids to explore on the large yellow construction vehicles!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Meggyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caterpillar Visitors Center also viewed

 

Been to Caterpillar Visitors Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing